Finden Sie Ihren nächsten hörbuch Favoriten

Werden Sie noch heute Mitglied und hören Sie 30 Tage lang kostenlos
Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel

Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel

Geschrieben von Talia Hibbert

Erzählt von Adjoa Andoh


Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel

Geschrieben von Talia Hibbert

Erzählt von Adjoa Andoh

Bewertungen:
4/5 (823 Bewertungen)
Länge:
10 Stunden
Herausgeber:
Freigegeben:
Nov 5, 2019
ISBN:
9780062941244
Format:
Hörbuch

Beschreibung

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance's brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who's tired of being "boring" and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new thingsperfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she's come up with seven directives to help her "Get a Life", and she's already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family's mansion. The next items?

  • Enjoy a drunken night out.
  • Ride a motorcycle.
  • Go camping.
  • Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
  • Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
  • And... do something bad.

But it's not easy being bad, even when you've written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford 'Red' Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He's also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe's wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

Herausgeber:
Freigegeben:
Nov 5, 2019
ISBN:
9780062941244
Format:
Hörbuch

Über den Autor

Talia Hibbert is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling Black British author who lives in a bedroom full of books. Supposedly, there is a world beyond that room, but she has yet to drum up enough interest to investigate. She writes sexy, diverse romance because she believes that people of marginalised identities need honest and positive representation. Her interests include beauty, junk food, and unnecessary sarcasm.


Ähnlich wie Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Ähnliche Hörbücher

Rezensionen

Was die anderen über Get a Life, Chloe Brown denken

4.2
823 Bewertungen / 53 Rezensionen
Wie hat es Ihnen gefallen?
Bewertung: 0 von 5 Sternen

Leser-Rezensionen

  • (5/5)
    Funny and steamy, and the best one in the trilogy imo
  • (4/5)
    Definetly funny and steamy! I absolutely had fun reading it.
  • (5/5)
    I adore everything about this book, the discussions were amazing. It's just perfect.
  • (4/5)
    This is such a sweet romance! I loved the relationship they developed and how real it felt. Perhaps it was a BIT predictable, but hey - I didn't mind! ;)
  • (5/5)
    Yes,yes,yes and yes! I loved it, they were both so sweet and so hesitant and perfect for each other.
  • (4/5)
    This a cute novel. I must admit that my first attempt at listening to this book was not successful. But I am so glad that I gave the book a second try. Chloe and Red's story incredibly romantic and sweet.
  • (5/5)
    I knew there was a surprise why I considered this a favorite of 2020. Because it's so insanely insanely sweet. And cute. And funny
  • (4/5)
    4.5 stars. I thought that the "miscommunication" wasn't at all needed.
  • (3/5)
    A cute & wholesome romance overall. I love it when a romantic couple (actually) communicated with one another. I don't mind the steamy scenes too. Not a fan of the conflict at the end of the book though. Albeit they resolve it fast, I think it's unnecessary.
  • (5/5)
    Looooooved this book! Favorite romance of 2020 and it got me into the genre as a whole. It's beautiful to see a fat character being loved and being confident. Their relationship was so sweet and funny, highly recommend!
  • (5/5)
    This book is spicy!!!! Loved it so much!! Highly recommend!!
  • (5/5)
    Wonderful narrator. Lovely book that did right by more things than I'd expect from a novel, and was heart-warming and funny and full of interesting and charming characters. And the writing is wonderful.
  • (3/5)
    I did like the book I loved the romance and hate to love but the story itself was ok
  • (5/5)
    So well written! I love the character development, they are more complex than you normally find in romance.
  • (5/5)
    Such a great book!! Having the main female character with a chronic illness and a male character with issues that are not normal for romantic novels was a breath of fresh air. Thoroughly enjoyed this one!! 5 stars!
  • (5/5)
    I absolutely adored this audiobook! I was in all of my feelings from the beginning and loved it all! The author and narrator are truly gifted.
  • (5/5)
    This reader was AMAZING, 10/10 would listen again and again!
  • (5/5)
    I really liked this one. Chloe especially was such an enjoyable character to engage with and I would definitely read it again!
  • (3/5)
    The story was interesting but was turned off with the sleazy bits! I’d rather much listen to the developing story between the two which seemed lovely, often I found myself taken aback and uncomfortable at the lit-erotica parts!

