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Online Display Advertising These are graphical ads, which typically occupy a fixed position on a web page, often

in the same place from page to page: for instance, most publishers feature a banner position at the very top of every page in their site. Rich Media The term rich media applies to online display ads that feature advanced functionality including interactivity, animation, and streaming audio and video. Creation of these ads utilizes advanced web technologies such as Macromedia Flash, Java applets and DHTML.

What are Standard Reports? Standard reports measure the performance of ad campaigns based on standard reports data for standard ads and click command ads. These reports cannot be customized. They provide data for each of several criteria that you can select, such as day of week, frequency, and reach by month. Standard reports display the criterion to which ads were served, and standard reports data for each criterion. What are HTML tags? HTML Tags - holds all of the campaigns standard and rich media tags. Tracking Ads - holds all of the campaigns tracking tags. If the campaign does not use tracking tags, the Tracking Ads view is disabled.

Gigabyte One gigabyte equals 1000 megabytes. GIF(Graphic Interchange Format) A graphic format which uses compression to store and display images. GIF89a/Animated GIF An extension of the .gif format which creates animation through a sequence of images being stored in a single image. A delay is customizable between frames to render the appearance of animation, much like a flappable picturebook. Gross exposures The total number of times an ad is served, including duplicate downloads to the same person. GSM(Global System for Mobile) The wireless telephone standard in Europe.

GUI(Graphical Interchange Format) A way of enabling users to interact with the computer using visual icons and a mouse rather than a command-like prompt/interpreter. HDTV(High-Definition Television) A higher quality signal resolution using a digital format for the transmission and reception of TV signals. HDTV provides about five times more picture information(picture elements or pixels)than conventional television, creating clarity, wider aspect ratio, and digital quality sound. Head end The site in a cable system or broadband coaxial network where the programming originates and the distribution network starts. Signals are usually received off the air from satellites, microwave relays, or fiber-optic cables at the head end for distribution. Heuristic A way to measure a user's unique identity. This measure uses deduction or inference based on a rule or algorithm which is valid for that server. For example, the combination of IP address and user agent can be used to identify a user in some cases. If a server receives a new request from the same client within 30 minutes, it is inferred that a new request comes from the same user and the time since the last page request was spent viewing the last page. Also referred to as an inference. History lists A pull-down menu which displays the sites you've recently visited so you can return to the site instantly or view your latest session. The same mechanism makes it possible for servers to track where you were before visiting a particular site. Hit When users access a Web site, their computer sends a request to the site's server to begin downloading a page. Each element of a requested page(including graphics, text, interactive items)is recorded by the site's Web server log file as a "hit." If a page containing two graphics is accessed by a user, those hits will be recorded once for the page itself and once for each of the graphics. Webmasters use hits to measure their servers' workload. Because page designs and visit patterns vary from site to site, the number of hits bears no relationship to the number of pages downloaded, and is therefore a poor guide for traffic measurement. Home page The page designated as the main point of entry of a Web site(or main page)or the starting point when a browser first connects to the Internet. Typically, it welcomes you and introduces the purpose of the site, or the organization sponsoring it, and then provides links to other pages within the site. Host Any computer on a network that offers services or connectivity to other computers on the network. A host has an IP address associated with it. Hotlists Pull-down or pop-up menus often displayed on browsers or search engines that contain new or popular sites.

House ads Ads for a product or service from the same company. Revenues from house ads should not be included in reported revenues. HTML(Hypertext Markup Language) A set of codes called markup tags in a plain text(*.txt)file that determine what information is retrieved and how it is rendered by a browser. There are two kinds of markup tags: anchor and format. Anchor tags determine what is retrieved, and format tags determine how it is rendered. HTML page A HyperText Markup Language document stored in a directory on a Web server and/or created dynamically at the time of the request for the purpose of satisfying that request. In addition to text, an HTML page may include graphics, video, audio, and other files. HTTP(Hyper-Text Transfer Protocol) The format most commonly used to transfer documents on the World Wide Web. Hybrid pricing Pricing model which is based on a combination of a CPM pricing model and a performance-based pricing model. See CPM pricing model and performance-based pricing model. Hyperlink HTML programming which redirects the user to a new URL when the individual clicks on hypertext. Hypertext Text or graphical elements on a page which activates a hyperlink when clicked.

Static Click command: Static Click ads are used to traffic elements that are hard-coded in a website. Site traffickers can use click commands if they do not want to deliver creatives from a third party to their site. A tag in a static click ad that redirects a user to another website must contain a click-through URL (for example, http://ad.doubleclick.net/clk;1234;n?http://www.checkurl.com). The ad status oftatic click ads is always inactive. Dynamic Click command: Dynamic click commands tend to reduce counting discrepancies due to trafficking mistakes. Clickthrough URLs can be changed directly in DART, if necessary, even in the middle of a campaign. Publishers do not need to make any changes on their side. Clicks stop working once a click command is deactivated. Dynamic Click ads are used to traffic elements that are hard-coded in a website. Dynamic click ads do not contain click-through URLs in their tags

Online Advertising & Terminology - 15 Roadblock: A Roadblock is a series of placements that are meant to serve together to the same page/site/zone to the exclusion of other placements. Package: A Package is a series of placements that do not necessarily have to serve exclusively to the same page/site/zone, but are considered part of a 'bundle'.

Cache busting
It is nothing but a technique to override caching of online advertisements. Cache busting is done primarily to stop caching of online advertisements in local system because when a previously visited page is requested again, the browser would retrieve the webpage content along with online advertisements from the cookies, thereby creating revenue loss to the ad serving vendors.

Why should we do Cache busting?

Absence of Cache busting results in revenue loss to Ad server vendors , since, the already requested page along with the advert would be retrieved from the local cookies and no request would be made to 3rd part Ad server Lack of Cache busting also leads to impressions discrepancies between the Publisher Ad server and the 3rd party ad server Improper and absence of cache busting causes 3 rd party Ad server to register impression value lesser than publisher ad server hence resulting in under delivery

How do I do Cache busting?


Cache busting can be done in 2 ways Using Cache busting tokens Implementing Math. Random() function in a JavaScript In both the types a random number(usually 10digit) would be generated every time an Ad is requested, so the browser actions this as a new request and delivers the Advert from Ad server and not from Cookies. This way cache busting is done.

Dealing With Cache busting Tokens

Usually all 3rd party Served Tags would contain identifiers which have to be replaced with the Publisher Ad Server Macro for cache busting. Look for these identifiers and replace with your Ad servers cache busting macro (value/Function) for defeating cache.

Some commonly used cache busting identifiers are

[cachebuster] [TimeStamp]/[timestamp] [RNG] Insert_Time_Stamp_Here RANDOM

Few Caching busting Macros of leading Ad servers

Ad Server
Doubleclicks DFP Real Media OAS MSN Saless Ad Expert Zedo

Cache busting macro


%n %%REALRAND%% ##%RAND%## %t or %r

E-commerce The process of selling products or services via the Web. E-mail Electronic mail. Text files that are sent from one person to another over the Internet. E-mail campaign Advertising campaign distributed via e-mail. Encoding The process of compressing and separating a file into packets so that it can be delivered over a network. Encoder A hardware or software application used to compress audio and video signals for the purpose of streaming. Encryption The scrambling of digital information so that it is unreadable without the use of digital keys. EPG(Electronic Programming Guide) An application that allows the viewer to interactively select his/her television programming. Ethernet A networking technology that links computers together. ETV(Enhanced Television) A type of interactive television technology which allows content producers to send HTML data and graphical "enhancements" through a small part of the regular analog broadcast signal called

the Vertical Blanking Interval. These enhancements appear as overlays on the video and allow viewers to click on them if they are watching TV via special set-top box/software services. Expandable banners A banner ad which can expand to as large as 468 x 240 after a user clicks on it or after a user moves his/her cursor over the banner. See iab.net for the IAB IMU guidelines. Extranet An intranet that is partially accessible to authorized outsiders via a valid username and password. Eyeballs Reference to the number of people who view, or "lay their eyes on," a certain advertisement. Failure to transfer Content requested by a browser can fail to transfer if the page is abandoned by the browser which requested it(see abandon)or if the server is unable to send the complete page, including the ads(known as an error or a communications error). Family/Ad family A collection of one or more ad creatives. Also called ad campaign. FAQ Frequently asked questions. FTP(File Transfer Protocol) Internet protocol which facilitates transfer of files. Filtering The process of removing robotic activity and error codes from measurement records to make the remaining records representative of valid human Internet actions. Filtration guidelines IAB voluntary guidelines for removing non-human activity in the reported measurement of ad impressions, page impressions, unique visitors and clicks. See iab.net for ad campaign measurement guidelines. Finger An Internet software tool for locating people on other Internet sites. A finger is also sometimes used to give access to non-personal information, but the most common use is to see if a person has an account at a particular Internet site. Not all sites allow incoming finger requests. Firewall A security barrier placed between an organization's internal computer network and the Internet. A firewall is based on rules which allow and disallow traffic to pass, based on the level of security and filtering a network administrator wishes to employ.

Flame An inflammatory opinion or criticism distributed by e-mail or posted on a newsgroup. Flash Macromedias vector-based graphics file format which is used to display interactive animations on a Web page. This form of rich media technology is available via a plug-in. Flash downloading The ability to automatically send software upgrades to a set-top box network. Floating ads An ad or ads that appear within the main browser window on top of the Web page's normal content, thereby appearing to "float" over the top of the page. Fold An ad or content that is viewable as soon as the Web page arrives. One does not have to scroll down(or sideways)to see it. Since screen resolution can affect what is immediately viewable, it is good to know whether the Web site's audience tends to set their resolution at 640 x 480 pixels or at 800 x 600(or higher). Frames Multiple, independent sections used to create a single Web page. Each frame is built as a separate HTML file but with one "master" file to control the placement of each section. When a user requests a page with frames, several files will be displayed as panes. Sites using frames report one page request with several panes as multiple page requests. IAB ad campaign measurement guidelines call for the counting of one file per frame set as a page impression. Frame rate The number of frames of video displayed during a given time. The higher the frame rate, the more high-quality the image will be. Frequency The number of times an ad is delivered to the same browser in a single session or time period. A site can use cookies in order to manage ad frequency.

