Sie sind auf Seite 1von 42

EAST\49954667.

1
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE
LULULEMON ATHLETICA CANADA INC.,
PLAINTIFF,
v.
CALVIN KLEIN, INC. AND G-III APPAREL
GROUP, LTD.,
DEFENDANTS.
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
Case No.
JURY TRIAL DEMANDED
COMPLAINT FOR PATENT INFRINGEMENT
Plaintiff lululemon athletica canada inc. (lululemon), by and through their attorneys,
bring this Complaint against defendants Calvin Klein, Inc. (Calvin Klein) and G-III Apparel
Group, Ltd. (G-III) (Calvin Klein and G-III collectively, Defendants), and allege as follows:
NATURE OF THE ACTION
1. This is an action brought pursuant to the Patent Laws of the United States, 35
U.S.C. 271, et. seq.
PARTIES
2. Plaintiff lululemon is a corporation organized under the laws of the Province of
British Columbia, with its principal place of business at 400 1818 Cornwall Ave, Vancouver,
British Columbia V6J 1C7. lululemon is a subsidiary of lululemon athletica inc., a corporation
organized and existing under the laws of the State of Delaware.
3. Upon information and belief, Defendant Calvin Klein is a corporation organized
and existing under the laws of New York with a principal place of business at 205 West 39th
Street, New York, New York 10018.
4. Upon information and belief, Defendant G-III is a corporation organized and
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 1 of 9 PageID #: 1
EAST\49954667.1
existing under the laws of the State of Delaware, with a principal place of business located at 512
Seventh Avenue, New York, New York 10018.
JURISDICTION AND VENUE
5. This Court has subject matter jurisdiction over this action pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
1331 and 1338(a).
6. The Court has personal jurisdiction over G-III because G-III is a corporation
incorporated in the State of Delaware.
7. Upon information and belief, the Court has personal jurisdiction over Defendants
because specific acts of infringement occurred within this judicial district.
8. Upon information and belief, Defendants are doing business in this judicial
district and the Court has personal jurisdiction for this additional reason.
9. Venue is proper in this judicial district pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1391 and 1400.
GENERAL ALLEGATIONS
10. lululemon was founded in 1998 as a small store that shared retail space with a
yoga studio. As a pioneer and innovator of yoga and exercise pants, lululemon successfully
grew from its humble beginnings into a large corporation with stores all over the world. As of
January 29, 2012, lululemon has 47 stores in Canada, 108 stores in the United States, 18 stores in
Australia and one in New Zealand.
11. lululemon stores also have strong ties to local communities by, for example,
hosting events including complimentary yoga classes. lululemons strong ties to its
communities, quality products, and proprietary designs set it apart from other retailers.
12. On September 27, 2011, the United States Patent and Trademark Office
(USPTO) duly and legally issued U.S. Patent No. D645,644 (the 644 Patent), entitled
Pants. A true and correct copy of the 644 Patent is attached hereto as Exhibit A. lululemon is
the owner of the entire right, title, and interest in and to the 644 Patent. lululemon owned the
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 2 of 9 PageID #: 2
EAST\49954667.1
644 Patent throughout the period of the Defendants infringing acts and still owns the patent.
13. On June 19, 2012, the USPTO duly and legally issued U.S. Patent No. D661,872
(the 872 Patent), entitled Pants. A true and correct copy of the 872 Patent is attached
hereto as Exhibit B. lululemon is the owner of the entire right, title, and interest in and to the
872 Patent. lululemon owned the 872 Patent throughout the period of the Defendants
infringing acts and still owns the patent.
14. On June 26, 2012, the USPTO duly and legally issued U.S. Patent No. D662,281
(the 281 Patent), entitled Pants. A true and correct copy of the 281 Patent is attached
hereto as Exhibit C. lululemon is the owner of the entire right, title, and interest in and to the
281 Patent. lululemon owned the 281 Patent throughout the period of the Defendants
infringing acts and still owns the patent.
15. Certain Calvin Klein bottoms marketed under the Performance brand infringe
the 644 Patent, the 872 Patent, and the 281 Patent (collectively, the Patents-in-Suit). These
bottoms include, but are not limited to, Style No. 11516241, "performance knee length running
tights," and Style No. 11516196, performance compression overlapping waistband pants (the
Accused Products).
16. In a letter dated July 5, 2012, counsel for lululemon provided written notice to
Calvin Klein of its infringement of the Patents-in-Suit. lululemon specifically identified Calvin
Klein Style PF2P6241 (or 11516241), marked as performance knee length running tights as
infringing the Patents-in-Suit.
17. Upon information and belief, Calvin Klein became aware of the July 5, 2012
infringement allegations and the Patents-in-Suit on or about July 5, 2012.
18. Calvin Klein offers the Accused Products for sale at the following websites:
http://www.calvinklein.com/product/index.jsp?productId=12602975 and
http://www.calvinklein.com/product/index.jsp?productId=12582241.
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 3 of 9 PageID #: 3
EAST\49954667.1
19. In a letter dated July 31, 2012, counsel for G-III responded to the July 5, 2012
letter on behalf of the Defendants. G-IIIs response did not resolve the dispute.
20. Upon information and belief, G-III became aware of the July 5, 2012
infringement allegations and the Patents-in-Suit before July 31, 2012.
21. Upon information and belief, G-III manufactures and supplies the Accused
Products to Calvin Klein.
22. Upon information and belief, G-III neither manufactures nor supplies the
Accused Products to any party other than Calvin Klein.
23. Calvin Klein offers for sale and sells the Accused Products to customers.
24. Calvin Klein indirectly infringes the Patents-in-Suit because its customers use the
Accused Products.
25. Upon information and belief, G-III offers to sell and sells the Accused Products to
Calvin Klein with the specific intent to induce infringement of the Patents-in-Suit.
26. Upon information and belief, Calvin Klein offers to sell and sells the Accused
Products to customers with the specific intent to induce infringement of the Patents-in-Suit.
27. Upon information and belief, the Defendants had knowledge that the Accused
Products is especially made or especially adapted for use in an infringement of the Patents-in-
Suit and is not a staple article or commodity of commerce suitable for substantial non-infringing
use.
28. lululemon sells products in the United States that embody the Patents-in-Suit,
including under the brand name Astro Pant.
29. The Defendants have infringed and are still infringing, directly and indirectly, the
Patents-in-Suit by making, using, offering to sell, selling and/or importing pant products that
embody the Patents-in-Suit including, but not limited to, the Accused Products.
30. The Defendants continue to sell the Accused Products despite an objectively high
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 4 of 9 PageID #: 4
EAST\49954667.1
likelihood that their actions constitute infringement of the Patents-in-Suit. The Defendants knew
or should have known that their actions constituted direct and indirect infringement of the
Patents-in-Suit.
31. The Defendants will continue to infringe the Patents-in-Suit unless enjoined by
this Court.
COUNT I
(Infringement Of The 644 Patent)
32. lululemon repeats and incorporates by reference the previous paragraphs of this
Complaint as if set forth in full herein.
33. The Accused Products infringes the '644 Patent because it includes substantially
the same design elements as claimed and shown in at least Figures 5-8 of the '644 Patent. The
Accused Products includes substantially the same waistband design elements and pant style as
shown and claimed in the 644 Patent.
34. The Defendants have directly and indirectly infringed and are still directly and
