Sie sind auf Seite 1von 5

Status

Amount Disputed
Actual Savings
Estimated Savings
Activities
Location
NAICS
Complainant
Number
Date
Name Contact Phone Toll Free Email
Getty Images
605 5th Ave S Ste 400
Seattle, WA 98104
(206) 925-6753 copyright.complian
ce@gettyimages.co
m
McCormack Intellectual Property
Law
617 Lee St
Seattle, WA 98109
(206) 381-8888 legal@mccormackle
gal.com
439228
11/4/2013
Respondent(s)
Complaint
Seattle - Consumer Protection Division
Date Added Activity Type Activity
11/4/2013 Intake Notes C listed their business info as R
11/6/2013 Email to Complainant C-1stLetterRevised To:
ferndogtraining@gmail.com
541920-Photographic Services
Assignee Garrett-Lindsey, Walli
$0.00
$1,065.00
$0.00
Code Practice
316 Billing Issues
Practice(s)
Closed
Referral(s)
Name
Contact
Phone Contact Phone Email
439228
Catalyst
Complaint Cover Page
Name Phone Day Phone Evening Email
Fernando Javier Camacho
712 Broad St
Bloomfield, NJ 07003-2843
(201) 388-0266 (973) 566-0202 ferndogtraining@gmail.com
1 of 2 439228
Date Added Activity Type Activity
11/6/2013 Email to Respondent R-1st LetterRevised To:
copyright.compliance@gettyimages.com
11/6/2013 Email to Respondent R-1st LetterRevised To:
legal@mccormacklegal.com
11/14/2013 Email from Respondent R is McCormack. See document 439228F
11/15/2013 Email to Complainant C-ClosingUnadjustedW-
ResponseOutofStateConsumer To:
ferndogtraining@gmail.com
11/15/2013 Email to Respondent Rsup Closing No Adjustment (R-UNJ) To:
legal@mccormacklegal.com
11/15/2013 Resolution-UNADJUSTED
11/19/2013 Correspondence from Respondent see doc 439228G
11/27/2013 Email from Respondent
11/27/2013 Email to Complainant C-ClosingUnadjustedW-Response To:
ferndogtraining@gmail.com
11/27/2013 Email to Respondent Rsup Closing No Adjustment (R-UNJ) To:
copyright.compliance@gettyimages.com
12/5/2013 Other Government Agency Contact See doc 439228H
2 of 2 439228
Description
I mistakenly used an image that I believed was a royalty free image on a blog post that turns out to be
copyrighted. Getty Images, the company that owns the image, contacted me alerting me of this and demanded
that I pay an amount much greater than the image is actually worth. After pointing that out by showing them
the value of the actual image on their own site I immediately sent them a check in that amount, which they
declined demanding that I pay their inflated price. They provided no valid justification for asking this amount.
I understand that they are entitled to just compensation for the image but feel they are trying to bully me into
paying much more than they are entitled to. In an attempt to settle the matter I even offered to meet them half
way and pay $550.00, which they also declined.
While researching online I noticed there are quite a few forums and blogs discussing how Getty Images has
done the same thing to other small business owners, so I know I'm not the only one being treated this way and
think it's very unfair.
Complaint Description
Catalyst Report
November l, 20l3
VIA EMAIL AND U.S. MAIL
Timothy B. McCormack, Esq.
McCormack lntellectual Property Law
Business Law PS
6l7 Lee Street
Seattle, WA 98l09
Re: Getty Images v. MakedogsyourIife
Your Case No. l36797l
Dear Mr. McCormack:
Pursuant to my rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act ("FDCPA") l am disputing the
above-referenced debt.

Attached you will find two letters which l previously sent to Getty lmages disputing this debt and
attempting to reach a reasonable settlement for the much lower amount which l actually owe
Getty. My first letter dated September 3, 20l3 clearly advised Getty that there attempt to collect
an amount other than the amount which they are actually owed is in violation of the FDCPA.

Because l am disputing this debt, you should not report it to any credit reporting agencies. lf
you have already reported it, please contact the credit reporting agencies, inform them that the
debt is disputed, and ask them to delete it from my credit report.
Reporting information that you know to be inaccurate, or failing to report information correctly,
violates the Fair Credit Reporting Act.
Please be advised that since Getty lmages has rejected all reasonable settlement offers and
acted in bad faith by attempting to collect an amount that is nearly l0 times the amount they are
actually owed, l am forced to avail myself of the legal remedies available to me. To that end l
am providing copies of this letter and the related correspondence to the Washington State
Attorney General, New Jersey Attorney General, Federal Trade Commission and Consumer
Financial Protection Bureau. l am requesting that each of those agencies consider this letter as
a complaint against both Getty lmages and your firm for attempting to collect an invalid debt
under the FDCPA.