You are on page 1of 2

Q1. What is WCF? WCF stands for Windows Communication Foundation.

It is a Software development kit for developing services on Windows. WCF is introduced in .NET 3.0. in the System.ServiceModel namespace. WCF is based on basic concepts of Service oriented architecture (SOA) Q2. What is endpoint in WCF service? The endpoint is an Interface which defines how a client will communicate with the service. It consists of three main points: Address,Binding and Contract. Every service must have Address that defines where the service resides, Contract that defines what the service does and a Binding that defines how to communicate with the service. In WCF the relationship between Address, Contract and Binding is called Endpoint. Q3. Explain Address,Binding and contract for a WCF Service? Address:Address defines where the service resides. Binding:Binding defines how to communicate with the service. Contract:Contract defines what is done by the service.

Q4. Please explain different modes of security in WCF? Or Explain the difference between
Transport and Message Level Security.

a. Transport Level security

b. Message Level Security

For Tranport level security, we actually ensure the transport that is being used should be secured but in message level security, we actually secure the message. We encrypt the message before transporting it.

Q5. What is the difference between WCF and Web services? Web services can only be invoked by HTTP. While Service or a WCF component can be invoked by any protocol and any transport type. Second web services are not flexible. However, Services are flexible. If you make a new version of the service then you need to just expose a new end.
WCF is flexible because its services can be hosted in different types of applications.

Q6. What are the main components of WCF? The main components of WCF are 1. Service class 2. Hosting environment 3. End point Q7. Where we can host WCF services? Every WCF services must be hosted somewhere. There are three ways of hosting WCF services. They are

1. IIS 2. Self Hosting 3. WAS (Windows Activation Service)

Q8. What is binding and how many types of bindings are there in WCF?
A binding defines how an endpoint communicates to the world. A binding defines the transport (such as HTTP or TCP) and the encoding being used (such as text or binary). WCF supports nine types of bindings.( Basic binding, TCP binding, Peer network binding, IPC binding, Web Service (WS) binding, Federated WS binding, Duplex WS binding, MSMQ binding, MSMQ integration binding).

Q9. What are the types of contract available in WCF?

In WCF, all services expose contracts. The contract is a platform-neutral and standard way of describing what the service does. The main contracts are: a)Service Contract:Describes what operations the client can perform. b)Operation Contract : defines the method inside Interface of Service. c)Data Contract:Defines what data types are passed to and from the service d)Message Contract:Defines wheather a service can interact directly with messages

Q10. What is the proxy for WCF Service?

A proxy is a class by which a service client can Interact with the service. By the use of proxy in the client application we are able to call the different methods exposed by the service

Q11. How to test the WCF Service?

We can use the WCF Test client to test the WCF Service. Tool enables users to input test parameters, submit that input to the service, and view the response. We can use the following command at command line. wcfTestClient.exe URI1 URI2

Q12. What is IIS?

IIS Manager is a graphical interface for configuring your application pools or your Web, FTP, SMTP, or NNTP sites. With IIS Manager, you can configure IIS security, performance, and reliability features. You can add or delete sites; start, stop, and pause sites.