Online Advertising & Terminology - 14 The complete steps involved in Seller/Publisher side online ad serving process. Proposal generation/IO >Inventory Management > Trafficking > Reporting>Optimization >Invoicing Account management: Managing the relationship with the buyers Proposal management: Managing RFPs and proposals during the sales process

Inventory management: Managing the ad inventory available for sale Order/placement management: Managing the proper delivery of the orders/placements that are sold Yield management: Maximizing ad revenue Accounting: Managing invoices and payments

What is an invalid click? Invalid click is any click that is not generated by an actual human user. Causes of invalid clicks: - Spiders, robots, crawlers, and other automated agents: - Programs that download entire websites for offline use: Link analyzers and code validators: This is a click fraud technique. Why do we have to send screen shot?? Explain Once the ad is serving live on the website for a new campaign, we need to provide a proof of the same to advertiser. So agency will take a screenshot on website once the ad is showing and this will be shared with Advertiser as a proof.

Cable modem A device that permits one-way or two-way high speed data communication over a cable television system for purposes such as Internet access. Cache Memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Cache can be local (i.e. on a browser)or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM), and disk(hard drive)cache. Today, Web browsers cause virtually all data viewed to be cached on a user's computer. Cache busting The process by which sites or servers serve content or HTML in such a manner as to minimize or prevent browsers or proxies from serving content from their cache. This forces the user or proxy to fetch a fresh copy for each request. Among other reasons, cache busting is used to provide a more accurate count of the number of requests from users. Cached ad impressions The delivery of an advertisement to a browser from local cache or a proxy servers cache. When a user requests a page that contains a cached ad, the ad is obtained from the cache and displayed. Caching The process of copying a Web element(page or ad)for later reuse. On the Web, this copying is normally done in two places: in the user's browser and on proxy servers. When a user makes a

request for a Web element, the browser looks into its own cache for the element; then a proxy, if any; followed by the intended server. Caching is done to reduce redundant network traffic, resulting in increased overall efficiency of the Internet. CARU(The Children's Advertising Review Unit) Division of the Council of Better Business Bureaus that reviews advertising and promotional material directed at children in all media. See caru.org for more information. CGI script(Common Gateway Interface) CGIs are used to allow a user to pass data to a Web server, most commonly in a Web-based form. Specifically, CGI scripts are used with forms such as pull-down menus or text-entry areas with an accompanying submit button. The input from the form is processed by a program(the CGI script itself)on a remote Web server. Channel 1) A band of similar content; 2) A type of sales outlet(also known as channel of distribution), for example retail, catalogue, or e-commerce.

Chat Online interactive communication between two or more people on the Web. One can talk in real time with other people in a chat room, but the words are typed instead of spoken. Chat room An area online where you can chat with other people in real-time. Click down The action of clicking on an element within an ad and having another file displayed on the users screen, normally below or above the initial ad. Click down ads allow the user to stay on the same Web page and provide the advertiser a larger pallet to communicate their message. Click rate Ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions. Clicks 1)Metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet ad. There are three types of clicks: click-throughs; in-unit clicks; and mouseovers; 2)the opportunity for a user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server; 3)the result of a measurable interaction with an advertisement or key word that links to the advertisers intended Web site or another page or frame within the Web site; 4)metric which measures the reaction of a user to hot-linked editorial content. See iab.net for ad campaign measurement guidelines. See also ad click, click-through, in-unit clicks and mouseover. Click-stream

1) The electronic path a user takes while navigating from site to site, and from page to page within a site; 2) A comprehensive body of data describing the sequence of activity between a users browser and any other Internet resource, such as a Web site or third party ad server. Click-through The action of following a hyperlink within an advertisement or editorial content to another Web site or another page or frame within the Web site. Ad click-throughs should be tracked and reported as a 302 redirect at the ad server and should filter out robotic activity. Click-within Similar to click down or click. But more commonly, click-withins are ads that allow the user to drill down and click, while remaining in the advertisement, not leaving the site on which they are residing. Client A computer that submits an information request to a server on behalf of a user or proxy. Client-initiated ad impression One of the two methods used for ad counting. Ad content is delivered to the user via two methods-server-initiated and client-initiated. Client-initiated ad counting relies on the users browser for making requests, formatting and re-directing content. For organizations using a client-initiated ad counting method, counting should occur at the publishers ad server or thirdparty ad server, subsequent to the ad request, or later, in the process. See server-initiated ad impression. Codec Short for compressor/decompressor. Codecs are computer algorithms that are used to compress the size of audio, video, and image files. Because these compressed files are much smaller, they do not require as much bandwidth when they are streamed or stored on a computer. The same codec that originally compressed the file must be used to decompress and open the file. Communication error The failure of a Web browser/Web server to successfully request/transfer a document. Content integration Advertising woven into editorial content or placed in a contextual envelope. Also known as "Web advertorial". Cookie A file on the users browser that uniquely identifies the users browser. There are two types of cookies: persistent cookies and session cookies. Session cookies are temporary and are erased when the browser exits. Persistent cookies remain on the users hard drive until the user erases them or until they expire. Cookie buster

Software that blocks the placement of cookies on a users browser. COPPA(Childrens Online Privacy Protection Act) Congress enacted the COPPA in 1998 to prohibit unfair or deceptive acts or practices in connection with the collection, use, or disclosure of personally identifiable information from and about children on the Internet. Section 6502(b)(1)of the Act sets forth a series of general privacy protections to prevent unfair or deceptive online information collection from or about children, and directs the Commission to adopt regulations to implement those protections. The Act requires operators of Web sites directed to children and operators who knowingly collect personal information from children to:(1)Provide parents notice of their information practices;(2)obtain prior verifiable parental consent for the collection, use, and/or disclosure of personal information from children(with certain limited exceptions for the collection of "online contact information," e.g., an e-mail address);(3)provide a parent, upon request, with the means to review the personal information collected from his/her child;(4)provide a parent with the opportunity to prevent the further use of personal information that has already been collected, or the future collection of personal information from that child;(5)limit collection of personal information for a child's online participation in a game, prize offer, or other activity to information that is reasonably necessary for the activity; and(6)establish and maintain reasonable procedures to protect the confidentiality, security, and integrity of the personal information collected. COPPR(Childrens Online Privacy Protection Rule) Issued by the FTC in October 1999 the Children's Online Privacy Protection Rule went into effect on April 21, 2000, and implements the requirements of the COPPA by requiring operators of websites or online services directed to children and operators of Web sites or online services who have actual knowledge that the person from whom they seek information is a child(1)to post prominent links on their Web sites to a notice of how they collect, use, and/or disclose personal information from children;(2)with certain exceptions, to notify parents that they wish to collect information from their children and obtain parental consent prior to collecting, using, and/or disclosing such information;(3)not to condition a child's participation in online activities on the provision of more personal information than is reasonably necessary to participate in the activity;(4)to allow parents the opportunity to review and/or have their children's information deleted from the operator's database and to prohibit further collection from the child; and(5)to establish procedures to protect the confidentiality, security, and integrity of personal information they collect from children. As directed by the COPPA, the Rule also provides a safe harbor for operators following Commission-approved self-regulatory guidelines. See www.caru.org for more information. Copy Printed text in an advertisement. Count audit See activity audit. CPA(Cost-per-Action)

Cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. "Actions" include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click. CPC(Cost-per-Customer) The cost an advertiser pays to acquire a customer. CPC(Cost-per-click) Cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received. CPL(Cost-per-lead) Cost of advertising based on the number of database files(leads)received. CPM(Cost-per-thousand) Media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a Web site that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of $15($1,500 divided by 100). CPM pricing model Pricing model based on the cost of delivering ad impressions. See CPM and Pay-per-Impression. CPO(Cost-per-Order) Cost of advertising based on the number of orders received. Also called Cost-per-Transaction. CPS(Cost-per-Sale) The advertiser's cost to generate one sales transaction. If this is being used in conjunction with a media buy, a cookie can be offered on the content site and read on the advertiser's site after the successful completion of an online sale. CPT(Cost-per-Transaction) See CPO(Cost-per-Order). CPTM(Cost per Targeted Thousand Impressions) Implying that the audience one is trying to reach is defined by particular demographics or other specific characteristics, such as male golfers age 18-25.The difference between CPM and CPTM is that CPM is for gross impressions, while CPTM is for targeted impressions. Crawler A software program which visits virtually all pages of the Web to create indexes for search engines. They are more interested in text files than graphic files. See also spider, bot, and intelligent agent. CRM Customer relationship marketing. Marketing specifically targeted to increasing brand loyalty. Cyber Cafe A place which contains computers with access to the Internet and which is available to the public.

