Sie sind auf Seite 1von 13

Muslim Consumer Group :: INGREDIENTS LIST

- Halal - Not Halal - Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor

Halal Ingredient Category Description


Mineral, Chemical,
Acetic acid Synthetic based A chemical
Ingredients
It is a milk protein obatined commercially from skim milk by precipitation
with lactic acid or hydrochloric or sulphuric acid.. It is Halal if it is Halal
Acid Casein Dairy Ingredients
or kosher certified because addition of starter culture bacteria. It is not
Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Agar It is a gum obtained from plant source
Ingredients
Ingredients from Egg
Albumin It is made from egge white.
and Fish
Haram Ingredients
Alcohol as solvent in flavor from Alcoholic Alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors
Fermentation
Haram Ingredients
Alcohol in dry form is used
from Alcoholic Alcohol made in dry form.
as an ingredient
Fermentation
Grain and Plant based
Algin It is a gum obtained from seaweeds.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Allspice It is a spice of plant origin
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Alum Synthetic based A chemical preservative.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Aluminum Ammonium
Synthetic based A chemical.
Sulfate
Ingredients
Ammonium (Bicarbonate, Mineral, Chemical,
Carbonate, Chloride, Synthetic based A chemical
Sulfate) Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Amylase (alpha) It is an enzyme obtained from plant and bacterial sources
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Anise It is a spice of plant origin
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Annatto It is a natural color extracted from plant pigment without alcohol
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Arrowroot It is a starch obtained from plant rhizomes
Ingredients
Artificial colors or FD&C colors are chemical dyes and they are Halal if
Mineral, Chemical, use as is in powder or granular form. If theyse as liquid colors a slovent
Artificial Colors or FD&C
Synthetic based such as vegetable oil or glycerin has to be added. If glycerin is used as
Yellow No. 5 and others
Ingredients a solvent in liquid colors the they are Halal if plant fat glycerin is used,
Haram if pork fat glycerin is used.
Artificial Flavors are usually made from chemical and synthetic raw
Mineral, Chemical,
material. For Halal artificial flavor the synthetic raw material has to be
Artificial Flavors Synthetic based
Halal and solvent should not be alcohol. Not Halal artificial are made
Ingredients
from non Halal raw material and alcohol is used as a solvent.
Mineral, Chemical,
Ascorbic acid or Vitamin C Synthetic based A chemical
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Aspartame Synthetic based A synthetic sweetener.
Ingredients
Halal Ingredient Category Description
Mineral, Chemical,
Azodicarbonamide Synthetic based A chemical enrichment for flours.
Ingredients
Haram Ingredients
Bacon It is part of pig stomach.
from Pig
Haram Ingredients
Bacon bits. Bacon bits is obtained from pork stomach.
from Pig
Grain & Plant based It is a single celled plant which ferment sugar into carbon dioxide. It is
Baker's Yeast
Ingredients used in bread baking.
Grain & Plant based It is a flavoring agent obtained as solubles of mechanically rupturing the
Baker's Yeast Extract
Ingredients baker yeast cells.
Mineral, Chemical,
Baking Powder Synthetic based A chemical levener.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Baking Soda Synthetic based A chemical levener.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Basil It is a spice obatined from plant source.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Bay Leaves It is a spice.
Ingredients
Haram Ingredients
Beer from Alcoholic It is a fermented alcoholic drink.
Fermentation
Haram Ingredients
These are coating on meat and fish products containing beer as an
Beer Batters from Alcoholic
ingredient.
Fermentation
Haram Ingredients
Beer Flavor from Alcoholic Actual beer is added as an ingredient.
Fermentation
Grain & Plant based
Beeswax It is pure wax obtained from the honeycomb of the bee.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Benzaldehyde Synthetic based A chemical flavorant.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Benzoic acid Synthetic based A chemical preservatives.