indirectly infringing the 644 Patent by making, using, offering to sell, selling and/or importing
pant products that embody the 644 Patent including, but not limited to, the Accused Products.
The Defendants will continue to infringe the 644 Patent unless enjoined by this Court.
35. Defendants infringement has irreparably injured lululemon and will continue to
injure lululemon unless and until the Court enters an injunction prohibiting further infringement,
and specifically enjoins further manufacture, use, offers for sale, sale and importation of
Defendants products that fall within the scope of the 644 Patent.
36. Defendants infringement of the `644 Patent has been and continues to be willful
and deliberate.
37. The Defendants had actual notice of the 644 patent and, despite that notice, the
Defendants have persisted in infringing the 644 patent. The Defendants have acted despite an
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 5 of 9 PageID #: 5
EAST\49954667.1
objectively high likelihood that their actions constitute infringement of the 644 patent, and knew
or should have known of the risk associated with their deliberate actions.
38. The Defendants infringement has injured lululemon, and lululemon is entitled to
recover damages adequate to compensate for such infringement, including, but not limited to,
lost profits, a reasonable royalty award, disgorgement of the profits received by Defendants,
treble damages, costs, pre and post judgment interest at the maximum allowable rate, attorneys
fees, and such other and further relief this Court deems just and proper.
COUNT II
(Infringement Of The 872 Patent)
39. lululemon repeats and incorporates by reference the previous paragraphs of this
Complaint as if set forth in full herein.
40. The Accused Products infringes the '872 Patent because it includes substantially
the same design elements as claimed and shown in the Figures of the '872 Patent. The Accused
Products includes substantially the same waistband design elements as shown and claimed in the
872 Patent.
41. The Defendants have directly and indirectly infringed and are still directly and
indirectly infringing the 872 Patent by making, using, offering to sell, selling and/or importing
pant products that embody the 872 Patent including, but not limited to, the Accused Products.
The Defendants will continue to infringe the 872 Patent unless enjoined by this Court.
42. Defendants infringement has irreparably injured lululemon and will continue to
injure lululemon unless and until the Court enters an injunction prohibiting further infringement,
and specifically enjoins further manufacture, use, offers for sale, sale and importation of
Defendants products that fall within the scope of the 872 Patent.
43. Defendants infringement of the `872 Patent has been and continues to be willful
and deliberate.
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 6 of 9 PageID #: 6
EAST\49954667.1
44. The Defendants had actual notice of the 872 patent and, despite that notice, the
Defendants have persisted in infringing the 872 patent. The Defendants have acted despite an
objectively high likelihood that their actions constitute infringement of the 872 patent, and knew
or should have known of the risk associated with their deliberate actions.
45. The Defendants infringement has injured lululemon, and lululemon is entitled to
recover damages adequate to compensate for such infringement, including, but not limited to,
lost profits, a reasonable royalty award, disgorgement of the profits received by Defendants,
treble damages, costs, pre and post judgment interest at the maximum allowable rate, attorneys
fees, and such other and further relief this Court deems just and proper.
COUNT III
(Infringement Of The 281 Patent)
46. lululemon repeats and incorporates by reference the previous paragraphs of this
Complaint as if set forth in full herein.
47. The Accused Products infringes the '281 Patent because it includes substantially
the same design elements as claimed and shown in at least Figures 6-10 of the '281 Patent. The
Accused Products includes substantially the same waistband design elements and pant style as
shown and claimed in the 281 Patent.
48. The Defendants have directly and indirectly infringed and are still directly and
indirectly infringing the 281 Patent by making, using, offering to sell, selling and/or importing
pant products that embody the 281 Patent including, but not limited to, the Accused Products.
The Defendants will continue to infringe the 281 Patent unless enjoined by this Court.
49. Defendants infringement has irreparably injured lululemon and will continue to
injure lululemon unless and until the Court enters an injunction prohibiting further infringement,
and specifically enjoins further manufacture, use, offers for sale, sale and importation of
Defendants products that fall within the scope of the 281 Patent.
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 7 of 9 PageID #: 7
EAST\49954667.1
50. Defendants infringement of the `281 Patent has been and continues to be willful
and deliberate.
51. The Defendants had actual notice of the 281 patent and, despite that notice, the
Defendants have persisted in infringing the 281 patent. The Defendants have acted despite an
objectively high likelihood that their actions constitute infringement of the 281 patent, and knew
or should have known of the risk associated with their deliberate actions.
52. The Defendants infringement has injured lululemon, and lululemon is entitled to
recover damages adequate to compensate for such infringement, including, but not limited to,
lost profits, a reasonable royalty award, disgorgement of the profits received by Defendants,
treble damages, costs, pre and post judgment interest at the maximum allowable rate, attorneys
fees, and such other and further relief this Court deems just and proper.
PRAYER FOR RELIEF
WHEREFORE, plaintiffs respectfully request the Court for the following relief:
A. A judgment that the Defendants have infringed the 644 Patent;
B. A judgment that the Defendants have infringed the 872 Patent;
C. A judgment that the Defendants have infringed the 281 Patent;
D. A permanent injunction prohibiting Defendants, their predecessors, successors,
parents, subsidiaries, and affiliates thereof, including, but not limited to, all past
or present directors, officers, agents, servants, employees, attorneys,
representatives, and those persons in active concert or participation with them who
receive actual notice of the Order, from committing further acts of infringement;
E. An award of damages to lululemon, including via 35 U.S.C. 289 and an
increase in damages under 28 U.S.C. 284, together with prejudgment interest
from the date the infringement began and post-judgment interest;
F. Declaring that the Defendants have willfully infringed one or more claims of the
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 8 of 9 PageID #: 8
EAST\49954667.1
Patents-in-Suit;
G. A finding that this case is exceptional within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 285,
and an award to lululemon of their reasonable attorney fees and expenses;
H. An award of costs to lululemon; and
I. Such other and further relief as this Court deems proper and just.
JURY DEMAND
Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 38(b), plaintiffs hereby demand a trial by a jury on all issues
so triable.
Dated: August 13, 2012 DLA Piper LLP (US)
/s/ Denise S. Kraft
Denise S. Kraft (I.D. No. 2778)
Aleine Porterfield (I.D. No. 5053)
919 N. Market Street, Suite 1500
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 302-468-5645
Facsimile: 302-778-7917
denise.kraft@dlapiper.com
aleine.porterfield@dlapiper.com
Attorneys for Plaintiff lululemon athletica
canada Inc.
OF COUNSEL:
Paul A. Taufer
Michael L. Burns
DLA Piper LLP (US)
One Liberty Place
1650 Market Street, Suite 4900
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone: (215) 656-3385
Fax: (215) 606-3385
paul.taufer@dlapiper.com
michael.burns@dlapiper.com
Attorneys for Plaintiff lululemon athletica canada inc.
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 9 of 9 PageID #: 9