Daughter window An ad that runs in a separate ad window associated with a concurrently displayed banner. In normal practice, the content and banner are rendered first and the daughter window appears thereafter. Demographics Common characteristics used for population or audience segmentation, such as age, gender, household income, etc. Digital signatures Signatures for electronic documents. They establish identity and therefore can be used to establish legal responsibility and the complete authenticity of whatever they are affixed to--in effect, creating a tamper-proof seal. Digital Video Server A robust, dedicated computer at a central location that receives command requests from the television viewer through a video-on-demand application. Once it receives this request, it then instantly broadcasts specific digital video streams to that viewer. Display Successful download giving the user an opportunity to see. DHTML(Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language) An extended set of HTML commands which are used by Web designers to create much greater animation and interactivity than HTML. Domain name The unique name that identifies an Internet site. Every domain name consists of one top or highlevel and one or more lower-level designators. Top-level domains(TLDs)are either generic or geographic. Generic top-level domains include .com(commercial), .net(network), .edu(educational), .org(organizational, public or non-commercial), .gov(governmental), .mil(military); .biz(business), .info(informational),.name(personal), .pro(professional), .aero(air transport and civil aviation), .coop(business cooperatives such as credit unions)and .museum. Geographic domains designate countries of origin, such as .us(United States), .fr(France), .uk(United Kingdom), etc. DPO(Distinct Point of Origin) A unique address from which a browser connects to a Web site on the Internet. Drill down When an online user accesses more and more pages of the Web site, i.e., he or she goes deeper into the content of the site. DSL(Digital Subscriber Line)

A high-speed dedicated digital circuit from a given location to the telephone company's central office, using normal copper telephone lines. DSL provides a separate channel for voice and fax, which means that phone calls and faxes can be carried at the same time high-speed data is flowing across the line. DSL is a general term that includes several variations: ADSL(Asymmetric Digital Subscriber Line), ranging up to 1.5 Mbps; HDSL(High-bit-rate Digital Subscriber Line), 1.5 Mbps; SDSL(Single-line Digital Subscriber Line), 1.5 Mbps; VDSL(Very high-data-rate Digital Subscriber Line), ranging up to 2.3 Mbps; and RDSL(Rate Adaptive Digital Subscriber Line), various speeds. DVR(Digital Video Recorder) A high capacity hard drive that is embedded in a set-top box, which records video programming from a television set. These DVRs are operated by personal video recording software, which enables the viewer to pause, fast forward, and manage all sorts of other functions and special applications. Dynamic ad placement The process by which an ad is inserted into a page in response to a user's request. Dynamic ad placement allows alteration of specific ads placed on a page based on any data available to the placement program. At its simplest, dynamic ad placement allows for multiple ads to be rotated through one or more spaces. In more sophisticated examples, the ad placement could be affected by demographic data or usage history for the current user. Dynamic IP address An IP address that changes every time a user logs on to the Internet. Dynamic rotation Delivery of ads on a rotating, random basis so that users are exposed to different ads and ads are served in different pages of the site.

Online Advertising & Terminology Field Click Rate Description The percentage of impressions that resulted in users clicking an ad. Calculated as: Click Rate = (Impressions/Clicks Recorded) * 100 The number of times users have clicked ads in a campaign to date. The cost per thousand impressions. Calculated as: Total Cost [$] / (Delivered Impressions / 1000) The number of impressions that have been delivered to date. The cost of all delivered impressions and clicks. The cost type and the cost entered against the placement are also factored in the calculation. This information is determined by the advertiser when pricing information is entered in the Trafficking module. The media cost does not take into account run dates, but does take into account hybrid pricing.

Clicks Recorded Effective CPM

Impressions Delivered Media Cost

AAAA(American Association of Advertising Agencies) A non-profit trade association dedicated to improving and strengthening the advertising agency business. See www.aaaa.org for more information. ANA(Association of National Advertisers) The trade association serving the needs of advertisers and marketers by providing leadership in advertising and marketing trends and best practices. See ana.net for more information. ARF(Advertising Research Foundation) A nonprofit trade association whose mission is profitable business through effective research and insights. See arfsite.org for more information. Abandon When a user leaves a shopping cart with something in it prior to completing the transaction. Abort When a Web server does not successfully transfer a unit of content or ad to a browser. This is usually caused by a user hitting the stop button, the ESC key, or clicking on another link prior to the completion of a download. Activity audit

Independent verification of measured activity for a specified time period. Some of the key metrics validated are ad impressions, page impressions, clicks, total visits and unique users. An activity audit results in a report verifying the metrics. Formerly known as a count audit. Ad/advertisement - A commercial message targeted to an advertisers customer or prospect. Ad audience The number of unique users exposed to an ad within a specified time period. Ad banner A graphic image or other media object used as an advertisement. See iab.net for voluntary guidelines for banner ads. Ad blocker Software on a users browser which prevents advertisements from being displayed. Ad campaign audit An activity audit for a specific ad campaign. Ad centric measurement Audience measurement derived from a third-party ad server's own server logs. Ad click A measurement of the user-initiated action of responding to(such as clicking on)an ad element causing a re-direct to another Web location or another frame or page within the advertisement. There are three types of ad clicks: 1)click-throughs; 2)in-unit clicks; and 3)mouseovers. Ad clickthroughs should be tracked and reported as a 302 redirect at the ad server and should filter out robotic activity. Ad click rate Ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions. Ad display/Ad delivered When an ad is successfully displayed on the user's computer screen. Ad download When an ad is downloaded by a server to a users browser. Ads can be requested, but aborted or abandoned before actually being downloaded to the browser, and hence there would be no opportunity to see the ad by the user. Address

A unique identifier for a computer or site online, usually a URL for a Web site or marked with an @ for an e-mail address. Literally, it is how one computer finds the location of another computer using the Internet. Ad impression 1) An ad which is served to a users browser. Ads can be requested by the users browser(referred to as pulled ads)or they can be pushed, such as e-mailed ads; 2) A measurement of responses from an ad delivery system to an ad request from the user's browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and is recorded at a point as late as possible in the process of delivery of the creative material to the user's browser--therefore closest to the actual opportunity to see by the user. Two methods are used to deliver ad content to the usera)server-initiated and b)client-initiated. Server-initiated ad counting uses the publisher's Web content server for making requests, formatting and re-directing content. Client-initiated ad counting relies on the user's browser to perform these activities. For organizations that use a server-initiated ad counting method, counting should occur subsequent to the ad response at either the publisher's ad server or the Web content server. For organizations using a clientinitiated ad counting method, counting should occur at the publisher's ad server or third-party ad server, subsequent to the ad request, or later, in the process. See iab.net for ad campaign measurement guidelines. Ad impression ratio Click-throughs divided by ad impressions. See click rate. Ad insertion When an ad is inserted in a document and recorded by the ad server. Ad materials The creative artwork, copy, active URLs and active target sites which are due to the seller prior to the initiation of the ad campaign. Ad network An aggregator or broker of advertising inventory for many sites. Ad networks are the sales representatives for the Web sites within the network. Ad recall A measure of advertising effectiveness in which a sample of respondents are exposed to an ad and then at a later point in time are asked if they recall the ad. Ad recall can be on an aided or unaided basis. Aided ad recall is when the respondent is told the name of the brand or category being advertised. Ad request

The request for an advertisement as a direct result of a user's action as recorded by the ad server. Ad requests can come directly from the users browser or from an intermediate Internet resource, such as a Web content server. Ad serving The delivery of ads by a server to an end user's computer on which the ads are then displayed by a browser and/or cached. Ad serving is normally performed either by a Web publisher, or by a third-party ad server. Ads can be embedded in the page or served separately. Ad space The location on a page of a site in which an advertisement can be placed. Each space on a site is uniquely identified. Multiple ad spaces can exist on a single page. Ad stream The series of ads displayed by the user during a single visit to a site(also impression stream). Ad transfers The successful display of an advertiser's Web site after the user clicked on an ad. When a user clicks on an advertisement, a click-through is recorded and re-directs or "transfers" the user's browser to an advertiser's Web site. If the user successfully displays the advertiser's Web site, an ad transfer is recorded. Ad view When the ad is actually seen by the user. Note this is not measurable today. The best approximation today is provided by ad displays. Ad window Separate from the content window. Advertiser The company paying for the advertisement. Advertising revenue Revenue realized from the sale of advertising. See interactive advertising revenue. Affiliate marketing An agreement between two sites in which one site(the affiliate)agrees to feature content or an ad designed to drive traffic to another site. In return, the affiliate receives a percentage of sales or some other form of compensation generated by that traffic. Affinity marketing Selling products or services to customers on the basis of their established buying patterns. The offer can be communicated by e-mail promotions, online or offline advertising.

Alternate text A word or phrase that is displayed when a user has image loading disabled in their browser or when a user abandons a page by hitting "stop" in their browser prior to the transfer of all images. Also appears as balloon text when a user lets their mouse rest over an image. Animated advertisement An ad that changes over time. For example, an animated ad is an interactive Java applet or Shockwave or GIF89a file. Animated GIF An animation created by combining multiple GIF images in one file. The result is multiple images, displayed one after another, that give the appearance of movement. Anonymizer An intermediary which prevents Web sites from seeing a users Internet Protocol(IP)address. Applet A small, self-contained software application that is most often used by browsers to automatically display animation and/or to perform database queries requested by the user. Applicable browser Any browser an ad will impact, regardless of whether it will play the ad. Artifacting Distortion that is introduced into audio or video by the compression algorithm(codec). Compressed images may have stray pixels(often white dots)that were not present in the original image. See codec. Aspect ratio The width-to-height ratio of the picture frame. TV broadcasts at a 4:3(1.33:1)aspect ratio; digital TV will be broadcast with a 16:9(1.78:1)ratio; and most feature films are shot in at least a 1.85:1 ratio. IMUs have an aspect ratio of 6:5(330x 250; 336 x 280; and 180 x 150). Audit Third party validation of log activity and/or measurement process associated with Internet activity/advertising. Activity audits validate measurement counts. Process audits validate internal controls associated with measurement. Auditor A third party independent organization that performs audits. Backbone

A central network connecting other networks together. Bandwidth 1)The transmission rate of a communications line or system, expressed either as cycles per second/hertz for analog lines, or as bits(bps)or kilobits per second(Kbps)for digital systems; 2) Line speed; 3) The amount of information that can be transmitted over communications lines at one time.