Ingredients
Beta Caroten is natural color obtained from plant but it is not sold as is
but with carrier must be added for mixing purpose for dy products or
liquid products. If vegetable oil I or fish gelatin is added as carrier the it
Grain & Plant based
Beta-Carotene is considred as Halal beta carotene. A Halal or Kosher symbol on food
Ingredients
product conatining beta carotene indicate eithjer vegetable oil or fish
gelatin is added as a carrier. <br> OR <br> <br> Pork gelatin may be
used as a carrier for proper dispersion of Beta-Carotene.
A chemical preservative but always avaialble with fat based carrier.
Mineral, Chemical,
Halal if vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Not Halal if animal fat is used
BHA or BHT Synthetic based
as a carrier. A Halal or Kosher symbol on the food package containing
Ingredients
BHA or BHT indicate only vegetableoil is used as a carrier.
Grain & Plant based
Bran It is out part of a cereal seeds
Ingredients
Brewer yeast is a single celled bacteria. In food products especially for
Brewer's Yeast Extract or meaty flavors or strong flavors, only brewer's yeast extract from beer
Autolyzed Yeast from beer Ingredients from plant making is used. According to ulema it is Haram ingredients because
making alcohol, beer flavor compounds are leached inside the yeast cell and is
not subjected to any change.
Grain & Plant based
Bulgur wheat It is a type of wheat
Ingredients
Halal Ingredient Category Description
It is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified because of source of enzyme.
Butter fat Lipolyzed Dairy Ingredients
It is not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Buttermilk solds are obtained from buttermilk. It is Halal if Halal or
Buttermilk Solids Dairy Ingredients
Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Caffeine It is odorless powder occur in tea leaves and coffee beans.
Ingredients
Calcium (Carbonate, Mineral, Chemical,
Chloride, Citrate, Sorbate, Synthetic based A chemical
Sulfate) Ingredients
Calcium Stearate is the calcium salt of stearic acid. It is Halal only if
Ingredients made from
Calcium Stearate stearic acid is obtained from vegetable fat or if it is Halal or Kosher
plant or animal fat
certified
Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate
plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based It is fully refined, bleached, and deodorized oil obtained from certain
Canola Oil
Ingredients varieties of rapseeds.
Grain & Plant based It is a colorant obtained from the controll heat treatment of plant
Caramel
Ingredients crabohydrates such as dextrose.
Grain & Plant based
Caraway It a plant spice.
Ingredients
Carboxymethylcellulose Grain & Plant based
A cellulose gum.
(CMC) Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Cardamom It is a plant based spice.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based It is plant wax obtained from leaf buds and leaves of Brazilian wax
Carnauba Wax
Ingredients palm.
Grain & Plant based
Carob It is a cocoa substitute obatined from pods of carob tree.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Carob Gum It is a gum obtained from the pods of carob tree.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Carrageenan It is a seaweed gum.
Ingredients
Caesinates are milk protein obtained from curding the milk. It is Halal if
Caseinates Dairy Ingredients
Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based These are starter culture bacteria added to milk to provide flavor and
Cheese & Dairy Culture
Ingredients texture to cheese and other dairy products
Cheese powder is made by drying the cheese. t is Halal if Halal or
Cheese Powder Dairy Ingredients :
Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Chives It is a plant based spice.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Chlorine Synthetic based A chemical gas.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Chocolate It is obtained from coacoa nibs of cocoa beans.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based It is fluide(liquor) obtained by grinding of cocoa nibs from the cocoa
Chocolate Liquor
Ingredients beans. No alcohol or liquor is added, it is just the name.
Grain & Plant based
Cinnamon It is a plant based spice.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Citric Acid Synthetic based A chemical
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Citrus Oil It is oil obtained from rinds of citrus fruits.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Clove It is plant based spice.
Ingredients
Halal Ingredient Category Description
Ingredients from
Cochineal/Carmine color It is a red color obtained from insects.
insects
Grain & Plant based
Cocoa Butter It is fat obtained from nibs of cocoa beans.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based It is powder obtained by grinding coacoa presscakes which is obtained
Cocoa Powder
Ingredients from nibs of cocoa beans.
