Erfreu Dich an Millionen von E-Books, Hörbüchern, Magazinen und mehr

Nur $11.99/Monat nach der Testversion. Jederzeit kündbar.

To Love and to Loathe: A Novel

To Love and to Loathe: A Novel

Geschrieben von Martha Waters

Erzählt von Anais Inara Chase und Joel Froomkin


To Love and to Loathe: A Novel

Geschrieben von Martha Waters

Erzählt von Anais Inara Chase und Joel Froomkin

Bewertungen:
4/5 (179 Bewertungen)
Länge:
10 Stunden
Freigegeben:
6. Apr. 2021
ISBN:
9781797121406
Format:
Hörbuch

Auch als verfügbar...

Auch als ebook verfügbareBook

Auch als verfügbar...

Auch als ebook verfügbareBook

Beschreibung

Named a best romance of the year by Entertainment Weekly
Named a most anticipated romance by Oprah Daily, Marie Claire, BuzzFeed, PopSugar, and more!

“There was no romance novel more fun this year than this extremely witty enemies-with-benefits confection.” —Entertainment Weekly

The author of the “hilarious...joyful, elegant” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) To Have and to Hoax returns with an effervescent, charming, and swoon-worthy novel about a man and woman who never agree on anything—until they agree to a no-strings-attached affair in this Regency-era romp.

The widowed Diana, Lady Templeton and Jeremy, Marquess of Willingham are infamous among English high society as much for their sharp-tongued bickering as their flirtation. One evening, an argument at a ball turns into a serious wager: Jeremy will marry within the year or Diana will forfeit one hundred pounds. So shortly after, just before a fortnight-long house party at Elderwild, Jeremy’s country estate, Diana is shocked when Jeremy appears at her home with a very different kind of proposition.

After his latest mistress unfavorably criticized his skills in the bedroom, Jeremy is looking for reassurance, so he has gone to the only woman he trusts to be totally truthful. He suggests that they embark on a brief affair while at the house party—Jeremy can receive an honest critique of his bedroom skills and widowed Diana can use the gossip to signal to other gentlemen that she is interested in taking a lover.

Diana thinks taking him up on his counter-proposal can only help her win her wager. With her in the bedroom and Jeremy’s marriage-minded grandmother, the formidable Dowager Marchioness of Willingham, helping to find suitable matches among the eligible ladies at Elderwild, Diana is confident her victory is assured. But while they’re focused on winning wagers, they stand to lose their own hearts.

With Martha Waters’s signature “cheeky charm and wonderfully wry wit” (Booklist, starred review), To Love and to Loathe is another clever and delightful historical rom-com that is perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Evie Dunmore.
Freigegeben:
6. Apr. 2021
ISBN:
9781797121406
Format:
Hörbuch

Auch als verfügbar...

Auch als ebook verfügbareBook

Über den Autor

Martha Waters is the author of the Regency Vows series, which includes To Have and to Hoax, To Love and to Loathe, To Marry and to Meddle, and To Swoon and to Spar. She was born and raised in sunny south Florida and is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She lives in coastal Maine, where she works as a children’s librarian by day, and loves sundresses, gin cocktails, and traveling.  


Ähnlich wie To Love and to Loathe

Ähnliche Hörbücher


Rezensionen

Was die anderen über To Love and to Loathe denken

3.9
179 Bewertungen / 6 Rezensionen
Wie hat es Ihnen gefallen?
Bewertung: 0 von 5 Sternen

Leser-Rezensionen

  • (4/5)
    Iv a bit of a soft spot for Regency Romance. If you are of a like mind this is you will delight in. As we visit the members of our country party and the dance of matchmaking. We fall upon a story in which a widow of a sharp mind makes a wager with their host. Their wager is that of a delicate nature. The other members of their party are up to their own folly it seems. This tale comes to a crescendo where upon out host and our strong minded window come to realize what their party has long known. How that comes to light will not quite be the scandal they believed themselves to be.
  • (4/5)
    A wonderful and fun read. Also nice to have LGTB characters even if they are in supporting roles
  • (3/5)
    The descriptions of this series sound right up my alley. I love an enemies to lovers and historical fiction. But it just didn't catch me the way that I'd hoped. It was fine, and I can't point to anything that didn't work for me, but I just didn't get big feelings for the main characters and their romance.
  • (3/5)
    It was a quick and fun read. Nothing more. I enjoyed it but nothing really stood out.
  • (1/5)
    I did not like the author’s horrendous lack of talent.
  • (1/5)

    1 Person fand dies hilfreich

    Okay, so I had a few days left of a month of Scribd that I gifted myself, so I was able to listen to one more audiobook. Do I regret picking this one? Yes. Did I still finish it because my momma didn’t raise no quitter? Also yes. Why am I like this? ?

    I was hoping for a quick, fun, romantic read, much like the Bridgerton novels were to me. Well, this is like Bridgerton but bad. Those books aren’t literary masterpieces (and don’t pretend to be) but at least they’re enjoyable as a guilty pleasure when you’re brain needs something that doesn’t require too much energy. The conversations are generally witty and I care about most of the characters to some degree (some vastly more than others ?).

    The intercourse between the characters in this book wasn’t anything of the sort. I was bored most of the time, just waiting for something to actually happen (none of the characters interested me very much either) and some of the conversations were just so utterly ridiculous it’s amazing I made it to the end of the book. It was made infinitely worse by the male narrator whose voice was outrageously annoying. I think I could’ve endured it better had I just read the book with my eyes… (the female narrator was fine btw).

    Speaking of intercourse ?, the sexy scenes left much to be desired. I guess there was chemistry between the main couple because I was told there was, but I didn’t feel any of it…

    Also: I hereby declare that authors are only allowed to use the phrase that someone looks like “the cat that got the cream” ONCE in a book. Three times is too much, honestly. Use a thesaurus. A thesaurus for idoms? Does such a thing exist?

    *Rant over*

    1.5 stars ?

    1 Person fand dies hilfreich