Bandwidth competition A bottleneck, however brief, when two or more files are simultaneously transmitted over a single line. Unless the system is able to prioritize among the files, the effect is to slow delivery of each. Banner A graphic image displayed on an HTML page used as an ad. See iab.net for voluntary guidelines defining specifications of banner ads. Barter The exchange of goods and services without the use of cash. The value of the barter is the dollar value of the goods and services being exchanged for advertising. This is a recognized form of revenue under GAAP(Generally Accepted Accounting Principles). BtoB/B2B(Business-to-Business) Businesses whose customers are other businesses. BtoC(Business-to-Consumer) Businesses whose major customers are consumers. BBS(Bulletin Board System) Software that enables users to log into e-mail, usenet and chat groups via modem. Beacon A snippet of code placed in an ad, on a Web page, or in an email which helps measure whether the ad, page or email was delivered to the browser and to track actions in general. Also known as a clear GIF or pixel tag. Beta A test version of a product, such as a Web site or software, prior to final release. Beyond-the-banner

A term referring to any advertisement that is not a banner, e.g. an interstitial, streaming video ads, etc. Bit The smallest unit of data in a computer. A bit has a single binary value of either 0 or 1. There are eight bits in a byte. Bit rate A measure of bandwidth which tells you how fast data is traveling from one place to another on a computer network. Bit rate is usually expressed in kilobits(100 bits)per second or Kbps. Bonus impressions Additional ad impressions above the commitments outlined in the approved insertion order. Bot Short for robot. See intelligent agent, robot. Bounce What happens when e-mails are returned to the mail server as undeliverable. Broadband An Internet connection that delivers a relatively high bit rate-any bit rate at or above 100 Kbps. Cable modems, DSL and ISDN all offer broadband connections. Browser A software program that can request, download, cache and display documents available on the World Wide Web. Browsers can be either text-based or graphical. Buffering When a streaming media player saves portions of a streaming media file until there is enough information for the stream to begin playing. Button 1) Clickable graphic that contains certain functionality, such as taking one someplace or executing a program; 2) Buttons can also be ads. See iab.net for voluntary guidelines defining specifications of button ads.

Postclick/post impression Post-click activity : An action performed by a user in a web page that contains Spotlight tags, where the visit is a result of having clicked on an ad. Post-impression activity : An action performed by a user in an advertisers web page that contains Spotlight tags, after having seen an ad for the advertiser.

Conversion tracking and how do you track the same? What happens after a viewer sees a banner and doesnt click ? Are they coming back? Converting? Process of tracking the information beyond click and impression like post click and post impression. This will be tracked on the landing page. We need to use 1x1 pixel calls on the each page of the landing URL (Advertiser website) where you want to track the conversion activities. When a browser hits a page on the advertisers site that contains a conversion/spotlight tag, the browser initiates an HTTP get request for a 1x1 pixel to the ad serving tool. In the process of making this request to DoubleClick, a users browser passes back information in the tag including IP address, operating system, browser type, cookie ID and the URL of the tag itself.

What will happen if I do not use RNG to defeat caching? A: Web pages, images, etc. will be served from the users computer or proxy server rather than from DoubleClicks servers. This will result in the undercounting of impressions and will cause counting discrepancies. This is an issue that can negatively affect both the Advertiser/Client and the Publisher website.

Online Advertising File Formats JPG The compression format designed for photographic images, the JPEG format is used for ads that are photography-based. Typically, text and illustrated non-photo graphics tend to look visually poor in this format.

GIF Format created by CompuServe compress file sizes for delivery on their online service; typically works best with non-photographic and text heavy ads. Unlike JPGs, the GIF format supports animation, which quickly made it the most common graphics format for online ads. Macromedia Flash Flash has become commonplace but is still more complicated than simple GIFs and JPGs and has special requirements when used in online advertisements. Macromedias vector animation based program allows for more complex animations within file size constraints, but requires a browser plug-in. Macromedia claims that 97.6% of internet users possess the ability to display Flash*, but best practices dictate that all Flash ads are accompanied with a substitute GIF or JPG version that will display for browsers which dont. Flash is capable of delivering of animation, streaming video and audio and provides for programming of complex interactivity. Rich Media Rich media is an umbrella term used to describe the use of web technologies such as Macromedia Flash, Java applets and DHTML to create online display ads that feature advanced functionality including interactivity, animation, and streaming audio and video. An estimated 97% of all Rich media is Flash based. Flash alone can create online ads or may paired with technologies such as Eyeblaster, PointRoll and DoubleClick Motif for additional advertising functionality (mainly tracking based). Nielsen//NetRatings reported that rich media accounted for 35% of all ad impressions in December 2004.* These ads may utilize standard advertising spots or take a beyond the banner approach, such as a leader board that expands when clicked to display more information.

Basic Mathematics for Internet Advertising


Most of my clients had trouble understanding the mathematics behind Internet advertising models. We figured it could be useful to explain some of the basic formulas around.

Calculating The CPM


CPM stands for cost-per-mille. Mille is the Latin word for thousand, so CPM means cost per thousand. In this case we are talking about thousands of impressions on a website (also called page views). This is one of the most used metrics on the web. Under this model youll have an advertiser who is willing to play a certain price for each lot of one thousand impressions his banner will get on the publishers website. CPM numbers vary from $0.1 up to $20 or more, depending on the size of the banner, placement, authority of the website displaying the banner and so on. The basic formula : How much you earn = CPM x (Total Impressions / 1,000) We must divide the total number of impressions by 1,000 because the CPM puts a price on lots of thousand impressions. So we are basically doing $3 x 120, which is equal to $360.

Calculating the CPC


CPC stands for cost-per-click. This is another very popular advertising model around the web, especially because that is what Google uses on its AdWords/AdSense platform. Under this model the advertiser will pay a certain amount for each click he will receive from the publisher (or from search portals). The actual cost per click can vary from $0.01 up to $50 or more, depending on the keyword in question, the niche, and on where the click is coming from. The basic formula : How much you earn = CPC x Total number of clicks If the average CPC you are getting on your website is $0.09, and you generate 1,300 clicks per month, youll be making $0.09 x 1,300 monthly, which is equal to $117.

Calculating the Conversion Rate


Conversion rate is another very important metric, because it is directly related with the bottom line. It basically tells you what percentage of the people clicking through an ad ended up taking the desired action (which could be to purchase the product, or simply to sign-up for a newsletter). You can also track the conversion rate of a landing page, disregarding the source of the visitors. In other words, what percentage of the people visiting that page are taking the desired action there? The basic formula: Conversion rate: (Number of people who took action / Total number of people who clicked on the ad) x 100 For example, lets suppose that your purchased 1,000 clicks on Google AdWords, and out of those 35 people ended up purchasing your ebook. Your conversion rate on that campaign was 35 divided by 1,000, which is 0.035. After that we need to multiply the result by 100 to find the percentage. So 0.035 x 100 equals 3,5%.

Reversing the formula: Reversing the conversion rate formula is particular useful for people who sell products online or for affiliate markets. Lets suppose that you sell an ebook for $17, and that you want to drive traffic to your sales page using Google AdWords. How much should you pay for each click, however? The answer to that is what I call the average value per visitor. Average value per visitor = (Conversion rate / 100) x Price of your product Youll basically need to multiply the conversion rate by the price of your book. Lets suppose your conversion rate is 4%. So 4 / 100 equals 0.04, times $17 it is equal to $0.68. This is your average value per visitor. If you pay $0.68 per click, therefore, youll break even. If you manage to pay less than that, youll make a profit. For example, if you managed to purchase 2,000 clicks for $0.50 youll make a profit of 2,000 x $0.18, which equals to $360. $0.18 is the difference between the average value per visitor on your site ($0.68) and the price you are paying to get each visitor there ($0.50). Another way to calculate the profits is by finding out the total revenues and total costs. Since your conversion rate is 4%, out of the 2,000 clicks you bought 80 people ended up purchasing your ebook. So total revenues equal to 80 times $17, or $1,360. Now total costs were 2,000 clicks times $0.50 per click, which is equal to $1,000. Finally, if we subtract costs from revenues we get $1,360 minus $1,000, so profits equal to $360. Making these calculations if you are an affiliate marketer instead of a product seller is exactly the same thing. Youll just need to change the price of the product with the commission you get per sale. The interesting thing here is that affiliate networks will tell you the average conversion rate for each product, so you start with all the numbers on your hand. Lets suppose that a particular affiliate offer converts at 7%. The cost for that product is $39, and your commission is 20% per sale. This means that on each sale you deliver to the merchant youll get paid $7.8 ($39 x 0.2) by the affiliate network. With this numbers you already know how much you can spend per click that youll send to the product sales page. That is the conversion rate multiplied by your commission, so 0.07 x $7.8, which is equal to $0.54. As long as you can send visitors there for less than $0.54, therefore, youll be making a profit on that campaign. Obviously conversion rates may vary with different traffic sources, time of the day and the like, so the formula is not perfect. Despite that, it is the best framework you have to take an analytical approach to Internet advertising.

What is a Third Party Ad Server? By definition, according to the IAB (interactive advertising bureau) Third Party Ad Servers are independent outsourced companies that specialize in managing, maintaining, serving, tracking, and analyzing the results of online ad campaigns. They deliver targeted advertising that can be tailored to consumers' declared or predicted characteristics or preferences. Or Third party ad serving is the technology that pushes ads out to websites and allows advertisers to track the performance of these ads. Almost every banner ad, interstitial, or paid search listing is delivered by or tracked by a third party ad server. Third Party Ad Servers provide aggregated and comparative reporting for all publishers across a media buy through a central interface. They also provide aggregated and comparative reporting across media channels which include online media buys, paid search marketing, organic search rankings and email. Consumers are hit with a marketing message across numerous touch points over an extended period of time, a third party ad server enables marketers and media buyers to account for and track cross channel marketing to calculate a truer cost per acquisition per marketing channel. Why do advertisers rely on third party ad serving technology? A third party ad server allows advertisers to know how many times an advertisement has been served, the number of clicks associated with the ad, conversions resulting from the ad, etc.