Grain & Plant based
Coconut It is a nut obtained from coconut palm.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Coriander It is a plant based spice.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Corn
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Corn Bran It is a out part of corn seeds.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Corn Flour It is a flour obtained by grinding corn.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Corn Gluten It is a corn protein.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Corn Meal It is a ground corn.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Corn Oil It is a oil obtained from corn seeds
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Corn Starch It is a starch obtained from endosperm of corn seeds.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Corn Syrup It is sweetener obtained from corn.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Corn Syrup Solids It is a dry form of corn syrup.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Cranberry It is a fruit.
Ingredients

Cream Dairy Ingredients : Cream is a milk fat obtained by seperating it from milk.

It is a acid potassium salt of tartaric acid occuring as a powder or


Grain & Plant based
Cream of Tarter crystal. In USA & Canada it is made from crushed grapes but in other
Ingredients
countries it is made from wine deposits on the wine barrel.

Cultured Cream Lipolyzed Dairy Ingredients The enzyme use has to be Halal.

The cultures added to milk has to be from milk sources not from meat.
Cultured Milk Dairy Ingredients
The media use to grow these cultures has to be Halal.
Grain & Plant based
Cumin It is a plant based spice.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Curry Powder It is a blend of plant based spices.
Ingredients
DATEM (Di- Acetyl Tartrate Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Ester of Monoglycerides) plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Dextrin It is a part of plant starch.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Dextrose It is a corn sweetener from corn starch.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Dicalcium Phosphate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Diglyceride
plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Dill It is a plant based spice.
Ingredients
Halal Ingredient Category Description
Mineral, Chemical,
Dipotassium Phosphate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Milk is Halal but dryers use to dried milk should not use for drying the
Dried Milk Dairy Ingredients
Haram dairy products, it has to be Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Durum Flour It is a flour obtained from durum wheat.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
EDTA Synthetic based A chemical chelating agent.
Ingredients
Ingredients from Egg
Egg White It is a egg white products.
and Fish
Ingredients from Egg
Egg Yolks It is egge yolk product.
and Fish
Ingredients from Egg
Eggs It is whole eggs.
and Fish
Grain & Plant based
Enzyme Ingredients or animal Enzymes are protein obtained from plant and animal sources.
source
Ingredients made from
Enzyme Modified Soya Soy lecithin is modified by use of lipase enzyme. It is Halal only if
plant or animal
Lecithin microbial lipase is used or Halal or Kosher certified.
enzyme
Ethoxylated Mono- and Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Diglycerides plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Farina It is a ground particles of durum wheat.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Fennel It is a plant based spice.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Fenugreek It is a plant based spice.
Ingredients
Haram Ingredients
Fermented Cider from Alcoholic It is a fermented apple juice.
Fermentation
Mineral, Chemical,
Ferric Oxide Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Ferrous Sulphate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Ingredients from Egg
Fish Gelatin It is made from bones of fish.
and Fish
Grain & Plant based
Flour It is obtained by grinding cereal seeds.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical, Folic acid is a vitamin B. It is obtained synthetically or from Vitamin B. It
Folic Acid Synthetic based is Halal if is Halal or Kosher certified. It is not Halal if it is obtained from
Ingredients non Halal sources.
Grain & Plant based
Fructose A sweetener obtained from sugar or sucrose.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Fumaric Acid Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Garlic A plant based spice.
Ingredients
Ingredients made from It is Haram product if it is made from pig. Many ulema consider it Haram
Gelatin
animals if it is made from non zabiha beef.
Grain & Plant based
Gellan Gum A plant based gum.
Ingredients
Halal Ingredient Category Description
Grain & Plant based
Ghatti Gum A plant based gum.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Ginger A plant based spice.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Glucon-Delta-Lactone Synthetic based It is a acidulant and used in chemical leavening.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Gluten A plant protein.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Glycerin is a polyhydric alcohol (not ethyl alcohol) used as a humectant.
