The Atlantic

The Magicians Is Your Next Great Escape

If you’re looking for something to binge-watch, you won’t regret diving into Syfy’s darkly subversive fantasy series.
Source: Syfy

This story contains mild spoilers for Syfy’s The Magicians.

When the first novel in Lev Grossman’s popular Magicians trilogy was published in 2009, it introduced Quentin Coldwater, a white, whiny, Ivy League–bound Brooklynite. His trajectory as a protagonist sounded familiar: Quentin, who’d always felt like a misfit, found out that he was actually a magician and wound up at Brakebills University, a training ground for posh mages. It was Hogwarts, U.S.A; he was Harry Potter with a sex life. Together with his school friends, Quentin later discovered that Fillory, a Narnia-esque world he loved from childhood books, was real.

When the trilogy was adapted for Syfy, the show could’ve doubled down on treating Quentin like an archetypal hero in the vein of Luke Skywalker or King Arthur. Instead, made Quentin a mere entry point into a series of ensemble-driven battles to save the magic of Earth andquickly earned praise as one of the you .

Sie lesen eine Vorschau. Registrieren Sie sich, um mehr zu lesen.

Mehr von The Atlantic

The Atlantic8 min gelesen
I’m A Chef In A Seaside Town. I’m Not An Epidemiologist.
When I glanced out the window of my restaurant one day not long ago, I saw a woman struggling to climb over the large table that was blocking access to our front doors. The table gave my staff a spot to drop off to-go food outside while keeping a wid
The Atlantic7 min gelesenPolitics
The Price of Trump Loyalty
Senator Cory Gardner’s political relationship with the president reads like a tawdry romance novel.
The Atlantic
The Advice That Most 2020 Commencement Speakers Won’t Give
Esteemed Class of 2020, your commencement speaker this year should be a destroyed celebrity or the Fool from King Lear. Someone whose inside is on the outside, someone who’s kind of already died. Instead it’s fallen to me. So let’s see. Do I offer co