Exhibit A
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 1 of 10 PageID #: 10
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 2 of 10 PageID #: 11
I IIIII 1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111 11111111111
USOOD645644S
c12) United States Design Patent (10) Patent No.: US D645,644 S
** Sep. 27, 2011
Iamartino
(54) PANTS
(75) Inventor: Antonia Iamartino, Vancouver (CA)
(73) Assignee: Lululemon Athletica Canada Inc.,
Vancouver (CA)
(**) Term: 14 Years
(21) Appl. No.: 29/359,858
(22) Filed: Apr. 16, 2010
(51) LOC (9) Cl. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 02-02
(52) U.S. Cl. ........................................................ D2/742
(58) Field of Classification Search ................... D2/712,
D2/731, 742, 728; 2/227, 228, 79, 235-238
See application file for complete search history.
(56) References Cited
U.S. PATENT DOCUMENTS
1,825,271 A *
2,417,529 A *
4,466,137 A *
D461,943 S *
D486,954 S *
D580,126 S *
D600,883 S *
D606,284 S *
D609,881 S *
D612,129 S *
D612,581 S *
2009/0293167 A1 *
9/1931 Karberg ............................ 2/237
3/1947 Terry ................................ 2/227
8/1984 Carnaghi .......................... 2/237
8/2002 Lyden ............................ D2/742
2/2004 Mori .............................. D2/742
1112008 Rieder ........................... D2/742
9/2009 Blumenfeld ................... D2/742
12/2009 Caten eta!. .................... D2/742
2/2010 Chenetal. ..................... D2/742
3/2010 Iarnartino eta!. .............. D2/742
3/2010 Ramirez ........................ D2/742
12/2009 Kottler ................................ 2/23
OTHER PUBLICATIONS
Kosher Casual. http:/ /www.koshercasual.com/baggy-cropped-
67i5o5 igmqu2

.... .-4
__... v
"""'
(45) Date of Patent:
vehgdhu4gs1ar7. Date Unknown: Viewed Sep. 2010. Baggy
Cropped Pants for Yoga or Exercise# 31319.*
An American Girl (blog). http://anarnericangirlmovestovienna.
blogspot.com/20 1 0/08/i -just -ironed -my-yoga-pants.html. Aug.
2010. Yoga Pants.*
Yoga Pants, Etc. http://www.yogapantsetc.com/yocrlomipa.html.
Copyright 2008. "Low-Rise Micro fiber Capri Youth Yoga Pants".*
Old Navy. http:/ /oldnavy.gap.com/browse/. Date Unknown: Viewed
Sep. 2010. "Women's Plus Stretch-Jersey Yoga Pants".*
* cited by examiner
Primary Examiner- Ian Simmons
Assistant Examiner- Rashida Johnson
(74) Attorney, Agent, or Firm- Joseph Conneely;
McCarthy Tetrault LLP
(57) CLAIM
The ornamental design for pants, as shown and described.
DESCRIPTION
FIG.1 is a front view of pants according to a first embodiment
of the design;
FIG. 2 is a rear view thereof;
FIG. 3 is a left side view thereof;
FIG. 4 is a right side view thereof;
FIG. 5 is a front view of pants according to a second embodi-
ment of the design;
FIG. 6 is a rear view thereof;
FIG. 7 is a left side view thereof; and,
FIG. 8 is a right side view thereof.
The symbol depicted in FIGS. 2-3 forming part of the claimed
design is a registered trademark of Lululemon Athletica
Canada Inc.
1 Claim, 8 Drawing Sheets
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 3 of 10 PageID #: 12
U.S. Patent Sep.27,2011 Sheet 1 of8
US D645,644 S
FIG.1
K ~
lira.....
-
/
~
........
~
.........
....,.,
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 4 of 10 PageID #: 13
U.S. Patent
Sep.27,2011
Sheet 2 of8
US D645,644 S
FIG.2
-------
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 5 of 10 PageID #: 14
U.S. Patent
Sep.27,2011
Sheet 3 of8
US D645,644 S
FIG.3
,----
---==\
\'!)
-......
"""""""'
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 6 of 10 PageID #: 15
U.S. Patent Sep.27,2011 Sheet 4 of8 US D645,644 S
FIG.4
I
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 7 of 10 PageID #: 16
U.S. Patent Sep.27,2011 Sheet 5 of8
US D645,644 S
FIG.S
f ' : : ~
.._
.......
v
~
.......
~
........
~
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 8 of 10 PageID #: 17
U.S. Patent
Sep.27,2011
Sheet 6 of8
US D645,644 S
FIG.6
r---
__,
~
...
c
p_
-
~
~
......
- - - - ~
..._
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 9 of 10 PageID #: 18
U.S. Patent
Sep.27,2011
Sheet 7 of8
US D645,644 S
FIG. 7
---\
~ .....,
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-1 Filed 08/13/12 Page 10 of 10 PageID #: 19
U.S. Patent Sep.27,2011 Sheet 8 of8 US D645,644 S
FIG.B