Glycerin Ingredients or animal
It is made from fat either plant or animal.
source
Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Glycerol Ester
plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Ingredients from plant Glycerol Monostearate is emulsifier. It is Halal only if it is obtained from
Glycerol Monostearate
or animal fat plant fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Graham Flour It is a whole wheat flour.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Grape It is a fruit.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Guar Gum It is a gum obtained from plant.
Ingredients
Haram Ingredients
Ham It is a pig meat.
from Pig
Haram Ingredients
Hard Cider from Alcoholic It is a fermented apple juice.
Fermentation
Grain & Plant based
High Fructose Corn Syrup A sweetener obtained from corn.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Honey It is a natural syrup sweetener.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Horseradish A spice obtained from horseradish plant.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil Oil obtained from plant fat.
Ingredients
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Grain & Plant based
A flavor enhancer obtained from vegetable protein.
Protein Ingredients
Ingredients made from
Hydroxylated Lecithin It is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified.
plant or animal fat
Grain & Plant based
Invert Sugar A plant based sweetener. It is a mixture of dextrose and fructose.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Iron Synthetic based A metal.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Karaya A tree gum.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Kelp It is a brown seaweed grown on ocean water.
Ingredients
L-Cysteine is a non essential amino acid and use in bakery products as
Mineral, Chemical, a reductant or dough conditioner. L-Cysteine is obtained from human
L-Cysteine Synthetic based hair, chicken/duck feathers and petroleum by products. Only Petroleum
Ingredients based L-Cysetiene is considered Halal. Lysteine from other sources is
not consider Halal.
Mineral, Chemical,
Lactic Acid Synthetic based An acid.
Ingredients
Halal Ingredient Category Description
Lactose is milk sugar and obtained from whey during cheese making,
Lactose Dairy Ingredients
so it has to be Halal or Kosher certified for its Halal status.
Ingredients made from
Lard It is a pig fat.
Pig Fat
Grain & Plant based
Licorice Root A flavoring obtained from plant root.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Locust Bean Gum A plant based gum.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Mace A plant based spice.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Magnesium Carbonate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical, It is a Magnesium salt of stearaic acid and used as an anticaking agent
Magnesium Stearate Synthetic based or llubricant. It is Halal if the stearic acid is from plant fat or Halal or
Ingredients Kosher certified. It is Haram if the stearic acid is from pork fat.
Grain & Plant based
Maize It is a another name of corn.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Malt It is produced from barley a source of enzymes.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Maltodextrin A product obtained from starch.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Maltose It is a one of the part of starch.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Maple Sugar It is a sugar obtained from maple tree.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Maple Syrup It is a natural syrup obtained from maple tree.
Ingredients
A product whose consitancy and application similar to butter. It is made
Grain & Plant based
Margarine by mixing milk, fat (either plant or animal) and artificial flavor to provide
Ingredients
butter flavor.
Grain & Plant based
Marjoram A plant based spice.
Ingredients
Marshmallow containing Haram Ingredients
Pork gelatin used in making of marshmallow.
pork gelatin from Pig
Grain & Plant based
Methylcellulose A gum composed of cellulose.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Modified Food Starch A plant starch chemically modified.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Molasses A by-product of sugar production from sugar cane.
Ingredients
Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Mono- and Diglycerides
plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Mineral, Chemical,
Monocalcium Phosphate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Monoglyceride
plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Mineral, Chemical, Monosodium Glutamate is a flavor enhancer and it si a sodium salt of
Monosodium Glutamate Synthetic based glutamic acid. It is Halal & Kosher crtified in USA andf made in USA and
Ingredients Brazil.
Grain & Plant based
Mustard A plant spice.
Ingredients
Oleoresin of Spices such as Black Peppers <br>Paprika and other
Grain & Plant based spices are also called Natueral flavoring, it is not same as natural flavor.
Natural Flavoring
Ingredients It is mostly used in Tomato Ketchups and other products. The extracting
chemical is acetone.