Question Conversion Pixel is placed Ad networks are same as an ad Agency? MPU is

Correct Answer

Your Answer

Score 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

On the confirmation/Thank You On the confirmation/Thank Page You Page False Middle Page Unit FALSE Middle Page Unit Counts impressions whenever someone clicks on the a Return on Investment All of the answers All of the answers All of the answers

What happens if we add click tracking code Counts impressions whenever to the image source part someone clicks on the a of a third party tag? What is a ROI? GAM Return on Investment All of the answers

If 3rd Party Ad serving solution was not in All of the answers place Cookie Define Inventory? What is Ad Network Are ad networks same as remnant providers? All of the answers

Inventory is the total number of Inventory is the total number of ad views that a Web site has to ad views that a Web site has to 1 sell over a given period of time sell over a given period of time Both the answers No Group of partnered and own sites No 0 1

On all pages between the Re-Targeting Pixels are destination & placed confirmation/Thank You Page ( including both of them) 3rd Party Ad serving helps to achieve Unique visitor is? Main reason for discrepancy in the reporting How ads stored in 3rd party adserving system are shown on the website All of the answers All of the answers All of the answers Ad Server generates tags for various publishers Ad Servers that, will return the appropriate creative

On all pages between the destination & 1 confirmation/Thank You Page ( including both of them) All of the answers All of the answers All of the answers 1 1 1

0 Total : 14

Question Richmedia Formats What is a sponsorship ad?

Correct Answer All of the answers Both the answers

Your Answer All of the answers Both the answers

Score 1 1

way to fill unsold inventory is to Public Service Announcements donate it to non-profit organizations by running ads for - PSA Ads them free of charge Unique visitor is? Cookie All of the answers All of the answers

Way to fill unsold inventory is to donate it to non-profit 0 organizations by running ads for them free of charge All of the answers All of the answers Clicks only All of the answers 1 1 1 1

A click Command will track the Clicks only following Flash Creative review All of the answers

What is Run of Network

Ads can appear in any ad slot so Ads can appear in any ad slot so long as that ad slot in the long as that ad slot in the 1 network sites network sites We can rotate both flash & gif creatives We can rotate both flash & gif creatives 1

Can we rotate gif creatives in the website?

Which element of the advertising ad serving system is comprised of a series of ads Campaign containing site placements and creatives? Which element consists of a creative assignment, clickthrough URL, creative, size, delivery dates, and site placements? What is a ROI?

Campaign

Ad

Ad

Return on Investment

Return on Investment

GAM

All of the answers

All of the answers All of the answers

1 1

Main reason for discrepancy in All of the answers the reporting Conversion Pixel is placed

On the confirmation/Thank You On the confirmation/Thank You 0 Page Page In order to traffic the campaigns specific to the person, or company, who bought the ad space. On all pages between the destination & confirmation/Thank You Page ( including both of them) In order to traffic the campaigns specific to the person, or 1 company, who bought the ad space. On all pages between the destination & 1 confirmation/Thank You Page ( including both of them)

Why do you create an advertiser in DFA?

Re-Targeting Pixels are placed

Define Inventory?

Inventory is the total number of Inventory is the total number of ad views that a Web site has to ad views that a Web site has to 0 sell over a given period of time sell over a given period of time You will need to send websites HTML tags to serve your creatives on the page. You will need to send websites HTML tags to serve your creatives on the page.

You create sites because

Ad Server generates tags for How ads stored in 3rd party various publishers Ad Servers adserving system are shown on that, will return the appropriate the website creative If 3rd Party Ad serving solution All of the answers was not in place Total : 17

Ad Server generates tags for various publishers Ad Servers 1 that, will return the appropriate creative 0

Question Conversion Pixel is placed MPU is Cookie Ad networks are same as an ad Agency? What is a ROI? Define Inventory? What is Ad Network

Correct Answer

Your Answer

Score

On the confirmation/Thank You On the confirmation/Thank You 1 Page Page Middle Page Unit All of the answers False Return on Investment Middle Page Unit All of the answers FALSE Return on Investment 1 1 1 1

Inventory is the total number of Inventory is the total number of ad views that a Web site has to ad views that a Web site has to 1 sell over a given period of time sell over a given period of time Both the answers Both the answers 1 On all pages between the destination & 1 confirmation/Thank You Page ( including both of them) All of the answers All of the answers 1 1

On all pages between the Re-Targeting Pixels are destination & placed confirmation/Thank You Page ( including both of them) If 3rd Party Ad serving solution was not in All of the answers place 3rd Party Ad serving helps to achieve All of the answers

What happens if we add click tracking code Counts impressions whenever to the image source someone clicks on the a part of a third party tag? How ads stored in 3rd party adserving system are shown on the website Unique visitor is? Main reason for discrepancy in the reporting GAM Are ad networks same as remnant providers? Ad Server generates tags for various publishers Ad Servers that, will return the appropriate creative All of the answers All of the answers All of the answers No

Counts impressions whenever someone clicks on the a

Ad Server generates tags for various publishers Ad Servers 1 that, will return the appropriate creative All of the answers All of the answers Google Ad Manager 1 1 0 0

Silver Jubilee Edition Remnant Inventory It's not unusual for top publishers to have our inventory - sometimes as much as a year in advance in popular inventory categories. Chances are you will not be as lucky, at least not at first. There are a few methods of using up that leftover inventory without being committed to delivering a specific number of impressions in a set campaign period. It is a good idea to keep the ads running in your remnant inventory fresh so that you are not playing the same ad for months and months. House Ads These ads direct people to your upcoming content, sections or functionality of your site, etc. Focus on house advertising that is useful for the reader - do not waste space with "Your Ad Here!" spots. It is best not to run too many, otherwise, your site might give the impression that no one wants to advertise with you. Public Service Announcements (PSA) A great way to fill unsold inventory is to donate it to non-profit organisations by running ads for them free of charge. Often they will even have creative ready to go. Many of these non-profits operate on a national and international level, which can lend additional credibility to your site when you are looking to sell inventory to larger businesses. Contra Deals and Ad Exchanges Another option for filling inventory is with a contra deal, where you exchange advertising with a vendor in return for their products or services. This exchange might even be advertising for advertising, in which case it is termed an "ad exchange". Ad Networks It is reported that almost one-in-five online ads served are placed by third party ad networks. 8 These networks can be a good way to serve ads that pay - even if it is not as much as if you had sold the inventory yourself. You will have a degree of say in the types of ads permitted (allowing sites to opt out of serving ads for alcohol, tobacco, etc) but also keep the quality of ads served on the network in mind: some networks may serve less-than-desirable ads (such as those mimicking computer error messages, etc). Who Is Involved In Ad Serving? Ad serving operations do not occur in a vacuum and they can affect many different people throughout the publisher's company. Whom exactly they affect will depend on the organization and will vary from publisher to publisher. It will also vary largely on the functionality provided by the ad serving solution. For instance, the ad server may provide billing functionality that your Accounts Payable department will be using.

Ad Serving Choices Ad servers come and go, although there are a few who have been around for the long haul: both DoubleClick's DART and 24/7 RealMedia's OpenAdStream are currently the industry standard heavyweights. However, both carry significant expense and may not be an option for smaller publishers. Other long-term ad serving solutions do cater to smaller publishers such as Thruport's AdJuggler, but be aware of limitations on functionality. For instance, Ad Juggler divides your booked inventory so that it knows how many ads will require serving on a given day. From there it assigns a quota of paying ads to each hour. The problem occurs when AdJuggler serves all of your paying impressions beginning at the top of each hour, rather than distributing inventory evenly. If your inventory is only partially booked your site will display all of your paying advertisements for the first part of the hour, and once the quota runs out you'll be stuck serving public service announcements and house ads until the turn of the hour. If this problem is now fixed please let me know. Furthermore, there is the option of running your own ad server in-house. Options and costs vary; generally, the higher priced options will provide you with more functionality. If all you require is barebones ad serving there are even free scripts available. However, if you wish to court larger advertisers you may find that using a third party service gives advertisers a level of confidence that an impartial company handles the ad serving. Ad serving is an evolving industry and your options will always be changing. A good place to begin is to look at the websites of your competition and compatriots and identify which ad serving solutions they are using. You can usually recognize the ad server used by a site by mousing-over one of their ads and noting the path in the status bar of your web browser.
IAB Announces "New Brand-Friendly Ad Formats" In a sustained effort to spur greater creativity in interactive advertising and speed adoption of new brand-friendly ad formats, the Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) today announced the six winners of its Rising Stars Competition. These new-to-the-market formats will be named IAB Standard Ad Units following six months of in-market validation. A pool of 36 innovative submissions came from more than two dozen companies. The Rising Stars contest kicked off at the MIXX Conference & Expo in September 2010, when the IAB put out a call for new standard ad units that would encourage engagement with viewers on their terms and allow people to participate confidently with brands. It was also announced today that 11 of the 18 current IAB standard ad units will be retired as they are no longer commonly bought and offered throughout the market, a requirement defined by the Ad Unit Guidelines Update developed by the Reimagining Interactive Advertising Task Force in November 2009.

The IAB has been the standard-setting body for interactive advertising formats since 1997 and is widely regarded for instituting rigor in the digital media supply chain. Agencies, marketers and publishers recognize IAB standard ad units as the foundation of modern digital marketing communications. Seven of the IAB ad units comprise approximately 80 percent of all online ads served in the U.S. The Rising Stars contest is a core component of Reimagining Interactive Advertising, an IAB initiative being led by top agency executive Peter Minnium, formerly Managing Director of Lowe Worldwide, the global creative agency network of the Interpublic Group, where he held leadership roles overseeing international operations. Mr. Minnium joined IAB in June 2010 as a Consulting Director. About the IAB The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) is comprised of more than 500 leading media and technology companies who are responsible for selling 86% of online advertising in the United States. On behalf of its members, the IAB is dedicated to the growth of the interactive advertising marketplace, of interactives share of total marketing spend, and of its members share of total marketing spend. The IAB educates marketers, agencies, media companies and the wider business community about the value of interactive advertising. Working with its member companies, the IAB evaluates and recommends standards and practices and fields critical research on interactive advertising. Founded in 1996, the IAB is headquartered in New York City with a Public Policy office in Washington, D.C. For more information, please visit www.iab.net.