    If you’re into that type of stuff maybe you’ll enjoy more, but it was a no for me!
  • (5/5)
    Cannot recommend it enough. It's the best kind of read for dull and rainy days. Keeps you invested throughout
  • (4/5)
    this was so so wholesome and cute i loved it <3
  • (5/5)
    This book is so freaking adorable. The characters are all so fun and the narrator did an amazing job. I highly recommend it.
  • (4/5)
    Lovely and delightful!! The characters were smart, perceptive and incredibly self-aware. My ONLY issue was that the conflict towards the end seemed kinda forced. Especially for two people that we’ve come to learn are pretty intelligent individuals. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed it and there were parts of this book that had me laughing out loud!
  • (4/5)
    TMI on the sex, but delightful writing and a touchingly real feel.
  • (4/5)
    3.5 starsI received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Fibromyalgia and chronic pain were invisible afflictions, so they were easy to dismiss.Chloe loves her family but is starting to feel suffocated by them, so she decides to make a list to help her get a life. On top of the list is moving into her own apartment, accomplishing this task also comes with a sexy superintendent.Red is trying to get his confidence back after leaving an emotionally abusive relationship. His feelings for a new tenant have him more mixed up than ever.Chloe guards her feelings well and Red gives a little too much but these two might just be perfect for each other.He turned her into a complete disaster, and so, by day, she avoided his company like the bubonic plague. But at night, sometimes, she watched him paint.The first in the Brown Sisters series, Chloe is the first one up for her happily ever after. Chloe has fibromyalgia, which the author did a great job portraying how this not only physically takes a toll but emotionally. The near constant pain makes Chloe a little short tempered and the background on how Chloe's fiance and some friends slowly drifted away because of how serious and consuming such an almost invisible disease is, gives reason to her closed off and grumpier personality. Red, by contrast, is a naturally open and sunshine type of guy, to the point that he ignores his own wants and needs. Our two leads are the often loved grumpy and sunshine trope.Red smiled up at her. It was the kind of sweet and effortlessly handsome smile that heartthrobs deployed in rom-coms, and she didn’t trust it an inch.I really enjoyed Chloe and Red in the beginning, the way they sparked off one another, even when there was some misunderstandings because they didn't know each other well enough to get the nuances underlining what they were saying to one another. I liked how they butted heads until Red gets a peek at Chloe's soft side under her tough shell. Having Red help Chloe with the items on her “Get a Life” list also worked to keep these two together. Chloe trying to help Red set-up a website for his art also worked well to get readers Red's story and what happened in London and why he lost his self-confidence. I thought the story lost some steam in the middle when Red and Chloe start to communicate by email. This worked to have them hash out some feelings and misunderstandings but it stalled their momentum a bit.She saw the precise moment that he realized she was a breathless, horny little demon with a ridiculous crush on him.This author's writing style and prose provided some cute, sexy, and snappy lines and moments. This wasn't as light and fluffy as the cartoon cover lead me to think it was going to be, there are plenty of curse words and open door sexiness. Chloe was the stand-out character for me and I loved her grumpiness and how around people she cared about and trusted, it peeled back to show a funny, sarcastic, and caring woman. I wish the scenes with her grandmother and sisters could have continued as much as we got in the beginning, I felt we lost that great connection after the first half. Red was lacking a certain wholeness for me, I think more scenes with his mom and his friend could have thickened up his character a bit.Whether she admitted it or not, what Chloe really needed was a decent fucking friend. And what Red really wanted, badly enough to surprise himself, was to give her that. To show her every kindness she should take for granted. To make her smile and laugh and feel like herself. The way she did for him.Chloe and Red's love felt somewhat rushed at the end, I wasn't sure the deepness to their love was fully on page for the time length given. There was also a misunderstanding that felt contrived, if a character is proclaiming love the way they were, it feels overly angst to have them immediately think the worst of their partner. Overall, the author managed to tackle issues like chronic illness, emotional abuse, and therapy and have her characters experience and live these in a romance story. The love was seen and felt in how Chloe and Red challenged and helped each other navigate and overcome these moments in life. Chloe's sisters were delightful and I'm anticipating their books.
  • (4/5)
    Audio was 4 stars, book was 3 stars, very fun and super quick, only the classic tropes of a romance novel caught up with me by the end. Would recommend.
  • (5/5)
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The interior lives of the main characters made me root for their romance and a I usually detest romance nov els.
  • (5/5)
    This was the sweetest relationship I have ever read. And the characters actually acted like real people, not miscommunication nor misunderstanding getting in the way. Just true, raw, real. I loved it. A must read for the romantics that believe in real love.
  • (4/5)
    loooooooooooove so much. funny, sexy, romantic, and the best fucking book
  • (5/5)
    I really enjoyed this book there was never a dull moment finished it on one day.