Halal Ingredient Category Description
Natural flavor is made from any natural material including meat. It is
Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified and alcohol is not used as a
Grain & Plant based solvent. A natural flavor could br Kosher certified but alcohol could be
Natural Flavors
Ingredients or meat use as a solvent then in this case it is not Halal. So therre two
requirements, one the Halal material is used as a raw material and
second no alcohol is used as a solvent
It is water soluble Vitamin B3. It can be obtained from animal or plant or
Grain & Plant based synthetci sources. Niacin is Halal only if it is obtained from Halal
Niacin
Ingredients or meat sources and Halal or Kosher certified. Niacin is not Halal if it is obtained
from animal sources.
Milk is Halal but dryers use to dried milk should not use for drying the
Nonfat Dry milk Dairy Ingredients
Haram dairy products, it has to be Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Nutmeg A plant based spice.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Oat A cereal.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Oat Flour Flour obtained from oat cereal.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Oatmeal Meal obtained from oats.
Ingredients
Oleoresins of spices or Grain & Plant based
This is a spice extract and acetone is used as a extracting agent.
natural flavoring Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Olive Oil Oil obtained from olive fruits.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Onion A vegetable.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Oregano A plant based spice.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Palm Oil Oil obtained from fruit of palm tree.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Papain An enzyme obtained from Papaya fruit for tenederizing meat.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Paprika A plant based spice.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Parsley A plant.
Ingredients
Partially Hydrogenated Ingredients made from
Made from plant fat.
Vegetable Shortening plant fat
Grain & Plant based
Peanut A fruit from peanut plant.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Pectin A gum obtained from citrus peel.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Peppers A plant fruit.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Phosphates Synthetic based A chemical..
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Phosphoric Acid Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Polydextrose A bulking agent obtained binding dextrose, sorbital and citric acid.
Ingredients
Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Acids plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Polyoxythylene Sorbitan Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Monostearate Plant or Vegetable Fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Halal Ingredient Category Description
with kosher symbol on
food package only
Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Polysorbate 60
plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Ingredients made from
Plant or Vegetable Fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Polysorbate 65
with kosher symbol on Halal or Kosher certified.
food package only
Ingredients made from
Plant or Vegetable Fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Polysorbate 80
with kosher symbol on Halal or Kosher certified.
food package only
Haram Ingredients
Pork It is flesh of swine.
from Pig
Mineral, Chemical,
Potassium (Bicarbonate,
Synthetic based A chemical.
Bromate, Sorbate)
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Potato Starch Starch obtained from potato.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based Starch which is processed to permit swelling in cold water because
Pregelatinized Starch
Ingredients natural starch require heating to swell.
Mineral, Chemical,
Propionic Acid Synthetic based Presrvative chemical.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Propyle Gallate Synthetic based It is an antioxidant.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
A solvcent use in manu flavors, a humectant and obtained from
Propylene Glycol Synthetic based
petroleum base.
Ingredients
Propylene Glycol Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Monostearate plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based An enzyme which break the protein and it is obtained from plant or
Protease Enzyme
Ingredients bacterial source.
Grain & Plant based
Psyllium A plant gum.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Raisin Raisins are naturally dried grapes.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Rapeseed A plant seed.
Ingredients
A milk coagulant which is a concentrated extract of rennin enzyme
Grain & Plant based
obtained from calves or pig stomach or microbial source. Calf rennet is
Rennet Ingredients or animal
obatined from cow, microbial rennet is obatined from bacteria. Pepsin
source
rennet is obtained from pig.
It is a milk protein obatined using rennet to curd the milk. It is Halal if
Rennet Casein Dairy Ingredients :
Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Riboflavin is a vitamin B2. Sources includes cheese, leafy vegetables,
eggs, milk and liver. In processed foods it is very likely to have been
Grain & Plant based
Riboflavin produced synthetically using genetically modified bacteria Bacillus
Ingredients or meat
subtilis, It is Halal if it is made from bacteria and Halal or Kosher
certified. It is not Halal if it is made from liver.
Grain & Plant based
Rice A cereal.
Ingredients
Haram Ingredients
Rum from Alcoholic It is a liquor.
