Sie sind auf Seite 1von 6

Case 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB Document 10 Filed 03/24/14 Page 1 of 5 PageID #: 53

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

MIDORI FUJII, et al., Plaintiffs, v. GOVERNOR, STATE OF INDIANA, in his official capacity, et al., Defendants.

) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) )

No. 1:14-cv-404 RLY-TAB

Motion for Attorneys Conference Plaintiffs, by their counsel, say that: 1. They have filed this action alleging that they are being caused irreparable harm because

of Indiana Code 31-11-1-1, which prohibits same-sex marriages in Indiana and voids in Indiana all same-sex marriages entered into in jurisdictions where such marriages are permissible. 2. Plaintiffs are aware that this Court has four other cases pending that attack the

constitutionality of Indiana Code 31-11-1-1. 3. Plaintiffs intend to file the appropriate motions to attempt to achieve as prompt a

resolution of this matter as is possible. 4. Plaintiffs believe it would be helpful to have a conference with the Court to discuss

further proceedings in this case and the scheduling of briefs. 5. It is plaintiffs understanding that Thomas Fisher, Solicitor General of the State of

Indiana, will be defending the State defendants in all the cases.

Page | 1

Case 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB Document 10 Filed 03/24/14 Page 2 of 5 PageID #: 54

6.

Kenneth J. Falk has informed Mr. Fisher that plaintiffs will be filing this motion. A

courtesy copy of this motion is being served on Mr. Fisher via e-mail. A courtesy copy is also being served on plaintiffs counsel in the other cases filed concerning the constitutionality of Indiana Code 31-11-1-1. WHEREFORE, plaintiffs request that this case be set for a conference at the earliest opportunity to discuss further proceedings in this matter and briefing schedules, and for all other proper relief. /s/ Kenneth J. Falk Kenneth J. Falk No. 6777-49 /s/ Gavin M. Rose Gavin M. Rose No. 26565-53 ACLU of Indiana 1031 E. Washington St. Indianapolis, IN 46202 317/635-4059 fax: 317/635-4105 kfalk@aclu-in.org grose@aclu-in.org James Esseks Motion for Admission Pro Hac Vice to Be Filed Chase Strangio Motion for Admission Pro Hac Vice to Be Filed American Civil Liberties Union Foundation 125 Broad Street, 18th Floor New York, NY 10004 212/549.2627 fax: 212/549-2650 jesseks@aclu.org cstrangio@aclu.org Counsel for plaintiffs Wehrle, Miller, Hasty, Vallero, MacPherson, Stolen, A.M.-S. /s/ Sean C. Lemieux Sean C. Lemieux No. 16778-49 Lemieux Law 23 E. 39th St. Indianapolis, IN 46205 317/985-5809 fax: 866/686-2901 sean@lemieuxlawoffices.com Counsel for plaintiffs Fujii, Layne, Betterman, L.M.-C., Scott and Rodney MoubrayCarrico

Page | 2

Case 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB Document 10 Filed 03/24/14 Page 3 of 5 PageID #: 55

Certificate of Service I certify that a copy of the foregoing was served on the below named persons by first class U.S. postage, or via certified mail, on this 24th day of March, 2014. Governor, State of Indiana Room 206 State House 200 W. Washington St. Indianapolis, IN 46204 Clerk, Allen County, Indiana Allen County Courthouse 715 S. Calhoun St. Room 200A Fort Wayne, IN 46802 Clerk, Hamilton County, Indiana One Hamilton County Square Suite 157 Noblesville, IN 46060 Commissioner, Indiana State Department of Health 2 N. Meridian St. Indianapolis, IN 46204 A courtesy copy has also been served on this date, via e-mail, on: Thomas M. Fisher Solicitor General Office of the Attorney General tom.fisher@atg.in.gov

Daniel J. Canon dan@justiceky.com Laura E. Landenwich laura@justiceky.com Shannon Fauver Shannon@fauverlaw.com

Page | 3

Case 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB Document 10 Filed 03/24/14 Page 4 of 5 PageID #: 56

Barbara Baird bjbaird@bjbairdlaw.com Paul D. Castillo pcastillo@lambdalegal.org Camilla B. Taylor ctaylor@lambdalegal.org Jordan M. Heinz Jordan.heinz@kirkland.com Brent P. Ray brent.ray@kirkland.com Dmitriy G. Tishyevick dmitriy.tishyevich@kirkland.com Robyn R. English robyn.english@kirkland.com

Richard A. Mann rmann@RichardMann-LawOffice.com Lisa M. Joachin Ljoachim@RichardMann-LawOffice.com Todd D. Small Tsmall@RichardMann-LawOffice.com

Karen Celestino-Horseman Karen@kchorseman.com William R. Groth wgroth@fdgtlaborlaw.com Mark W. Sniderman mark@snlawyers.com Kathleen M. Sweeney ksween@gmail.com

/s/ Kenneth J. Falk Kenneth J. Falk Attorney at Law

Page | 4

Case 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB Document 10 Filed 03/24/14 Page 5 of 5 PageID #: 57

Page | 5

Case 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB Document 10-1 Filed 03/24/14 Page 1 of 1 PageID #: 58

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

MIDORI FUJII, et al., Plaintiffs, v. GOVERNOR, STATE OF INDIANA, in his official capacity, et al., Defendants.

) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) Order

No. 1:14-cv-404 RLY-TAB

Plaintiffs, having filed their Motion for Attorneys Conference, and the Court having read the Motion, and being duly advised, finds that good cause exists to grant it, and, IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that an attorneys conference will be held in this case on the ___________ day of ____________________, 2014 at ____. M.. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiffs counsel shall serve a copy of this Order on the defendants and on Thomas M. Fisher, Solicitor General, Office of the Attorney General.

_____________ Date

_____________________________________ Chief Judge, United States District Court

cc: Distribution to all counsel of record via CM/ECF