Sie sind auf Seite 1von 3

Anil Kakodkar

Anil Kakodkar (Marathi: ; born

November 11, 1943) is an Indian nuclear scientist and
mechanical engineer. He was the chairman of the Atomic
Energy Commission of India and the Secretary to the
Government of India, he was the Director of the Bhabha
Atomic Research Centre, Trombay from 1996-2000. He
was awarded the Padma Vibhushan, Indias second highest civilian honour, on January 26, 2009.

pecially by use of the cheap national thorium resources.

Today, he continues to engage in designing the Advanced
Heavy Water Reactor, that uses thorium-uranium 233 as
the primary energy source with plutonium as the driver
fuel. The unique reactor system, with simplied but safe
technology, will generate 75 per cent of electricity from

Apart from playing a major role in Indias nuclear tests

asserting sovereignty, Kakodkar champions Indias selfreliance on thorium as a fuel for nuclear energy.

3 Other positions
Dr. Kakodkar is a member of many Boards, Commissions and other reputed Organisations. Some of the them

Early life

Kakodkar was born in 1943 (November 11, 1943), in

Barwani princely state (present day Madhya Pradesh
state) to Kamala Kakodkar and Purushottam Kakodkar,
both Gandhian freedom ghters. He had his early education at Barwani and at Khargone, until moving to Mumbai
for post-matriculation studies.

Chairman, Board of Governors of the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay 2006-15.[1]

Member, Atomic Energy Commission[2]
Member, ONGC Energy Centre Trust[3]

Kakodkar graduated from Ruparel College, then from

VJTI, University of Mumbai with a degree in Mechanical
Engineering in 1963. He joined the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) in 1964. He obtained a masters
degree in experimental stress analysis from the University
of Nottingham in 1969.

Chairman, empowered committee on IIT reforms[4]

Presently updated April-2014 he is serving as a Director
on Central Board of Reserve Bank of India.[5]
He is a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of
Engineering and served as its President during 19992000.


He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences,

the National Academy of Sciences, India and the
Maharashtra Academy of Sciences.

He joined the Reactor Engineering Division of the

BARC and played a key role in design and construction
of the Dhruva reactor, a completely original but high-tech
project. He was a part of the core team of architects of Indias Peaceful Nuclear Tests in 1974 and 1998. Further
he has led the indigenous development in Indias Pressurised Heavy Water Reactor Technology. His work in
the rehabilitation of the two reactors at Kalpakkam and
the rst unit at Rawatbhata, which at one stage were on
the verge of being written o, are examples of his engineering capability.

He is a member of the-- International Nuclear Energy Academy and Honorary member of the World
Innovation Foundation. He was member of the
International Nuclear Safety Advisory Group (INSAG) during 1999-2002
He is on the board of Governors of VJTI, Mumbai
He will head Rail safety committee as per Rail budget speech by Railway Minister in 2012

In 1996 he became Director of the BARC and since 2000

he is leading the Atomic Energy Commission of India and
also is the secretary of the Department of Atomic Energy.

He is Chairman Rajiv Gandhi Science and Technology Commission, Government of Maharashtra,

Mantralaya, Mumbai.

He has published over 250 scientic papers.

He believes that India should be self-reliant in energy, es1



National Awards

Padma Shri in 1998.

Padma Bhushan in 1999.
Padma Vibhushan in 2009.


[6] Kamat, Prakash (May 30, 2010). India will become
energy-independent: Kakodkar. The Hindu. Retrieved
[7] First Gomant Vibhushan award presented to Dr Anil
Kakodkar. Target Goa. 30 May 2010. Retrieved 201408-16.

Other Awards

Highest civilian award of the Maharashtra stateMaharashtra Bhushan Award (2012)

Highest civilian award of the Goa state-Gomant
Vibhushan Award (2010) [6][7]
Hari Om Ashram Prerit Vikram Sarabhai Award
H. K. Firodia Award for Excellence in Science and
Technology (1997)
Rockwell Medal for Excellence in Technology
FICCI Award for outstanding contribution to Nuclear Science and Technology (199798)
ANACON - 1998 Life Time Achievement Award
for Nuclear Sciences
Indian Science Congress Associations H. J. Bhabha
Memorial Award (1999-2000)
Godavari Gaurav Award (2000)
Dr. Y. Nayudamma Memorial Award (2002)
Chemtech Foundations Achiever of the Year Award
for Energy (2002)
Gujar Mal Modi Innovative Science and Technology
Award in 2004.
Homi Bhabha Lifetime Achievement Award 2010.
Acharya Varahmihir Award (2004) by Varahmihir
Institute of Scientic Heritage and Research, Ujjain
(M.P.), India




6 External links
Atomic Energy Commission of India

Text and image sources, contributors, and licenses



Anil Kakodkar Source: Contributors: Derek Ross, Korath, David Gerard, Average Earthman, Pamri, Quadell, Klemen Kocjancic, Discospinster, Arunram, Grutness, GRider, SlaveToTheWage, Reaverdrop,
Brhaspati, Pupil from india, Rjwilmsi, Bhadani, Gurubrahma, Mushin, Sdsouza, J. Spencer, Deepak D'Souza, Ambuj.Saxena, Cydebot,
ErrantX, RobotG, Ekabhishek, Bakasuprman, Waacstats, MetsBot, Dharmadhyaksha, Devdattagangal, Salih, The Discoverer, Logicwiki,
Marcus334, Sitush, A Sengupta, ImageRemovalBot, Ankushgupta25, DragonBot, Alexbot, Manojkhurana, Vanished user tj23rpoij4tikkd,
RogDel, Gsmahale, Addbot, Kodhia, Tassedethe, Yobot, AnomieBOT, Lavish pabbi, Cliftonian, Ksubburaj, Arunanandta, Krishnavisaka,
FrescoBot, Peroxwhy2gen, DefaultsortBot, Vvp1001, Linguisticgeek, RjwilmsiBot, Generalboss3, Amfarooqi, Rahul Bobhate, Rohanmurdeshwar, ClueBot NG, Gilderien, Sovna.m, Titodutta, Achowat, BattyBot, PeerBaba, Amit.burjalarab, Neelkamala, Msvarsha, Lakun.patra
and Anonymous: 38



File:Question_book-new.svg Source: License: Cc-by-sa-3.0

Created from scratch in Adobe Illustrator. Based on Image:Question book.png created by User:Equazcion Original artist:


Content license

Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0