Fermentation
Grain & Plant based
Rye A cereal.
Ingredients
Halal Ingredient Category Description
Mineral, Chemical,
Saccharine Synthetic based A non nutritive synthetic sweetener.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Safflower A plant seeds.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based A spice obtained from stigma of plant flower and provide intese yellow
Saffron
Ingredients color to foods.
Grain & Plant based
Sage A plant spice.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Salt Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Savory A spice.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sea Salt Synthetic based Salt obtained from sea. A chemical.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Semolina Coarse granular obtained from durum wheat.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Sesame A plant seed.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Shallot A vegetable of onion family.
Ingredients
Ingredients from It is a secretion of insect. It is Halal if alcohol is NOT used during
Shellac
insect secretion processing.
Haram Ingredients
Sherry Wine from Alcoholic It is a wine.
Fermentation
Mineral, Chemical,
Silicon Dioxide Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Acetate Synthetic based A chemical
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Acid
Synthetic based A leavening chemical.
Pyrophosphate
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Aluminum
Synthetic based A leavening chemical.
Phosphate
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Aluminum Sulfate Synthetic based A chemical leavening agent.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Benzoate Synthetic based A chemical preservative.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Bicarbonate Synthetic based A chemical preservative.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Carbonate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Citrate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Hydroxide Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Halal Ingredient Category Description
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Lactate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Sodium Lauryl Sulfate A fat based emulsifier and whipping aid, used in egg white.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Metabisulfate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Nitrate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium Nitrite Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Sodium sorbate Synthetic based A chemical preservative.
Ingredients
Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Ingredients made from It is made from polyhydric alcohol such as glycerin which is made from
Softener
plant or animal fat fat. It is Halal if it is made from vegetable fat based ingredients.
Mineral, Chemical,
Sorbic Acid Synthetic based A chemical preservative.
Ingredients
Ingredients made from It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or
Sorbitan Monostearate
plant or animal fat Halal or Kosher certified.
Grain & Plant based
Sorbitol It is a humectant and polyhydric alcohol (not ethyl alcohol).
Ingredients
Sour cream solids are Halal only if they are Halal or Kosher certified
Sour Cream Solids Dairy Ingredients
because gelatin is used in the manufacturing of sour cream.
Grain & Plant based
Soya Flour Flour obtained from soybean.
Ingredients
Ingredients made from
Soya Lecithin It is an emulsifier obtained from soybean fat.
plant
Grain & Plant based
Soya Oil Oil obtained from soybean.
Ingredients
There are two kind of soy sauce, one which obtained by fermenting
soybean and wheat just like wine and it is called naturally brewed soy
Grain & Plant based sauce containing 2-3% alcohol. The other one is non naturally brewed
Soya Sauce
Ingredients soy sauce which is obtained without fermentation by blending
hydrolyzed soy protein, salt, water, corn surup and sodium benzoate. It
is also called all purpose soy sauce.
Grain & Plant based
Soybean A plant pod.
Ingredients
Ingredients made from
Soybean Oil It is obtained from soybean fat.
plant fat
Grain & Plant based
Spices They are plant based spices.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Starch A endosperm of cereal seed.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Sugar A sweetener obtained from cane sugar and beet.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Sunflower A seed.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Tapioca Starch A starch obtained from roots of cassava plant.
Ingredients
Halal Ingredient Category Description
Grain & Plant based An acident found in grapes. It is made from crushed grapes in USA and
Tartaric acid
Ingredients Canada.
Mineral, Chemical, A chemical antioxidant and comes with a carrier. It is Halal only if
TBHQ Synthetic based ivegetable oil is used as a carrier and Halal or Kosher certified. Not
Ingredients Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified and conatins animal fat.
Grain & Plant based
Textured Vegetable Protein A vegetable protein which is extrudes to look like beef strip or nuggets.
Ingredients
It is a B1 vitamin. Thiamine can be produced synthetically from the bran
Grain & Plant based
Thiamine Mononitrate coat of grains and yeast. It is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified and not
Ingredients
Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Mineral, Chemical,
Titanium Dioxide Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Tocopherol or Vitamin E A fat soluble vitamin E obtained either from plant or animal fat.