Exhibit B
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-2 Filed 08/13/12 Page 1 of 6 PageID #: 20
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-2 Filed 08/13/12 Page 2 of 6 PageID #: 21
111111 1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
USOOD661872S
c12) United States Design Patent (10) Patent No.: US D661,872 S
** Jun.19,2012
(54)
(75)
(73)
(**)
(21)
(22)
(63)
(51)
(52)
(58)
(56)
Iamartino
PANTS
Inventor: Antonia Iamartino, Vancouver (CA)
Assignee: Lululemon Athletica Canada Inc.,
Vancouver (CA)
Term: 14 Years
Appl. No.: 29/402,465
Filed: Sep. 23, 2011
Related U.S. Application Data
Continuation of application No. 29/359,858, filed on
Apr. 16, 2010, now Pat. No. Des. 645,644.
LOC (9) Cl. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 02-02
U.S. Cl. ........................................................ D2/742
Field of Classification Search ................... D2/712,
D2/731, 732, 737, 738, 742, 627; 2/79, 227,
2/228, 236-238
See application file for complete search history.
References Cited
U.S. PATENT DOCUMENTS
1,825,271 A 9/1931
D132,058 S
*
4/1942
2,417,529 A 3/1947
RE23,334 E
*
111951
3,073,312 A
*
111963
3,396,730 A
*
8/1968
D252,656 s
*
8/1979
4,466,137 A 8/1984
5,143,092 A
*
9/1992
D461,943 s 8/2002
6,430,752 B1 * 8/2002
D486,954 S 2/2004
D552,328 S
*
10/2007
D580,126 S 1112008
Karberg
Sarge ............................. D21712
Terry
Montmarquet ................. 602/70
Lob ben berg .................. 450/124
Fox ............................... 450/124
Bergh ............................ D2/703
Carnaghi
Flowers 128/875
Lyden
Bay ................................... 2/228
Mori
Smith eta!. .................... D2/742
Rieder

' ' '
' '
r 1 :
:
'
:
'
'
' I
I
I
!
!
I
'
!
I
I
'
'
'
:\ :
'' '
! \ :
' ', i
f : I
' '
: '
:
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
i
'
' I
'
:
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
' '
' '
' :
'
'
\
!
' '
'
' '
' '
: I
'
'
'
' I
t::.:::.:-:_::j
: :
i \
::::)
(45) Date of Patent:
D600,883 S
D606,284 S
D609,881 S
D612,129 S
D612,581 S
D642,768 S *
D645,644 S *
9/2009 Blumenfeld
12/2009 Caten eta!.
212010 Chen eta!.
3/2010 Iarnartino eta!.
3/2010 Ramirez
8/2011 Sawle eta!. .................... D2/704
9/2011 Iarnartino ...................... D2/742
2009/0293167 A1 12/2009 Kottler
OTHER PUBLICATIONS
Kosher Casual. http://www. koshercasual.com/baggy-cropped-
pants-yoga-exercise31319-p-152. 67i5o5
igmqu2vehgdhu4gs1ar7. Date Unknown: Viewed Sep. 2010.
An American Girl (blog). http://anarnericangirlmovestovienna.
blogspot.com/20 1 0/08/i -just -ironed -my-yoga-pants.html. Aug.
2010. Yoga Pants.
Yoga Pants, Etc. http://www.yogapantsetc.com/yocrlomipa.html.
Copyright 2008. "Low-Rise Micro fiber Capri Youth Yoga Pants".
Old Navy. http:/ /oldnavy.gap.com/browse/. Date Unknown: Viewed
Sep. 2010. "Women's Plus Stretch-Jersey Yoga Pants".
* cited by examiner
Primary Examiner- Rashida Johnson
(74) Attorney, Agent, or Firm- Joseph Conneely;
McCarthy Tetrault LLP
(57) CLAIM
The ornamental design for pants, as shown and described.
DESCRIPTION
FIG. 1 is a front view of pants according to the design;
FIG. 2 is a rear view thereof;
FIG. 3 is a left side view thereof; and,
FIG. 4 is a right side view thereof.
The broken line showing of the legs of the pants inFIGS.1-4
is for the purpose of illustrating portions of the environmental
structure and forms no part of the claimed design.
1 Claim, 4 Drawing Sheets
P::J
I , I
' ' ' 0 I I
: : l
I I
I '
h I
II I
l\ I
o I I
' I 0
' ' '
' I <
' ' ' : t t
' ' ' I 0 o
I I 0
Jl :
' I o
o I o
I o '
I < 0
' ' '
: : \
i :
\ :
' ' 0 0 I
' '
I '
I <
' '
' '
' '
' ' I <
'
'
'
'
'
I
:
I
I
I
I
i
0 I
t-..
1::: .. :_-_-:_:-_ ...... j
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-2 Filed 08/13/12 Page 3 of 6 PageID #: 22
U.S. Patent Jun.19,2012 Sheet 1 of 4 US D661,872 S
FIG.1
J
I
l
l
'
I
l
l
l
1\
I
l
I\
I
I
I ~
' l
'
I
I
'
I
'
,
\
I
I
I
t I
I I I
I
r
'
I
,
'
I