Geographic targeting. Geotargeting is similar to site-side servers but somewhat less effective. You pay for the media regardless of whether you had an appropriate creative for the users an ad was served to. Wherever possible, try to geotarget at the publisher level. Profile-based targeting. As I detailed last time, ads can be targeted based on Web-surfing habits. Third-party ad servers have the same issues as site-side servers do. Session-specific targeting. Specifics include domain, browser type, and operating system. Again, this can be accomplished on the site side, usually to greater effect as the publisher only shows the ad (and bills you) when there is an appropriate fit. When served by a third party, you pay for the media even if it doesn't fit your demographic. (Remember, there are plenty of other types of targeting I'm not covering here).

Advertorial Advertorial resembles other content on a publishers website, and is often in the format of an article or review. Rather than applying an objective viewpoint, its focus is to present and promote the opinions, products or services of the advertiser. Publications who accept advertorial usually employ guidelines for its use, outlining ways to distinguish it from their own editorial. Text Links When employed effectively, text links can be very useful and have good results. Text links are often short descriptions of a limited number of words or characters accompanied by a site link. Email Email and e-newsletters can be very effective ways of advertising to an audience directly. Privacy legalisation has many requirements about opt-in policies and there are many best practices guidelines. Advertising Microsites A small website of advertising nature contained in a separate area of the publishers main site. Contests An online advertising option where the advertiser offers a prize (or prizes) to winners based on specific criteria: random draw, most creative mini-essay, etc. Running contests online allows for branding opportunities, collection of demographic data, email opt-ins and a variety of other customer interactions.

Sponsorships Methods of online advertising which seek to align the advertiser more closely with the publishers website in order to establish a deeper association with the user. When applied to display ads it typically refers to every ad placement on a given page featuring ads from a single advertiser. It can apply to a single page, an entire section or minisite. Other common practices include sponsoring a column, an enewsletters or website functionality (for instance, a customizable events calendar). Sponsors may even pick up the cheque for users, giving them free access to an area of the site that is fee-based such as an online course or the premium content portion of an online magazine.

Classifieds Classified ads are usually entirely or predominantly text-based and placed into categories. Online versions of paper-based classifieds often appear on the sites of various newspapers and other publications. Additionally sites specifically geared towards online classified ad delivery are also available. RSS Really Simple Syndication (RSS) is a method of easily distributing content to a subscriber base allowing offline access on a PC or on a mobile device. It is becoming increasingly widespread in use and RSS advertising is expected it to become the next big thing as an advertising medium as the technology hits the mainstream (RSS will be included in Windows Visa, the XP successor). Below is the continued part of Technical words with brief explanation!!!

IAB(Interactive Advertising Bureau) IAB is a non-profit trade association devoted exclusively to maximizing the use and effectiveness of interactive advertising and marketing. See iab.net for more information. iFrame(inline frame) A floating frame inserted within a Web page which is not bound to the side of a browser window. Image map A GIF or JPEG image with more than one linking hyperlink. Each hyperlink or hot spot can lead to a different destination page. Impression A measurement of responses from a Web server to a page request from the user browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and error codes, and is recorded at a point as close as possible to opportunity to see the page by the user. IMU(Interactive Marketing Unit) The standard ad unit sizes endorsed by IAB. See iab.net for more information. Insertion Actual placement of an ad in a document, as recorded by the ad server.

Insertion order Purchase order between a seller of interactive advertising and a buyer(usually an advertiser or its agency). Instant messaging A method of users communicating one-to-one or in groups over the standard IP protocol. Users can assemble buddy lists and chat with friends, family and colleagues. Intelligent agents Software tools which help the user find information of specific interest to him/her. The users profile is continually refined and improved based on the user's acceptance or rejection of recommendations over time. Interactive advertising All forms of online, wireless and interactive television advertising, including banners, sponsorships, e-mail, keyword searches, referrals, slotting fees, classified ads and interactive television commercials. Interactive advertising revenues Revenues realized from the sale of interactive advertising. Internal page impressions Web site activity that is generated by individuals with IP addresses known to be affiliated with the Web site owner. Internal activity that is associated with administration and maintenance of the site should be excluded from the traffic or measurement report. Internet A worldwide system of computer networks providing reliable and redundant connectivity between disparate computers and systems by using common transport and data protocols. Interstitial ads Ads that appear between two content pages. Also known as transition ads, intermercial ads, splash pages and Flash pages. Intranet A network based on TCP/IP protocols that belongs to an organization, usually a corporation, and is accessible only by the organizations members, employees or others with authorization. In-unit click A measurement of a user-initiated action of responding to an ad element which generally causes an intra-site redirect or content change. In-unit clicks are usually tracked via a 302 redirect. Also known as click-downs, click-ups and click-withins. See ad click; 302 redirect. Inventory The number of ads available for sale on a Web site.

IP(Internet Protocol) A protocol telling the network how packets are addressed and routed. IP address Internet protocol numerical address assigned to each computer on the network so that its location and activities can be distinguished from other computers. The format is ##.##.##.## with each number ranging from 0 through 255(e.g. 125.45.87.204) IRC-(Internet Relay Chat) 1) A facility that allows people to chat in real time. The chats, or forums, are typed remarks, and they can be either public or private; 2) A protocol that allows users to converse with others in real time. IRC is structured as a network of servers, each of which accepts connections from client programs. 3) ISDN(Integrated Services Digital Network) High-speed dial-up connections to the Internet over ordinary copper phone wires. DSL has in large part replaced ISDN. See DSL. ISP(Internet Service Provider) An organization that provides access to the Internet. An ISP can be a commercial provider, a corporate computer network, a school, college, university, or the government. ITI(Information Technology Industry Council) Represents the leading U.S. providers of information technology products and services. It advocates growing the economy through innovation and supports free-market policies. See itic.org for more information. iTV(Interactive Television) Any technology that allows for two-way communication between the audience and the service provider(such as the broadcaster, cable operator, set-top box manufacturer)via standard or enhanced television appliance. Java A programming language designed for building applications on the Internet. It allows for advanced features, increased animation detail and real-time updates. Small applications called Java applets can be downloaded from a server and executed by Java-compatible browsers like Microsoft Internet Explorer and Netscape Navigator. JPEG(Joint Photographic Experts Group) File format that uses a compression technique to reduce the size(number of bytes)of graphic files. Jump page ad Microsite which is reached via click-through from button or banner ad. The jump page itself can list several topics, which are linked to either the advertiser's site or the publisher's site.

Search Advertising Advertisers purchase keywords that they wish to associate their ad with on the publishers search engine. When a user enters a search on the site ads relating to the search terms appear alongside their search results. Contextual Advertising Ads grouped by keyword appear alongside the content of a webpage using keywords contained in the text to match ads to the topic. These ads are dynamic and employ sophisticated techniques to match ads to the page topics.

Questions "Air travel is many times faster than car travel; it is also more expensive". Identify the incorrect portion in the sentences What is CPC DFA has Media planning in it Choose the correct word which means 'complete or very detailed'. When does media plan picture

Correct Answer It is Cost per click Yes Thorough Before Campaign set up

Your Answer No Error Cost per click No Through Before Campaign set up Bought Quantcast no

Score 0 1 0 0 1 1 1 1

Choose the correct word: I _________ a Bought new coat from the market last week. Free tool that allows planners to search for sites based on determined criteria Is a webmaster a media planner Identify the correct pattern ****##%%%%(((!!^^^ Quantcast No

****##%%%%(((!!^^^ ****##%%%%(((!!^^^ 1

Identify the incorrect portion in the sentences. "Everybody, even the Are principal are excited about the upcoming football game". Expand ODP Media planner works for Media planning involves risk Media Planner works closely Compete.com Agency Yes All of the above Web analytics tool

Are

Open Directory Project Open Directory Project 1 Agency Yes All of the above Web analytics tool 1 1 1 1

Hi All,

Thanks for the active participation from the whole of AdOps including the leads for attending the DC test training for September.

Below are few links to get more idea on Media Planning:

www.entrepreneur.com/encyclopedia/term/82454.html

http://drypen.in/media-resource/steps-to-media-planning.html http://dars.info/advertising/en/mediaplaning/ http://www.slideshare.net/ves_quan/chap10-media-planning-and-strategy-presentation http://bizinfonetwork.org/content.php?id=320&siteName=Starting+a+Business

Campaign A campaign is a series of advertisement messages that share a single idea and theme that make up an integrated marketing communication (IMC). Advertising campaigns appear in different media across a specific time frame. Campaign Status The campaign status shows the current state of a campaign. You can control the current state of a campaign in the Partner and Affiliate Centers. The status also effects the redirection of traffic. The following are the five states of a campaign: 1 - Testing Traffic is redirected to the merchant. The campaign CANNOT be requested by affiliates. Creatives and links ARE available to assigned affiliates of the offer. 2 - Public Live Traffic is redirected to the merchant.

The campaign displays in the Affiliate Center. Creatives and links are available to affiliates. The campaign can be requested by affiliates. Affiliate managers can assign the campaign to affiliates. Affiliates can see statistics. Partners can see statistics.