Ingredients
It is a soybean curd obtained by adding a coagulant to soybean milk. If
Grain & Plant based
Tofu coagulant is from Halal the tofu is Halal, if it is not from Halal source
Ingredients
then tofu is not halal.
Grain & Plant based
Tragacanth A plant gum.
Ingredients
Mineral, Chemical,
Tricalcium phosphate Synthetic based A chemical.
Ingredients
Turmeric is a colorant spice obtained from the root of the plant. It is
Grain & Plant based Halal if used as pure turmeric powder. But some companies are add
Turmeric
Ingredients some emulsifie to use it in a liquid system. It is Haram if pork emulsifier
is used as a carrier.
Torula yeast is single celled plant and used for flavoring. It can be
Grain & Plant based
Turola Yeast grown on sugar cane which is a Halal substrate or it can be grown on
Ingredients
alcohol or liquor the it became not Halal.
Grain & Plant based
Vanilla Bean Powder It is 100% ground vanilla beans.
Ingredients
Vanilla extract is flavorant made fromvanilla bean extract. It is extracted
Vanilla Extract Ingredient from plant
with alcohol and contains minimum 35% alcohol in solution.
Mineral, Chemical,
Vanillin is a flavorant made from synthetic or artificial vanilla which can
Vanillin Synthetic based
be plant lignin or synthetically mad e from guaiacol and eugenol.
Ingredients
Ingredients made from
Vegetable Oils It is made from vegetable fat..
plant or vegetable fat
Mineral, Chemical, Vinegar is a acidulant and flavorant. It is made from cider, grape,
Vinegar Synthetic based sucrose, glucose, malt by successive alcoholic and acetous
Ingredients fermentation.. The term vinegar is applies to cider..
Grain & Plant based
Vital Wheat Gluten Vital wheat gluten is a protein obtained from wheat grain.
Ingredients
Ingredients from plant It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher
Vitamin A as Retinol
or animal sources certified
Ingredients from plant It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher
Vitamin B1: As Thiamine
or animal sources certified
Vitamin B12: As Ingredients from plant It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher
Cyanocobalamin or animal sources certified
Ingredients from plant It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher
Vitamin B2: As Riboflavin
or animal sources certified
Vitamin B5: As Pantotherric Ingredients from plant It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher
Acid or animal sources certified
Ingredients from plant It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher
Vitamin B6: As Pyridoxine
or animal sources certified

Vitamin C: As Ascorbic Acid Ingredients from plant It is made from plant or synthetic sources
Halal Ingredient Category Description
For the dairy industry it is made from sheep's Lanolin (wool) for
Ingredients from plant
Vitamin D as Calciferol: fortifying the milk. It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is
or animal sources
Halal or Kosher certified
Ingredients from plant It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher
Vitamin E: As Tocopherol
or animal sources certified
Ingredients from plant It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher
Vitamin K:
or animal sources certified
Grain & Plant based
Wheat It is a cereal.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Wheat Flour Flour obtained bt grinding wheat.
Ingredients
Whey is the liquid portion of the milk when milk is coagulated. It is the
Whey Dairy Ingredients : by-product of cheese making. It is Halal only if the whey is Halal or
Kosher certified.
Whey Protein Concentrate is made from whey. It is Halal only if is Halal
Whey Protein Concentrate. Dairy Ingredients
or Kosher certified.
Haram Ingredients
Wine from Alcoholic It is a fermented product.
Fermentation
Haram Ingredients
It is obtained from wine and contains left over wine, wine flavor and
Wine vinegar. from Alcoholic
color.
Fermentation
Grain & Plant based
Xanthan Gum It is a gum obtained from Xanthomnas bacteria.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
Xylitol It is a sweetener for substutting sugar obtained from birch trees.
Ingredients
Grain & Plant based
zein. It is a corn protein.
Ingredients

Source: http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com
Last Updated: 3/22/2009