I
I
I
,
'
'
'
I
l
r
l
I
' '
l
r
r
'
'
,

,
I
I
I
I
l
l
I

'
t
r
l
l
l
,
I
I
I
r I
'
I
'
I
l
I
I
'
r
'
I
,
'
r
I
'
' '
'
' I
I
I
I
I
I I
,
I
I
l
I
I
r
I
J
I
'
I
f
l
I
I
I
I l
I
J
I
I
'
'
I
I
I
'
f
, l
'
I I
I I
'
I
I
'
'
,
I
I
I
l I
,
I

I
I
I
I I
I
I
I
I
I
I
'
,
J
I
'
I
I I
I
t
I
'
I
'
t I
'

I I
'
I
,
I
I
' I
'
I
\ , ... _ ..J
.......... __ ... J
........ - - ~ - - - ..... -- j. c.... ---- .......... -
- .. ... --- ___ ...,. .... -. .......... -
................... ______ ..,
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-2 Filed 08/13/12 Page 4 of 6 PageID #: 23
U.S. Patent Jun.19,2012 Sheet 2 of 4 US D661,872 S
FIG.2
~
~
I -
I
'
,
I
\
'
I
'
'
I
\
I
l
I
t
f
I
l
I
t'. '
I
'
I
I l
l
I
' l
I
I \
I l
'
l l
I
f
'
I
'
I l I
\
l
\
(
'
f
'
l
'
l
(
I
t
l l
r
I l
I
\ I
'
I
I
t
'
I
l
'
I ( \
r J
I
I
(
'
'
I
'
I l
l
'
I
'
'
,
J
'
l
I I
'
\
I
I
'
\
f
I
I
t
I
'
(
I
\
I
'
'
l
I
l
' '
'
t
I
l
\
l
'
I
'
(
I \
l
I I
\
I l
l
I
I \
l
I
I
l
I
\
I I
l
1
'
'
I
\
'
'
'
\
I
l
l
'
'
I \
l
l
l \
I
I
\ l
l
'
,
\
"'...... -- .,. .. ,
l __ ,
' ... .,...----,.....--.,..,.,.)
l--- --- ..... ,)
...... ..._ ___ ....
.................. _ ------
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-2 Filed 08/13/12 Page 5 of 6 PageID #: 24
U.S. Patent
Jun.19,2012
Sheet 3 of 4
FIG.3
E7B
I
I \
, \
( I I
I 1 I
f I I
I I I
I l I
I I I
f I I
I f l
l I I
l J I
1 I ((
I I f
\ I I
l J f
I { t
I I r
: J '
I I
1
I I I
l ( :
' l
I I
I
I C
1 I l
l I I
I I l
' ' ' t I I
l I
: I t
I
1
I
I I I
I I l
\ I c
I I r
' J (
t I I
I l I
\ l t
l I \
l l l
l I \
I t I
I I \
l I I
I l '
l ' I
1
l
I I t
( l '
l l
l l ~
r- --1- __ .... l
-.... ,.."' ..... ....._._,_,..,.--
US D661,872 S
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-2 Filed 08/13/12 Page 6 of 6 PageID #: 25
U.S. Patent Jun. 19,2012 Sheet 4 of 4 US D661,872 S
FIG.4
LE3
I 1 1
,
'
'
\
'
I
'
I
I
\
I
I
\
I I
\
l I
'
'
'
'
I f
I
'
I
I
I
l
I
\
t
'
'
l
I
l
l
J
l
I
(
l
I
I
'
'
l
I
l
'
I
t
'
I
I
'
I
\
I
I
'
'
I
'
'
r
'
l

I
l

I
I I I
'
I
I
I
I
I
l
'
I
I
' I
I
'
'
I
l
I
l
I
I
'
I
I
t
I
I
'
I
I
I
I
'
I
I
'
I
l
I
I
t
l
I
I
'
I
I
'
I
I
l
'
I
I
I I
I
l
I
l
I
I
I
'
'
I
I
I I
I
t
I
r
I
I I
I
'
I
I
I
r
'
'
t, ' .. ..I ..:- ... _, __ .J
....... _- ..L .,.....,..,






