You are on page 1of 2

From: Bradfield, Gladys [mailto:Gladys.Bradfield@fultoncountyga.gov] Sent: Monday, November 04, 2013 03:06 PM To: Ferdinand, Arthur <Arthur.Ferdinand@fultoncountyga.

gov>; Eaves, Chairman John <John.Eaves@fultoncountyga.gov>; Darnell, Emma <Emma.Darnell@fultoncountyga.gov>; Edwards, Commissioner William <Commissioner.Edwards@fultoncountyga.gov>; Garner, Joan <Joan.Garner@fultoncountyga.gov>; Hausmann, Liz <Liz.Hausmann@fultoncountyga.gov>; Lowe, Tom <Tom.Lowe@fultoncountyga.gov>; Pitts, Robb <Robb.Pitts@fultoncountyga.gov>; Ferrell, Dwight <Dwight.Ferrell@fultoncountyga.gov>; Sharonda Hubbard; Alexander Gothard; Pat Langford; Lance Rhodes; Marcel L. Reed; Myron Cook; Jacqueline Slaughter-Gibbons; LaTonya Martin; cbyrd@atlantaga.gov <cbyrd@atlantaga.gov>; ccmitchell@atlantaga.gov <ccmitchell@atlantaga.gov>; kbottoms@atlantaga.gov <kbottoms@atlantaga.gov>; hlwillis@atlantaga.gov <hlwillis@atlantaga.gov>; mbond@atlantaga.gov <mbond@atlantaga.gov>; jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov <jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov>; cmartin@atlantaga.gov <cmartin@atlantaga.gov>; fmoore@atlantaga.gov <fmoore@atlantaga.gov>; yadrean@atlantaga.gov <yadrean@atlantaga.gov>; awan@atlantaga.gov <awan@atlantaga.gov>; hshook@atlantaga.gov <hshook@atlantaga.gov>; narchibong@atlantaga.gov <narchibong@atlantaga.gov>; cwinslow@atlantaga.gov <cwinslow@atlantaga.gov>; ilyoung@atlantaga.gov <ilyoung@atlantaga.gov>; khall@atlantaga.gov <khall@atlantaga.gov>; csmith@atlantaga.gov <csmith@atlantaga.gov>; aaronwatson@atlantaga.gov <aaronwatson@atlantaga.gov>; tmoore@collegeparkga.com <tmoore@collegeparkga.com>; gyoung@collegeparkga.com <gyoung@collegeparkga.com>; cphillips@collegeparkga.com <cphillips@collegeparkga.com>; claya1@mindspring.com <claya1@mindspring.com>; jcarn@collegeparkga.com <jcarn@collegeparkga.com>; twyatt@collegeparkga.com <twyatt@collegeparkga.com>; jlongino@collegeparkga.com <jlongino@collegeparkga.com>; Ware, David <David.Ware@fultoncountyga.gov>; Sams, William <Shannon.Sams@fultoncountyga.gov>; Harkins, Marvin <Marvin.Harkins@fultoncountyga.gov>; Buff, Matthew <Matthew.Buff@fultoncountyga.gov>; Noble, Terry <Terry.Noble@fultoncountyga.gov>; Floyd, Rodney <Rodney.Floyd@fultoncountyga.gov>; Bradfield, Gladys <Gladys.Bradfield@fultoncountyga.gov>

Subject: Status of Airport West CID Formation This email is sent on behalf of the Fulton County Tax Commissioner, Arthur E. Ferdinand: This office has always been willing to work efficiently with CID formation committees to assist them in perfecting documentation in the creation of CIDs throughout Fulton County. Presently there are seven CIDs in the County. Each of the existing CIDs met the statuary requirements requiring greater than 50% of owners whose values exceed 75% of the property value in the designated CID area to agree to the formation of the CID before being certified.

The Airport CID has not met the required threshold and the latest analysis show 46% of property owners representing 72% of property values have consented to the CID formation. My office began working with the Airport CID formation committee began working with my office in late 2012 in plenty of time to be completed for tax billing in July 2013. On June 5th, my offices analysis of the CID showed the formation committee received consents from 17% of property owners representing 44% of values within the proposed CID area. According to Section 6(b) of the Fulton County Community Improvement Districts Act 1987 Ga. Laws, page 5460, Section 6 (b). The [CID governing] board shall levy the above-provided taxes between January 1 and June 1 each calendar year and notify in writing the collecting governing body by June 15 each year so it may include the levy on its regular ad valorem tax bills. The deadline given to the CID formation committee to meet the 2013 tax billing schedule was June 19th 2013. On June 25th the Airport CID formation committee was told that the priority of the Tax Commissioners Office priority must shift to digest preparation and tax billing, which was already late, since the most recent document submission did not meet the statuary threshold. Today, November 4th, 2013, the latest Airport CID documentation is still deficient in meeting the required legal threshold as mentioned above showing only 46% of property owners representing 72% of property value within the proposed CID consenting to its formation. Whenever the Atlanta Airport CID meets the statuary greater than 50% of owners whose values exceed 75% of the property value in the designated CID area to agree to the formation of the CID, I will certify the CID to the Board of Commissioners. Meanwhile, our office will continue to assist the formation committee so the CID can become certifiable. Arthur E. Ferdinand, Fulton County Tax Commissioner