3 - Private Live Traffic is redirected to the merchant. The campaign IS NOT displayed in the Affiliate Center. Creatives and links are available to assigned affiliates only. The campaign CANNOT be requested by affiliates. Affiliate managers can assign the campaign to affiliates. Assigned affiliates can see statistics. Partners can see statistics. 4 - Paused Traffic is redirected to the merchant. The campaign IS NOT displayed in the Affiliate Center. Creatives and links ARE NOT available in the Affiliate Center. The campaign CANNOT be requested by affiliates. Affiliate managers CANNOT assign the campaign to affiliates. Assigned affiliates can see statistics. Partners can see statistics. 5 - Dead/Expired Traffic DOES NOT redirect to the merchant. Traffic is redirected to an expired location. The campaign IS NOT displayed in the Affiliate Center. Creatives and links ARE NOT available in the Affiliate Center. The campaign CANNOT be requested by affiliates. Affiliate managers CANNOT assign the campaign to affiliates. Assigned affiliates can see historical statistics. Partners can see statistics. Counter Tags Counter tags use a random number generator to prevent caching. Most browsers save copies of web page elements to the computers cache; this includes banner images. A browser cache is a temporary storage mechanism the browser uses to avoid retrieving the same web objects on subsequent requests. Once the browser receives the DoubleClick ad image, it will store the image in its cache. If the ad request does not reach the DoubleClick servers because the image was served from the browsers cache, DoubleClick will not record an ad impression. Browser caching can be defeated with random number generation (RNG).

Why are there counting discrepancies? Two Independent ad-serving systems DFA vs Publisher (20% allowed) DFA vs DFP (2% allowed if using Internal Redirects) If the discrepancy is inside these allowable parameters, we should simply inform the client that the results are within the industry-acceptable range, and proceed no further. Trafficking error, or wrong tags External factors Proxy server caching Robots Network latency etc. Mysterious causes that we cant identify!

Questionnaire : Adops - July 2011 Questions Correct Answer What is more relevant to Video Ad?? All of the answers

Your Answer All of the answers Time to launch new creatives is consistent.

Score 1

Which one of the following statements is Reporting needs to be obtained NOT a function of directly from the sites. DFA? Which one of these is NOT the function of a Media Planner? After a call goes to a sites ad-serving system, what happens next? Sends the creatives to the Publisher.

Sends the creatives to the 1 Publisher.

If the sites ad serving If the sites ad serving system decides system decides to send a to send a 3rdParty ad server ad, then a 3rdParty ad server ad, 1 call goes to the Ad server. then a call goes to the Ad server. 300x600 1

According to IAB what is the size for Half 300x600 Page Ad ? Which of the statements are TRUE with respect to RICHMEDIA? What is a Widget ad? What is the use of backup gif while trafficking a Flash creative? What are Direct response Campaigns All of the answers All of the above If the user computer does not have flash plug-in or version then gif creative will be served Advertising Campaigns for ROI/acquisition-focused

All of the answers All of the above

1 1

If the user computer does not have flash plug-in or 1 version then gif creative will be served Advertising Campaigns for Awareness and 0

message reinforcement According to IAB what 88x31 is Micro Bar? According to IAB what 120x60 is Button 2? What is an invalid click? What is Media Planning Click that is not generated by an actual human user Managing the process of buying the media and price negotiation. Usually buyers use an RFP process to request proposals from the publishers that satisfy the goal of the buyer. 88x31 120x60 1 1

Click that is not generated 1 by an actual human user Managing the process of researching media and planning the campaign.

According to IAB what is the size for wide 160x600 skyscraper? Which of these are function of IAB All of the answers

160x600 All of the answers

1 1

What are the pieces of code called that the HTML tags Trafficker sends to the Publisher?

Some of the ad slot sizes and their respective names for your reference 88 X 31 -> Micro Bar 110 120 120 120 120 125 160 180 192 220 X X X X X X X X X X 80 -> Small_banner 60 -> Button 2 90 -> Button 1 240 -> Vertical Banner 600 -> Skyscraper 125 -> Square Button 600 -> Wide Skyscraper 150 -> Rectangle 35 -> banner_Widget_ 30 -> Banner_Widget

234 234 240 250 292 295 295 300 300 300 300 300 336 385 385 435 468 500 550 711 728 750 750 750 984 990

X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X

60 -> Half Banner 90 -> HB-Header 400 -> Vertical Rectangle 250 -> Square Banner 109 -> Banner_292x109 117 -> HB-Premium 120 -> HB-Premium_OLD 100 -> 3:1 Rectangle 250 -> Medium Rectangle 600 -> Half Page Ad 750 -> Triple MRec 800 -> Standard Gigabanner 280 -> Large Rectangle 35 -> Botao_385x35 100 -> Banner 102 -> Banner_Logo 60 -> Full Banner 400 -> 500x400 (splash page) 350 -> 550x350 splash 130 -> Monster Banner 90 -> Leader board 100 -> Billboard 200 -> Double billboard 300 -> Triple billboard 120 -> Banner Logo 30 -> Banner_barra

1000 1024

X X

150 -> Medium Merate 150 -> Mareta

Ad Networks Ad networks are in the media representation business. Even the biggest publishers don't typically have the resources to sell every last scrap of their available inventory day in, day out, so they hand over a portion of their inventory - the remnant inventory - to ad networks. Small publishers, on the other hand, have no resources of their own to sell their inventory, so they have to go to the market via networks. The networks aggregate all the inventory that they have available and then sell this inventory to advertisers. Ad networks make money by selling the inventory for a higher price than they buy it. They can achieve this in a number of ways, which I shall list in broad order of sophistication/difficulty (with the easiest first): Simple arbitrage: The network buys from the publisher at a rock-bottom price (because the publisher would literally make nothing from the inventory otherwise) and sells the inventory on in larger aggregated blocks at a slightly higher price. The "value add" is small - the network is simply allowing the advertiser to soak up some remaining part of their budget without having to go to lots of individual publishers. Vertical aggregation: The network buys lots of small parcels of inventory in specific verticals (e.g. travel). It then aggregates the inventory for sale according to these segments, enabling it to charge a bit more. The advertiser is able to extend the reach of their campaign in a target audience without having to deal with lots of publishers. Price model arbitrage: The network buys inventory on a CPM (cost-per-thousand impressions) basis, providing the publishers with a nice, reliable revenue stream. But it sells the inventory on a CPC (costper-click) or CPA (cost-per-acquisition) basis, reducing the risk of the inventory for advertisers (who are only paying for success), and absorbing the associated risk itself. The network makes money on the difference between the CPM it pays publishers and the "effective CPM" (eCPM) it charges advertisers. Platform specialization: Advertising on emerging-media platforms such as video and mobile still requires quite a lot of specialized technology, forcing Rich Media vendors to build close relationships with the publishers that they deal with. Over time, many of the vendors in this space have gone the extra mile for their advertiser customers and turned themselves into networks, making it easier for advertisers to buy ads in these new formats across a range of publishers. Behavioural targeting: The network buys inventory from publishers, and when the ad call is passed over to the network, it drops a third-party cookie. By doing this across all its publisher clients, the network can build up a profile of users by cookie ID - knowing, for example, that cookie ID XYZ123 has visited ten sites about water sports in the past week. The network can then use this information to add value to the inventory it's reselling, enabling advertisers to buy "active surfer dudes" and the like.

Doubleclick Ad Exchange Leverage your own technology and data for efficient media buying. DoubleClick Ad Exchange is a real-time marketplace that helps ad networks, agency holding companies, and emerging third-party technology providers maximize ROI across millions of sites. Buyers can increase return on investment through targeting, defined bids, defined budgets and frequency caps on inventory purchases. You define your audience so you are only buying what you want and when you want it. A true, open real-time bidding system enables buyers to leverage their proprietary data and bidding algorithms for even more control over media spend. With DoubleClick Ad Exchange, you can: Use delivery controls to improve relevance and performance Leverage the real-time bidder for improved efficiency and effectiveness Employ dynamic selection to get only the impressions you need, when you need them Save time by working with one platform E Email Advertising Email and e-newsletters are a form of direct advertising. Privacy legalisation has many requirements about opt-in policies and best practices guidelines should be adhered to. H Hits The definition of a hit is a successful request to the web server for a file not just for web pages, but for every graphic on it and every file associated with it. Pulling up a single webpage can result in dozens of hits, especially if the page contains many graphics. While you may still hear this term used, but seek clarification when you do as it may also be used to describe page hits. I Interstitial This is a term that often gets applied in several different ways. An interstice is literally a space that intervenes between things and in the original application to online advertising it referred specifically to ad windows which loaded in-between a user navigating from one page to another. To further confuse issues rich media ads which overlay a web page can also be referred to as interstitials. L Leading Page The homepage for each section of a website, these pages may read like a table of contents with a listing of all features which follow in that section. Click-Through Rate (CTR) Calculated by dividing number of times the ad was clicked in order to visit the advertisers site by the total number of ad impressions Contests

Most people dont think of contests as advertising, which is one of the appeals of the format. People are given the chance to win something in exchange for exposure to a message/brand or collection of information such as demographics, product interest, or optional newsletter signups. Contextual Advertising Advertising which is directly based on the specific content of a webpage. These ads are dynamic and employ sophisticated techniques to match ads to the page topics. Cookies A file placed on a users computer that is used to track users. A user who requests that a site remember them and keep them log them in automatically when they return will have a cookie placed in their cookies directory to achieve this task. Most cookies are placed without the users permission or knowledge, and many people view them as an invasion of privacy especially when employed by ad serving companies to serve ads based on their surfing habits. A recent problem has occurred with the rise in the popularity of anti-spyware software which malicious software but also deletes unwanted cookies. Creative The creative refers to the advertising material; the online ads. C Cache A Cache stores web pages in order to speed up delivery when it is requested again. This happens on the browser level but is also employed by ISPs in order to deliver pages faster to their endusers. This can sometimes result in advertisements not being served. Ad servers that employ cache busting techniques work to overcome this problem. Campaign Advertisements running online do so within the context of their campaign. A Campaign is a plan that describes where on the site the online advertisement will run as well as its start and end dates. The most important factor is the overall business objective: how many ad impressions need to be delivered. A campaign may include one ad or multiple ads. The process of booking and managing advertising campaigns is known of Ad Trafficking. Classified Advertising Classified ads are usually entirely or predominantly text-based and placed into categories specific to the product or service being offered. Ad Impressions/Ad Requests Similar to a page impression, except that it is a record of a successful request for an ad resulting in an ad displaying to a user. The ad impression numbers will usually be higher than page impressions as typically one web page contains multiple advertising units. Ad impressions often provided as a monthly figure: i.e. 5.2 million ad impressions per month.