Exhibit C

Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 1 of 13 PageID #: 26
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 2 of 13 PageID #: 27
111111 1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
USOOD662281S
c12) United States Design Patent (10) Patent No.: US D662,281 S
** Jun.26,2012
(54)
(75)
(73)
(**)
(21)
(22)
(63)
(51)
(52)
(58)
(56)
Iamartino
PANTS
Inventor: Antonia Iamartino, Vancouver (CA)
Assignee: Lululemon Athletica Canada Inc.,
Vancouver (CA)
Term: 14 Years
Appl. No.: 29/412,581
Filed: Feb. 6, 2012
Related U.S. Application Data
Continuation-in-part of application No. 29/402,465,
filed on Sep. 23, 2011, which is a continuation of
application No. 29/359,858, filed on Apr. 16, 2010,
now Pat. No. Des. 645,644.
LOC (9) Cl. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 02-02
U.S. Cl. ........................................................ D2/742
Field of Classification Search ................... D2/712,
D2/731, 738, 742; 2/406, 227, 228, 234-238,
2/242
See application file for complete search history.
References Cited
U.S. PATENT DOCUMENTS
1,825,271 A
D132,058 S *
2,417,529 A
RE23,334 E
3,073,312 A
3,396,730 A
D252,656 s
4,466,137 A
5,143,092 A
D461,943 S
6,430,752 B1 *
D473,694 S *
D486,954 S
D552,328 S
D571,530 S *
D580,126 S
D600,883 S
D606,284 S
D609,881 S
9/1931 Karberg
4/1942 Barge ............................. D2/712
3/1947 Terry
111951 Montmarquet
111963 Lobbenberg
8/1968 Fox
8/1979 Bergh
8/ 19 84 Carnaghi
9/1992 Flowers
8/2002 Lyden
8/2002 Bay ................................... 2/228
4/2003 Lyden ............................ D2/742
2/2004 Mori
10/2007 Smith eta!.
6/2008 De Palma ...................... D2/712
1112008 Rieder
9/2009 Blumenfeld
12/2009 Caten eta!.
2/2010 Chen eta!.
(45) Date of Patent:
D612,129 S
D612,581 S
D641,127 S *
D641,135 S *
D641,539 S *
D642,768 S
D645,644 S *
D654,661 S *
2009/0293167 A1 *
2012/0036615 A1 *
3/2010 Iarnartino eta!.
3/2010 Ramirez
7/2011 Zarabi ............................ D2/701
7/2011 Zarabi ............................ D2/712
7/2011 Zarabi ............................ D2/701
8/2011 Sawle eta!.
9/2011 Iarnartino ...................... D2/742
212012 Savage ........................... D2/742
12/2009 Kottler ................................ 2/23
212012 Bradstreet eta!. ................ 2/236
OTHER PUBLICATIONS
U.S. Appl. No. 29/402,465, Iarnartino.
Kosher Casual. http://www. koshercasual.com/baggy-cropped-
67i5o5
igmqu2vehgdhu4gs1ar7. Date Unknown: Viewed Sep. 2010.
An American Girl (blog). http://anarnericangirlmovestovienna.
blogspotcom/20 1 0/08/i -just -ironed -my-yoga-pants.html. Aug.
2010, Yoga Pants.
(Continued)
Primary Examiner- Rashida Johnson
(74) Attorney, Agent, or Firm- Joseph Conneely;
McCarthy Tetrault LLP
(57) CLAIM
The ornamental design for pants, as shown and described.
DESCRIPTION
FIG.1 is a front view of pants according to a first embodiment
of the design;
FIG. 2 is a rear view thereof;
FIG. 3 is a right side view thereof;
FIG. 4 is a left side view thereof;
FIG. 5 is a front perspective view thereof;
FIG. 6 is a front view of pants according to a second embodi-
ment of the design;
FIG. 7 is a rear view thereof;
FIG. 8 is a right side view thereof;
FIG. 9 is a left side view thereof; and,
FIG. 10 is a front perspective view thereof.
The symbol depicted in FIGS. 2 and 3 forming part of the
claimed design is a registered trademark of Lululemon Ath-
letica Canada Inc.
1 Claim, 10 Drawing Sheets
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 3 of 13 PageID #: 28
US D662,281 S
Page 2
OTHER PUBLICATIONS
Yoga Pants, Etc. http://www.yogapantsetc.com/yocrlomipa.html.
Copyright 2008. "Low-Rise Micro fiber Capri Youth Yoga Pants".
Old Navy. http:/ /oldnavy.gap.com/browse/. Date Unknown: Viewed
Sep. 2010. "Women's Plus Stretch-Jersey Yoga Pants".
* cited by examiner
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 4 of 13 PageID #: 29
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 1 of 10 US D662,281 S
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 5 of 13 PageID #: 30
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 2 of 10 US D662,281 S
r-
""'
-
/
~
""'
e
Ll
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 6 of 13 PageID #: 31
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 3 of 10 US D662,281 S
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 7 of 13 PageID #: 32
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 4 of 10 US D662,281 S
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 8 of 13 PageID #: 33
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 5 of 10
(
J
)
US D662,281 S
Lf'l
dr
u::
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 9 of 13 PageID #: 34
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 6 of 10 US D662,281 S
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 10 of 13 PageID #: 35
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 7 of 10 US D662,281 S
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 11 of 13 PageID #: 36
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 8 of 10 US D662,281 S
00
c,
u::
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 12 of 13 PageID #: 37
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 9 of 10 US D662,281 S
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-3 Filed 08/13/12 Page 13 of 13 PageID #: 38
U.S. Patent Jun.26,2012 Sheet 10 of 10
(
J
)
US D662,281 S
0
....
Exhibit D
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-4 Filed 08/13/12 Page 1 of 2 PageID #: 39
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-4 Filed 08/13/12 Page 2 of 2 PageID #: 40
AO 120 {Rev. 08/1 0)
TO:
Mail Stop 8
Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
P.O. Box 1450
REPORT ON THE
FILING OR DETERMINATION OF AN
ACTION REGARDING A PATENT OR
TRADEMARK
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
In Compliance with 35 U.S.C. 290 and/or 15 U.S.C. 1116 you are hereby advised that a court action has been
filed in the U.S. District Court District of Delaware on the following
