Finden Sie Ihren nächsten hörbuch Favoriten

Werden Sie noch heute Mitglied und hören Sie 30 Tage lang kostenlos
A Good Kind of Trouble

A Good Kind of Trouble


A Good Kind of Trouble

Bewertungen:
4.5/5 (55 Bewertungen)
Länge:
6 Stunden
Herausgeber:
Freigegeben:
Mar 12, 2019
ISBN:
9780062939241
Format:
Hörbuch

Auch als verfügbar...

Auch als buch verfügbarBuch

Auch als verfügbar...

Auch als buch verfügbarBuch

Beschreibung

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)

But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what?

Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.

Herausgeber:
Freigegeben:
Mar 12, 2019
ISBN:
9780062939241
Format:
Hörbuch

Auch als verfügbar...

Auch als buch verfügbarBuch

Über den Autor

Lisa Moore Ramée was born and raised in Los Angeles, and she now lives in the Bay Area of California, with her husband, two kids, and two obnoxious cats. She is the author of A Good Kind of Trouble and Something to Say. You can visit her online at www.lisamooreramee.com.


Ähnlich wie A Good Kind of Trouble

Ähnliche Hörbücher

Rezensionen

Was die anderen über A Good Kind of Trouble denken

4.5
55 Bewertungen / 10 Rezensionen
Wie hat es Ihnen gefallen?
Bewertung: 0 von 5 Sternen

Leser-Rezensionen

  • (5/5)
    The story of a middle school girl's political awakening during her transition from child to teen. Police shootings of black people in the news, a trial, and the Black Lives Matter movement complicate 12-year-old Shayla's sense of identity as one of the few black kids in her middle school.

    Shayla's understanding of the world puts strain on her relationship with her multiracial group of friends from elementary school.

  • (5/5)
    I Loved it it was the best book
    I've read i did not want to finish it
    and wont you to make more
    and you have my word that i will listen to it.
    will you make more books?
    Sadie 8 years old.
  • (3/5)
    12-year-old Shayla is a typical middle schooler: crushes on boys, hanging out with best friends Isabella and Julia, doesn't like getting into trouble. But life is not trouble-free for Shayla: Her friendship with Julia is wavering. The Black Lives Matter movement forces Shayla to confront unpleasant truths. And the black community is tense as it awaits the verdict of a police shooting trial. Shayla realizes that standing up for one’s beliefs and what’s right can be “a good kind of trouble.” “The Hate U Give” for upper elementary and middle school. Makes relevant for that age group the issues and significance of Black Lives Matter. Readable, well-paced, informally voiced.
  • (5/5)
    This book is so meaningful! It totally is a book for black girls, and remember stay strong ✊
  • (4/5)
    With the backdrop of police shootings and Black Lives Matter protests, Shayla is trying to navigate seventh grade, changing friendships, and her own identity. Her friend group calls themselves the United Nations, but their friendship grows strained as Julia spends more time with the other Asian kids leaving Is and Shayla out. When multiple shooting incidents with the police happen, Shayla and her family go to a silent protest and Shayla gets more involved with the Black Lives Matter movement even daring to get into trouble at school to stand up for what she believes.
  • (4/5)
    A 2020 Lone Star selection, A Good Kind of Trouble reflects on perceptions.Shayla's life changes more than she believes it would. She assumes nothing will change as they enter junior high, believing that with her two best friends, they will remain a threesome. Junior high, however, offers more opportunities and one friend, Julia, really enjoys hanging out with a new group. Isabelle changes her looks when her braces are removed and she's now beautiful. Shayla also dislikes not having classes with her friends and ends up with Bernard, a boy who scares her, as a lab partner. She also gets to know Yolanda with whom she has a couple of classes. Shayla spends so much time upset with Julia for not always being with them that she doesn't appreciate the time Julia is there. Shayla also fails to notice the true Isabelle--Shayla makes assumptions. As I said, this is a novel about perceptions. Shayla's perceptions of her friends do not represent the truth because she isn't honest (or brave) enough to seek out the answers. Her perceptions about Bernard are also unfair, as there is more to him than she's willing to see. Ironically, Shayla gets upset when her sister asks why Shayla doesn't have any black friends, although now she can say she knows Yolanda. Shayla believes color doesn't matter. Her sister, however, believes strongly in the movement, Black Lives Matter. As a trial ends in town for a white officer who killed a black person, and the officer is found not guilty, Shayla recognizes the injustices afforded to black people. She absolutely hates causing trouble, but she feels that wearing an armband in protest brings attention to an unfair situation.This novel speaks more to middle school than other books about the same subject. It's very accessible and appropriate to this age group, especially for those not ready for The Hate U Give or Dear Martin. Her conversations with her friends and the prejudices against them for their cultures are discussed adding a broader comment on people's perceptions of others based on their race or ethnicity. It's a well-written and good book about learned bias and the need to acknowledge the wrongs and fight for what's right.
  • (4/5)
    …it would be nice to have a friend…who shares this awful thing, this feeling like maybe the world sort of hates you because of the color of your skin."I'm allergic to trouble," twelve-year-old Shayla says, and she means it. Following the rules makes life easier, but now in her first year of junior high, it's like the rules are changing. Rules about friends. Rules about boys. And maybe even rules about standing up for what's right in A Good Kind of Trouble by author Lisa Moore Ramée.Shayla's voice carries this story with humor, heart, and the authenticity of an imperfect but principled girl in progress. Even with this middle grade novel's social justice theme, it's just as much a mix of universal growing pains—adolescents facing the newness, excitement, and awkwardness of an awkward stage.It's the last third of the novel, though, that pulled me in the most. The depiction of the alarming shame it is when people are more concerned with stopping peaceful protest than with addressing the injustices that led to protest in the first place. The message of the value of human life.And what I may appreciate most about the novel is its nuance. The simple way it illustrates complexities in social and racial relations, and how Shayla's journey isn't just a path of easy, cheesy no-brainers. What she's dealing with isn't all black and white.Pardon the pun.I hope that many, many young readers of all backgrounds will get a hold of this amusing, relatable, timely, and inspiring read.
  • (5/5)

    1 Person fand dies hilfreich

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!! I Loved it and also BLACK LIVES MATTER!!!!!!

    1 Person fand dies hilfreich

  • (5/5)

    1 Person fand dies hilfreich

    This book was amazing i think it did a great job at introducing the characters and their skin tone, in some books you will find that they say “ her brown skin” and don’t even mention the white persons skin tone, so I think it was an amazing book and there are many other amazing features

    1 Person fand dies hilfreich

  • (5/5)
    It's awesome it's the most grown up book ??? I've read