Ad Server Often a dedicated computer, normally operated by a third party specialist company, but it can also be applied to the hardware and software that provide the functionality of ad serving. An ad server delivers ads on a publishers website according to a set of factors set by the Ad Trafficker. The ad server provides real time reporting on campaigns for publishers and advertisers. Advertising Inventory The number of ad impressions available. The inventory is further divided to allow for advertisers to target their advertising, delivering it to those who are most likely potential customers. These ad sections are known as Inventory Categories. Advertorial Advertorial is written to resemble other content on a publishers website, often in the format of an article or review. Rather than applying an objective viewpoint, its focus is to present and promote the opinions, products or services of the advertiser. Publications who accept advertorial usually employ guidelines for its use, outlining ways to distinguish it from their own editorial. AB Glossary of Common Online Advertising Terms The definitions provided here are specific to the use of the term in online advertising. The words and phrases listed below represent some of the most commonly used jargon in the industry. Rest assured, there is more this is the web, after all! A Above The Fold Above the fold ads appear on the upper-part of the page and fully visible without the need to scroll when viewing at standard resolution (800 x 600). Channels Another term for Inventory Categories. Digital Tear-sheets Clients appreciate seeing their ad live on the site. However, there are several reasons why they may not find it when they look. Factors such as frequency may be require the client to reload the page several times before seeing the ad or the client looking in a section where the ad wasn't targeted. These and other issues can all result in frustrated advertisers missing their ads. A good solution is to use digital tear sheets: website templates set up specifically to display a given ad campaign. When the campaign launches, send an email with a link to this page so that the advertiser can see their ads in action. Problems with Creative

If problems do arise regarding the creative, the ad trafficker should contact the sales rep who should in turn obtain the name of a technical contact in order to resolve problems. You may consider always requiring a technical contact be named on the insertion order to prevent any delays in contacting the responsible party. Client Reports Determine the frequency of reporting that the client will expect and provide the schedule to the Ad Trafficker. Most clients are going to expect at least one report at the end of the campaign. Sometimes, providing a fastidious client with detailed reports on a daily basis can prevent a drain on your resources or it become your worst nightmare when it results in trafficking changes being requested on an hourly basis. Use your judgement. Depending on the functionality provided by the ad serving solution, you may be able to obtain a client login so that the advertiser check reports whenever they choose. Alternately, have the Ad Trafficker set up automatic emailed reports. Advertising Guidelines It is very important for publishers to provide a set of guidelines that advertisers must adhere to and that publishers must enforce. You should be aware of restrictions on file size, ad dimensions and behaviour limits (Example: vokens ads overlaying content, etc.). Obtain the ad specs information and ensure that the Ad Trafficker receives the creative on time. Insertion Order The insertion order is the purchase order between the publisher and the advertiser. It contains all of the campaign details including creative sizes, trafficking requirements, total number of impressions and campaign cost. It should be accompanied by the Advertisers Agreement contract which stipulates the terms and conditions of the campaign. Once the client signs the contract, send a copy of the Insertion Order to the Ad Trafficker. This document should contain all of the information that is required to traffic the campaign. Send creative sent by the client to the Ad Trafficker. Alternatively provide the advertiser with an alternate means of sending the creative (i.e. emailing it to the Ad Trafficker directly, uploading to a specified location, etc). Be sure to reiterate deadlines for when the creative is due. The Sale is Made Once booked, online ad campaigns will require creative to be submitted. This might be a banner or simply ad copy for a text-only ads. There are three scenarios when it comes to creative: Client Supplied Creative This is the most straight forward scenario: The client will be supplying ready-to-go creative in advance of campaign deployment. Creative Required If the advertiser does not have creative, there are a few options: the publisher may choose to offer this service and handle billing accordingly. Either in-house employees or outsourcers who work on behalf of the publisher can do the actual work.

Alternatively, a publisher may decide that they prefer to provide advertisers with a list of trusted companies providing ad design services, leaving the responsibility for the creative solely with the client. Campaign performance directly corresponds to the strength of the creative that is used. This in turn reflects on the publisher's reputation. Whether ad design takes place in-house or is outsourced, work with designers who maintain standards of excellence. If you are providing your clients with a list of companies, ensure that you can confidently recommend them. Have a qualified person in your organization evaluate designer portfolios and speak with some previous clients before adding companies to the list.

Responsible Advertising: Misuse and Abuse It is unfortunate that online advertising has acquired such a bad reputation in its short history. As the "bread and butter" of the commercial internet and many publishers depend on it for an important source of revenue. The internet can also be a great way for Advertisers to communicate to customers. Design and technical possibilities abound and the ability to create good, and even great, advertising exists. There are definitely some excellent examples. Regrettably, there is an awful lot of bad advertising out there. How do I define bad advertising? Sit in a net cafe and listen to the growls, expletives and occasional bursts of outrage - the result of people encountering obnoxious advertising. The frustration factor has escalated over the past few years, becoming a growing phenomenon known as "web rage". Advertising is not the sole cause, but when combined with slow connections, software crashes and sluggish computer response times an offensive ad can send someone over the brink. People generally accept television ads. Sure, certain ads will rub people the wrong way, but in general, audiences tolerate commercials and occasionally will even appreciate an exceptional one. Heck, they will even trade those with their friends over the web! So what are web ads doing that television commercials do not? They are preventing website users from completing their task. Not all ads are guilty of this, but it is far too common. Television has also established rules: TV ads play when viewers expect them to during allotted breaks, each ad is of a specific length and viewers expect a certain number. Commercials do not interrupt the viewer spontaneously when the show is on. Think of your reaction when you are watching an interesting show and someone blocks your view of the television: that is the feeling people have when an ad drops down over the article they were about to read!

Everyone is accountable The publisher is responsible for the content of their website and ads are a part of the site, just like any other component; For advertisers ads are a direct reflection on the public's perception of their company; Ad designers are working for clients who hire them to provide expertise in designing campaigns that will enhance their image and effectively communicate their message; Sales people should be concerned about making a current client a repeat client.

Everyone is accountable. Everyone is responsible. Everyones reputation is at stake. As mentioned previously, users hold advertisers and publishers responsible for annoying and obtrusive ads. Remember that statistic: In a survey of 18,808 users, more than 50% reported that a pop-up ad affected their opinion of the advertiser very negatively and nearly 40% reported that it affected their opinion of the publisher very negatively. While this applies directly to pop-ups, assume the same would hold true for any advertising that users view as irritating. Several years have passed since the popup debacle. In the meantime, Internet Advertising has changed dramatically with a large increases in both rich media ad options as well as the number campaigns out there. In addition to current offerings, Macromedia Flash 8 is on the horizon: It supports vastly improved video capabilities raising the potential for internet advertising design but also increasing the possibilities for misuse. And the attitudes of the general public towards online advertising is already rife with mines from previous blunders like the pop-ups. The good news is, creating a responsible advertising campaign is by no means an impossible task. Spyware! Unfortunately, often when a user's screen is overloaded with pop-ups and pop-unders they often blame the site that they are visiting. This is often not the case: usually spyware is the culprit. This may not be realised by your site users who may believe that you have irresponsibly swamped them with ad windows. You sent me a virus! The way that email worms work (technically different) is that they read your address book and then send emails out to recipients using the people listed: they do not actually appear to be originating from the actual person who is infected. Therefore, if an infected individual's email address book lists you the email can appear to be originating from your website. Alternatively, viruses attach themselves to emails and activate when executed (usually double clicked on to install/open the file). Viruses most often will appear to be originating from their actual source. Educate staff about viruses and use an anti-virus gateway to prevent them from getting through with email. If you are too small to operate your own email server, you can use your virus checking software to scan attachments before opening them. You sent me spam! Often spammers use tactics to disguise the name of the site that they are actually sending from and make it appear that your site is the culprit. Alternatively, spammers may actually be exploiting your webserver. Investigate to ensure that the latter is not the case and address potential security exploits.

Questionnaire : Adops - May 2011

Questions What is a ROI?

Correct Answer Return on Investment

Your Answer Return on Investment All of the answers

Score 1 1

If 3rd Party Ad serving solution was not in All of the answers place Unique visitor is? MPU is What is Ad Network Cookie A unique visitor is someone with a unique address who is entering a Web site multiple times a day Middle Page Unit Both the answers Cookie is used to track both impression and clicks

All of the answers Middle Page Unit Both the answers All of the answers

0 1 1 0

What happens if we add click tracking code Counts clicks for every to the image source impression. part of a third party tag? Conversion Pixel is placed All of the answers

Counts impressions whenever someone clicks on the a ad

All of the answers FALSE

1 0

Ad networks are same TRUE as an ad Agency? How ads stored in 3rd party adserving system are shown on the website Re-Targeting Pixels are placed Ad Server generates tags for various publishers Ad Servers that, will return the appropriate creative On all pages between the destination & confirmation/Thank You Page ( including both of them)

Ad Server generates tags for various publishers and when the 0 Ad Servers it will return the appropriate creative On all pages between the destination & confirmation/Thank You Page ( including both of them) No All of the answers 1

Are ad networks same No as remnant providers? Main reason for discrepancy in the reporting Define Inventory? 3rd Party Ad serving helps to achieve All of the answers

1 1

Inventory is the total number of Inventory is the total number of ad views that a Web site has to ad views that a Web site has to sell over a given period of time sell over a given period of time All of the answers All of the answers

1 1