You are on page 1of 3

Back HomeTable of Contents

Chapter 26 - Six Favorable and Unfavorable

as taught by Srila Rupa Goswami in Nectar Of Instruction
The Six Favorable Principles
Every endeavor in Krsna consciousness is performed with intelligence. The
devotees are expert in engaging everything in Krsna's service. The practice of
devotional service has nothing to do with selfish meditation, but means practical
activity in spiritual life.
The devotee thinks "avasya raksibe Krsna": Krsna will certainly help and protect
me, so that I can successfully execute my devotional service.
One should not be impatient when executing one's devotional service but accept
the orders of the spiritual master, patiently execute them and always feel
dependent on the mercy of guru and Krsna. Sometimes Srila Prabhupada used to
give the following example in this regard: a newly wed girl naturally may expect
a child from her husband, but she cannot hope to get it right after the marriage.
In other words, it takes time, until the results are manifested.
The devotee is expected to enthusiastically follow the 4 regulative principles and
observe positive regulations like the chanting of Hare Krsna.
In order to become successful in devotional service one has to give up the
association of unwanted persons. This includes karmis, jnanis and other nondevotees. Sri Caitanya defines a Vaisnava as someone who gives up the
association with worldly people.
In Krsna-consciousness we follow a daily program (sadhana) which includes
getting up early in the morning, chanting, reading of Srimad Bhagavatam etc.,

and thus we are following the previous spiritual masters, who were expertly
engaged in devotional service every single moment in their lives.
The Six Unfavorable Principles
1.Eating more than necessary or collecting more funds than required
Everyone needs possessions like food, money and other things in order to
maintain his body, but one should not accumulate more than necessary for one's
personal requirement.
2.Over endeavoring for mundane things that are very difficult to obtain
Although we are in need of a certain economic development, it is only allowed
for essential things in life. The real goal of life is to realize the Absolute Truth. As
soon as we don't direct our endeavors in this direction, we will simply increase
our artificial demands. Therefore we have to guard ourselves from worldly
3.Talking unnecessarily about mundane subject matters
Those who are not interested in Krsna-consciousness like to read heaps of
newspapers, solve riddles, read novels, etc. They are simply wasting their time
with useless activities. In this way materialistic people waste valuable time and
energy. Old people spend their days with playing cards, fishing, television and
speculations about social and political topics. All these activities belong to the
prajalpa category, and should be avoided by intelligent people.
4.Practicing the scriptural rules and regulations only for the sake of
following them and not for the sake of spiritual advancement, or rejecting
the rules and regulations of the scriptures and working independently or
Those who are interested in Krsna-consciousness should not be eager to follow
rules and regulations in order to have economic success but they should
faithfully follow the rules and regulations given in the scriptures and follow the
order of the spiritual master in order to advance in Krsna-consciousness.
5.Associating with worldly-minded persons who are not interested in Krsnaconsciousness
There are two kinds of non-devotees; those who are against Krsna's supremacy
and those who are absorbed in material sense gratification. One should strictly
avoid such association. We should live only in association with Krsna-conscious
devotees and always be engaged in Krsna's service in their association.
6.Being greedy for mundane achievements
Desires for mystic powers, merging into Brahman, whimsically striving for
wealth, etc., are all in the category of greed. All attempts for material or pseudo-

spiritual achievements are obstacles in devotional service.

Chapter 25 Nine Stages of Bhakti

Chapter 27 Krsna and Jesus Christ

Table of Contents

Copyright 2003 Sanatana Dharma Foundation