0 Trademarks or 1M' Patents. ( 0 the patent action involves 35 U.S.C. 292.):
DOCKET NO. DATE FILED U.S. DISTRICT COURT
District of Delaware
PLAIN'nFF DEFENDANT
LULULEMON ATHLETICA CANADA INC. CALVIN KLEIN, INC. and G-Ill APPAREL GROUP, LTD.
PATENT OR DATE OF PATENT
HOLDER OF PATENT OR TRADEMARK
TRADEMARK NO. OR TRADEMARK
I us D645,644 s 9/27/2011 Lululemon Athletica Canada Inc.
2 us D661,872 s 6/19/2012 Lululemon Athletica Canada Inc.
3 us D662,281 s 6/26/2012 Lululemon Athletica Canada Inc.
4
5
In the above-entitled case, the following patent(s)/ trademark(s) have been included:
DATE INCLUDED INCLUDED BY
0 Amendment 0 Answer 0 Cross Bill 0 Other Pleading
PATENT OR DATE OF PATENT
HOLDER OF PATENT OR TRADEMARK
TRADEMARK NO. OR TRADEMARK
I
2
3
4
5
In the above-entitled case, the following decision bas been rendered or judgement issued:
DECISION/JUDGEMENT
I (BY) DEPUTY CLERK
Copy 1-lJpon initiation of action, mail this copy to Director Copy 3-Upon termination of action, mail this copy to Director
Copy 2-Upon filing document adding patent(s), mail this copy to Director Copy 4-Case file copy
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-5 Filed 08/13/12 Page 1 of 2 PageID #: 41
44 {Rev. 12/07)
CIVIL COVER SHEET
The JS 44 civil cover sheet and the information contained herein neither replace nor supplement the filing and service of pleadings or other papers as required by Jaw, except as provided
by local rules of court. This form, approved by the Judicial Conference of the United States in September 1974, is reqmred for fhe use of the Clerk of Court for the purpose of mitiating
the civil docket sheet. {SEE INSTRUCTIONS ON n tE REVERSE OF THE FOR."!.)
I . (a) PLAINTIFFS
LULU LEMON ATHLETICA CANADA INC.
(b) County of Residence of First Listed Plainti ff
(EXCEPT IN U.S. PLAINTIFF CASC.S)
(c) (Firm Name, Address and Telephone Numbe!)
Denise S. Kratt, Esq., Aleine M. Porterfield, Esq., Brian A. Biggs, Esq.
DLA Piper LLP (US)
9 tr t it 1
DEFEN DA NTS
CALVIN KLEIN, INC. and G-Il l APPAREL GROUP, LTD
County of Residence of First Listed Defendant
{IN U.S. PLAINTIFF CASES ONLY)
NOTE: IN LAND CONDEMNATION CASES, USE Tl IE LOCATION OF THE
LAND INVOL YED.
Attorneys {If Known)
II. BASIS O F J UR I SDICfiON (Place an "X" in One Box Only) III. C ITIZE NSHIP O F PRINCIPAL PART I EScPrace an "X" in one Box for Plaintiff
0 1 U.S. Government
Plainti ff
0 2 U.S. Government
Defendant
l!l 3 federal Question
(U.S. Government Not a J>arty)
0 4 Diversity
{Indicate Citi:tenship of Parties in Item Ill)
IV NA T U RE 0 s F UJT (Place an Box Oolvl
01\TRACT T RTS
0 110 Insurance PERSONAL INJ URY PERSONAL INJlJRY
0 120Marine 0 310 Airplane 0 362 Personal Injury
0 130 Miller Act 0 315 Airplane Product Med. Malpractice
0 140 Negotiable Instrument Liabil ity 0 365 Personal Injury -
0 I 50 Recovcty of Overpayment 0 320 Assault, Libel & Product Liability
& Enforcement of Judgment Slander 0 368 Asbestos Personal
0 I 5 I Medicare Act 0 330 Federal Employers' Injury Product
0 I 52 Recovery of Defaulted Liability Liability
Student Loans 0 340 Marine PERSONAL PROPERTY
(Excl. Veterans) 0 345 Marine Product 0 3 70 Other fraud
0 153 Recovery of Overpayment Liability 0 371 Truth in Lending
of Veteran's Benefits 0 350 Motor Vehicle 0 380 Other Personal
0 160 Stockholders' Suits 0 355 Motor Vehicle Property Damage
0 190 Other Contract Product Liability 0 385 Property Damage
0 195 Contract Product Liability 0 360 Other Personal Product Liability
0 196 franchise Injury
REAL PROPf:RTY CIVIL RIGHTS I'RISOI\ER PETITIONS
0 210 Land Condemnation 0 441 Voting 0 5 I 0 Motions to Vacate
0 220 Foreclosure 0 442 Employment Sentence
0 230 Rent Lease & Ejeconent 0 443 Housing/ Uabeas Corpus:
0 240 Tons to Land Accommodations 0 530Generl
0 245 Tort Product Liability 0 444 Welfare 0 535 Death Penalty
0 290 All Other Real Property 0 445 A mer. w/Disubilities- a 540 Mandamus & Other
Employment 0 550 Civil Rights
0 446 A mer. w/Disabilities - 0 555 Prison Condition
Other
0 440 Other Civil Rights
{For Diversity Cases Only) and One Box for Defendant)
Citizen of This State
Citizen of Another State
Citizen or Subject of a
Forei n Counuv
FORFEIT 'RfJPENALTY
0 610 Agriculture
0 620 Other Food & Drug
0 625 Drug Related Seizure
of Property 21 USC 88 I
0 630 Liquor Laws
0 640 R.R. & Truck
0 650 Airline Regs.
0 660 Occupational
Safety/Health
0 6900ther
l,ABOR
0 710 Fair Labor Standards
Act
0 720 l..abor/Mgmt Relations
0 730 Labor/Mgmt.Reportiog
& Disclosure Act
0 740 Railway Labor Act
0 790 Other Labor Litigation
0 791 Ret. Inc.
Security Act
IMMIGRATION
PTF OEF PTF Ot:F'
0 I 0 Incorporated or Principal Place 0 4 0 4
of Business In This State
0 2 0 2 Incorporated and Principal .Place 0 0
of Business In Another State
0 3 0 3 foreign Nation 0 6 0 6
IIANKR IJ'TCY OTHER l>,.,\1 TFS
0 422 Appeal28 USC 158 0 400 State Reapponionment
0 423 Withdrawal 0 41 0 Antitrust
28 usc 157 0 430 Banks and Banking
0 450 Commerce
I'KOI'EK' ' Y Kl(i rs 0 460 Deportation
0 820 Copyrights 0 470 Racketeer lnOuenccd and
l!ll 830 Patent Corrupt Organizations
0 840 Trademark 0 480 Consumer Credit
0 490 Cable/Sat TV
0 810 Selective Service
SO< lA St: lJRITY 0 850 Securities/Commodities/
:J 861 HIA (139511) Exchange
::J 862 Bbck Lung {923) 0 875 Customer Challeoge
:J 863 DIWCIDIWW {405(g)) 12 USC3410
::J 864 SSID Title XVI 0 890 Other StatutO<)' Actions
0 865 RSI (405(1!)) 0 891 Ag,iculrural Acts
'EOERAL TAX StilTS 0 892 Economic Stabilization Act
0 870 Taxes (U.S. Plaintiff 0 893 Environmental Matters
or Defendant) 0 894 C.nergy Allocation Act
0 871 IRS- Third Party 0 895 Freedom of Information
26 lJSC 7609 Act
0 900Appeal offce Dctennination
J:J 462 Naturalizat ion Application Under Equal Access
0 463 Habeas Corpus - to Justice
Alien Detainee 0 950 Constitutionality of
0 465 Other Immigration State Statutes
Actions
V. ORIGIN
ot I Original
Proceeding
{Place an "X" in One Box Only)
0 2 Removed from 0 3 Remanded from
Appellate Court
0 4 Reinstated or 0 5 0 6 Multidistrict
Reopened dtstnct Litigation
s ectfv
0 7
Appeal to District
