Sie sind auf Seite 1von 2

ICAOs new Universal Safety Oversight Audit Programme Methodology the

Continuous Monitoring Approach (CMA)

ICAOs Universal Safety Oversight Audit Programme (USOAP) was initially launched in January 1999, in
response to widespread concerns about the adequacy of aviation safety oversight around the world. The
ultimate goal of USOAP is to promote global aviation safety through regular audits of safety oversight
systems in all ICAO Member States.
USOAP audits focus on a States capability to provide safety oversight by assessing whether the State has
effectively and consistently implemented the critical elements of a safety oversight system and determining
the State's level of implementation of ICAOs safety-related Standards and Recommended Practices
(SARPs) and associated procedures and guidance material.
The programme was expanded in 2005 to the USOAP Comprehensive Systems Approach (CSA) to include
safety-related provisions contained in all safety-related Annexes to the Chicago Convention. USOAP CSA
audits that ended in December 2010 entailed about 40 safety oversight audits annually, with each ICAO
Member State required to host an audit at least once during the cycle.
In September 2007, the 36th Session of the Assembly adopted Resolution A36-4, directing the Council to
examine different options for the continuation of the USOAP beyond 2010, including the feasibility of
applying a new approach, based on the concept of continuous monitoring and incorporating the analysis of
safety risk factors. The systematic and more proactive conducting of monitoring activities in the new
USOAP Continuous Monitoring Approach (CMA) would make more effective and efficient use of ICAO
resources and reduce the burden on States caused by repetitive audits. USOAP CMA would also increase
the role of other ICAO bureaux and the regional offices (ROs), include States commitment to the
programme by providing ICAO with relevant safety information and expand and amend ICAOs agreements
for the sharing of confidential safety information with international entities and organisations.
In 2010, the 37th Session of the Assembly adopted Resolution A37-5, affirming that the evolution of
USOAP to the CMA should continue to be a top priority for ICAO to ensure that information on the safety
performance of Member States is provided to other Member States and to the travelling public on an
ongoing basis. This vital enhancement of international aviation safety requires the participation and support
of all Member States, particularly during the two-year transition period when the tools and guidance
required for USOAP CMA will be developed and refined.
Within ICAO and globally the transition to USOAP CMA started in 2010 and is currently in progress. It is
expected that the transition phase will continue until the end of 2012/ early 2013.

South Africa is fully in support of the USOAP CMA methodology and its objectives which are global
aviation safety enhancement and therefore at the end of 2011 the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU)
with ICAO pertaining to USOAP CMA was signed by the Department of Transport on behalf of South Africa.
Furthermore, the Acting Director of Civil Aviation, Mr Zakhele Thwala, has proactively mandated a project
plan that will ensure that South Africa is compliant with ICAO requirements in respect of the eight critical
elements of a state aviation safety oversight system. The Department of Transport is working with the
SACAA in this regard. The project will be launched on 1 March 2012 and end December 2012. However,
the essence of CMA is continuous monitoring, and so going forward constant monitoring and review will be
taking place beyond 2013.
In summary, the high level phases of the project are:
1) SAAQ. Completion of the State Aviation Activity Questionnaire (SAAQ) during March;
2) PQs. ICAO Audit Protocol Questions (PQs) which is in essence a detailed self-audit and which will
take place from May to July. During this period all technical deficiencies which had been identified
are to be addressed, such as policy and procedural review and amendment, including TGM.;
3) Regulation Development. The fast tracking of any outstanding regulatory developments and new
ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs). This will start immediately and run
concurrently with the other phases until approximately August;
4) ICAO CC & EFOD. The review and update of the ICAO Compliance Checklists and the electronic
Filing of Differences (CC and EFOD) during August and September;
5) Significant Differences. Submission of all significant differences during October for publication in
the AIP as per AIRAC; and
6) Consolidation and Review. This will take place during October and November.
Dated 27 February 2012.