Sie sind auf Seite 1von 2


Cape Peninsula University of Technology At the heart of technology education

and innovation in Africa

The Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) is the only university of technology in the Western Cape, South Africa and offers over 80 world-class, career-focused courses in the faculties of Applied Sciences, Business, Education and Social Sciences, Informatics and Design, Engineering and Health and Wellness Sciences.

With more than 33 000 students, the University is the largest in the Western Cape.
Our commitment to work-integrated learning, an educational method that combines classroom learning with practical experience in the workplace, produces graduates with the skills and experience to find a place in the working world.

Admission Requirements
Undergraduate: Our minimum admission requirement is a South African National Senior Certificate or equivalent qualification. Postgraduate: A Bachelor in Technology degree (BTech) or equivalent is required for admission to postgraduate (MTech) study. Applicants who do not have a South African qualification are required to send their results/ qualifications to the South African Qualifications Authority in order to have them evaluated and equated to a South African qualification. For more information go to the website:

The Cape Peninsula University of Technologys research culture and history spans almost two decades with outputs in a variety of fields, including: TB/HIV/Aids, Mathematics, Science and Technology Education, Energy Technology, Power Systems, e-Commerce, Tourism and Hospitality, Coastal Resource Management and various inter-disciplinary initiatives. An ever-increasing amount of postgraduate degrees, both Masters and Doctoral, are awarded each year, and collaborative research agreements with various universities in Africa, India, Europe, United States of America, Russia and China, as well as leading South African universities, are on the rise. In addition, the University has set up two Research Chairs in the areas of Teacher Education and Small Satellite Technology to further enhance its research capabilities.

Cape Town

The Universitys research culture and history spans almost two decades and focuses its applied and problem-solving research on regional, national and continental needs.




The Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) was established on 1 January 2005 when the Cape Technikon and Peninsula Technikon merged. This was part of a national process of transforming the higher education landscape in South Africa. The history of CPUT is, therefore, the history of the two merged institutions and goes back to 1920 when the foundation stone of the Longmarket Street Building of the then Cape Technical College was laid in Cape Town. The Peninsula Technical College was established in 1962 and in 1967 the College relocated to its Bellville Campus. After the promulgation of the Technikons Act in 1976, technical colleges were able to offer tertiary education in selected fields of study. During 1979 both colleges were legally established as technikons and from 1993 they were empowered to offer degrees: Bachelors, Masters and Doctoral degrees in Technology.

The University offers diploma and bachelor degree study, as well as postgraduate research and study towards Masters and Doctoral degrees, in six faculties:

Facilities and Services

There are some one hundred sports, social and cultural clubs and societies, covering a wide range of interests. Health services, including a disability unit, and counselling are available to students on all campuses. International students qualify for accommodation in any of the Universitys 25 residences. Transport to and from residences is available. Libraries give access to more than four million books, Internet and DVD/audio facilities. All students have access to computers, as well as e-mail and Internet facilities. CPUTs Writing Centre provides academic and mentorship support to students, including the development of writing skills and the preparation of presentations in English (the Universitys medium of tuition), the development of analytical thinking and computer literacy.

Applied Sciences
Agricultural Management. Agriculture (Animal Production, Crop Production or Viticulture and Oenology). Analytical Chemistry. Biotechnology. Consumer Science: Food and Nutrition. Environmental Health. Environmental Management. Food Technology. Horticulture. Landscape Technology. Mathematical Technology. Nature Conservation. Oceanography.

FET Economic and Management Sciences. GET: Foundation Phase (Grade R-3). GET: Intermediate and Senior Phases (Grade 4-9).

Informatics and Design

Architectural Technology. Fashion. Film and Video Technology. Graphic Design. Industrial Design. Information Technology. Interior Design. Jewellery Design and Manufacture. Journalism. Multimedia Technology. Photography. Public Relations Management. Surface Design. 3-D Design. Town and Regional Planning.

Building, leading to Construction Management or Quantity Surveying. Cartography (GISc). Clothing Management. Engineering: Chemical. Engineering: Civil. Engineering: Computer Systems. Engineering: Electrical. Engineering: Industrial. Maritime Studies. Engineering: Mechanical. Engineering: Mechanical: Marine Engineering. Engineering: Mechatronics. Operations Management. Surveying.

Accounting. Cost and Management Accounting. Entrepreneurship. Event Management. Financial Information Systems. Hospitality Management: Accommodation, Food and Beverage or Professional Cookery. Human Resource Management. Internal Auditing. Management. Marketing. Office Management and Technology. Printing Management. Public Management. Real Estate. Retail Business Management. Sports Management. Tourism Management.

Cape Peninsula University of Technology Bellville Campus Tel: +27 (0)21 959 6911 Cape Town Campus Tel: +27 (0)21 460 3911 Call Centre Tel: +27 (0)21 959 6767 Enquiries: Website:

Health and Wellness Sciences

Dental Assisting. Dental Technology. Emergency Medical Care. Medical Laboratory Science. Nursing. Optical Dispensing. Radiography (Diagnostic, Therapy, Nuclear Medicine, Ultrasound). Somatology.


In a first for South Africa, two nano-satellites, constructed by postgraduate students and lecturers at the French-South African Institute of Technology (FSATI) in CPUTs Electrical Engineering Department, will be launched in 2012 and 2014.

CPUT is an approved Chartered Institute of Purchasing and Supply Southern Africa (CIPS SA) study centre.