Judge from
Magistrate
State Court
Jud ment
Cite the U.S. Civil Statute under which you arc filing (Do not cite jurisdictional statutes unless diversity):
VI. C AUSE OF ACTIO N Brief description of cause:
Vll. REQUESTED IN
C OMPLAINT:
VIII. R ELATED CASE(S)
IF ANY
CHECK IF THIS IS A CLASS ACTION
UNDER F.R.C.P. 23
{See instructions):
JUDGE
RC.CEIPTU _____ AMOUNT _______ _ APPLYING lfP ______ _
CHECK YES only if demanded in complaint :
JURY DEMAND: slf Yes 0 No
DOCKET NUMBER
JUDGE
-----
MAG. JUDGE _ ________ _
Case 1:12-cv-01034-UNA Document 1-5 Filed 08/13/12 Page 2 of 2 PageID #: 42
JS 44 Reverse (Rev. 12107)
INSTRUCTIONS FOR ATTORNEYS COMPLETING CIVIL COVER SHEET FORM JS 44
Authority For Civil Cover Sheet
The JS 44 civil cover sheet and the information contained herein neither replaces nor supplements the filings and service of pleading or other papers as required
by law, except as provided by local rules of court. This form, approved by the Judicial Conference of the United States in September 1974, is required for the use
of the Clerk of Court for the purpose of initiating the civil docket sheet. Consequently, a civil cover sheet is submitted to the Clerk of Court for each civil complaint
filed. The attorney filing a case should complete the form as follows:
I. (a) Plaintiffs-Defendants. Enter names (l ast, ftrSt, middle initial) of plaintiff and defendant. If the plaintiff or defendant is a government agency, use only
the full name or standard abbreviations. If the plaintiff or defendant is an official within a government agency, identify first the agency and then the official, giving
both name and title.
(b) County of Residence. for each civil case filed, except U.S. plaintiff cases, enter the name of the county where the first listed plaintiff resides at the time
of filing. In U.S. plaintiff cases, enter the name of the county in which the first listed defendant resides at the time of filing. (NOTE: In land condemnation cases,
the county of residence of the "defendant" is the location of the tract efland involved.)
(c) Attorneys. Enter the firm name, address, telephone number, and attorney of record. If there are several attorneys, list them on an attachment, noting
in this section "(sec attachment)".
II. Jurisdiction. The basis of jurisdiction is set forth under Rule 8(a), F.R.C.P., which requires that jurisdictions be shown in pleadings. Place an "X" in one
of the boxes. Ifthere is more than one basis of jurisdiction, precedence is given in the order shown below.
United States plaintiff. (I) Jurisdiction based on 28 U.S.C. 1345 and 1348. Suits by agencies and officers of the United States are included here.
United States defendant. (2) When the plaintiff is suing the United States, its officers or agencies, place an "X" in this box.
Federal question. (3) This refers to suits under 28 U.S.C. 1331, where jurisdiction arises under the Constitution of the United States, an amendment to the
Constitution, an act of Congress or a treaty of the United States. In cases where the U.S. is a party, the U.S. plaintiff or defendant code takes precedence, and box
1 or 2 should be marked.
Diversity of citizenship. (4) This refers to suits under 28 U.S.C. 1332, where parties are citizens of different states. When Box 4 is checked, the citizenship of the
different parties must be checked. (See Section III below; federal question actions take precedence over diversity cases.)
III. Residence (citizenship) of Principal Parties. This section of the JS 44 is to be completed if diversity of citizenship was indicated above. Mark this section
for each principal party.
IV. Nature of Suit. Place an "X" in the appropriate box. If the nature of suit cannot be determined, be sure the cause of action, in Section VI below, is sufficient
to enable the deputy clerk or the statistical clerks in the Administrative Office to determine the nature of suit. If the cause fits more than one nature of suit, select
the most definitive.
V. Origin. Place an "X" in one of the seven boxes.
Original Proceedings. ( 1) Cases which originate in the United States district courts.
Removed from State Court. (2) Proceedings initiated in state courts may be removed to the district courts under Title 28 U.S.C., Section 1441. When the petition
for removal is granted, check this box.
Remanded from Appellate Court. (3) Check this box for cases remanded to the district court for further action. Use the date of remand as the filing date.
Reinstated or Reopened. (4) Check this box for cases reinstated or reopened in the district court. Use the reopening date as the filing date.
Transferred from Another District. (5) For cases transferred under Title 28 U.S.C. Section 1404(a). Do not use this for within district transfers or multidistrict
litigation transfers.
Multidistrict Litigation. (6) Check this box when a multidistrict case is transferred into the district under authority ofTitle 28 U.S.C. Section 1407. When this box
is checked, do not check (5) above.
Appeal to District Judge from Magistrate Judgment. (7) Check this box for an appeal from a magistrate j udge's decision.
VI. Cause of Action. Report the civi l statute directly related to the cause of action and give a brief description of the cause. Do not cite jurisdictional statutes
unless diversity. Exaqlple: U.S. Civil Statute: 47 USC 553
Brief Description: Onauthonzed reception of cable service
Vll. Requested in Complaint. Class Action. Place an "X" in this box if you are filing a class action under Rule 23, F.R.Cv.P.
Demand. In this space enter the dollar amount (in thousands of dollars) being demanded or indicate other demand such as a preliminary injunction.
Jury Demand. Check the appropriate box to indicate whether or not a jury is being demanded.
VID. Related Cases. This section of the JS 44 is used to reference related pending cases if any. If there are related pending cases, insert the docket numbers
and the corresponding judge names for such cases.
Date and Attorney Signature. Date and sign the civil cover sheet.