Sie sind auf Seite 1von 3

Sub period of any of the Planets constituting a Mahadasa

5:06:00 AM Shanker Adawal

Dr. Shanker Adawal
Ascertain the relevant mnemonically syllable (out of the 9 syllables) composing
a formulae whose Sub-period is wanted and find out the owner of the sign indicat
ed by that syllable. Multiply the number of years assigned to this Planet by the
numbers of years fixed for the planet whose Mahadasa is under consideration and
divide the product by the total number of years constituting the entire Ayu (ag
e) of the formula or Chakra. The quotient in years etc, will represent the sub-p
eriod required.
The total number of years denoted by the sum of the nine mnemonically syllables
of any formula represents the number in years of Parma Ayu for that formula. Acc
ordingly, the Parma Ayu in years for the Amsa of the 12 signs (12 Rasi amsa) cou
nted from Aries in an Apsavya Chakra will be 100, 85, 83 and 86 repeated thrice
while those for the Amsa of the 12 signs (Rasi amsa) counted from Scorpio in a S
avya Chakra will be same but in the reverse order, i.e., 86, 83, 85 and 100 repe
ated thrice.
Whatever effects in respect to the several Major periods are stated, the same sh
ould be applied.
i) Asvini, Bharani, Krittika

the three constellations have 12 quarters (Pada).

a) Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer

f Asvini.
b) Leo, Virgo, Libra, and Scorpio

the four navamsa constitute the four quarters o

the four Navamsa are in Bharani.

c) Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces fall in Krittika, this way divide th

e three constellations into these 12 navamsa.
ii) From Rohini the three constellations are Rohini, Mrigasiras, Ardra these thr
ee have 12 navamsa.
Counting them in the reverse order from Scorpio
i.e. Scorpio, Libra, Virgo, Leo,
Cancer, Gemini, Taurus, Aries, Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn, Sagittarius divide
them in 12 navamsa. Rohini first quarter will be Scorpio, second quarter will b
e Libra and so on. In this order Ardra fourth quarter will be Sagittarius Navams
In the manner mentioned above in (i) the order of counting is kept for the const
ellations of Punarvasu, Pusya, Aslesa and the order in (ii) should be adhered fo
r Magha, Purba Phalguni, Uttaraphalguni, again the order of (i) is followed for
Hasta, Chitra, Svati and (ii) is followed for Visakha, Anuradha, Jyestha; the sa
me order used in (i) is kept for Mula, Purvasadha, Uttarasadha and the order use
d in (ii) is followed for Sravana, Dhanistha and Satabhisaj and the same order u
sed in (i) above be kept for Purba bhadrapada, Uttar bhadrapada and Revati.
The years of a sign is the same as the years of its lord.
Sun has 5 years (the sign of Sun is Leo

therefore the period of Leo is of 5 year

Moon has 21 years (Cancer is ruled by Moon and so the period of Cancer will be o
f 21 years).
The Years of other planets, which are also of their signs, are given below:-

Mars-Aries-Scorpio 7 years for each

Mercury-Gemini-Virgo 9 years for each
Jupiter-Sagittarius-Pisces 10 years for each
Venus-Taurus-Libra 16 years for each
Saturn-Capricorn-Aquarius 4 years for each
The rule is to predict the effect of the periods of signs in Kalachakra Dasa is
according to the (i) sign and (ii) its lord. Therefore in Kalachakra Dasa it is
not said that the Dasa is of Mars or Aries but that the Dasa (period) is of Arie
s-Mars. In the same manner of Scorpio-Mars.
The influence and effect of Mars will be the same in both its signs of Aries and
Scorpio but suppose Mars is in Aries and Jupiter etc. benefic planets are also
placed in Aries; and in Scorpio, Saturn, Rahu etc. malefic planets are in positi
on that the period of Aries-Mars will be good. But Scorpio-Mars will show ill ef
1. Now let us know how the calculations are made, according to the proportion of
the Padas of a Nakshatra. The number of Asvini etc., whichever may be the past
Nakshatras, should be divided by 3. Thereafter the remainder should be multiplie
d by 4. To the figure so made available, the Pad of the present Nakshatra should
be added. The product will be the Navamsa sign from Aries onwards.
2. The number of years (Poorna Ayu) are, as under. For the Amsa in Aries 100 yea
rs, in Taurus 85 years, in Gemini 83 years, in Cancer 86 years. The number of ye
ars will be the same for Signs, situated the 5th and 9th to them.
3. Multiply the past Ghatis, Pala etc. of the Pad of the Nakshatra, in which a p
erson is born, by the existing Dasa years and divide it by 15. The result will i
ndicate the expired period of the Dasa in years, months etc. By deducting it fro
m the total number of years allotted, we get the balance of Dasa at birth. The D
asa should be taken, as commencing from that Sign.
4. Multiply the past Ghatis, Pala etc. of the present Pad of the Nakshatra by th
e number of years and divide the product by the fourth part of Bhabhog. The year
s etc. so obtained may then be deducted from the total Dasa period. The result w
ill be the balance of Dasa at birth in years, months etc.
5. The past Kala (minutes) of the Navamsa, in which Moon may be placed, should b
e multiplied by the years, allotted to the Dasa and the product should be divide
d by 200. The resulting years etc., will be the expired portion of the Dasa. By
deducting them from the total number of years the balance of the Dasa at birth i
s obtained.
6. In the Savya Chakra the first Amsa is called Deha and the last Jiva. The reve
rse is the pattern in the Apsavya Chakra. Therefore the calculations should be b
ased on the Deha etc., in the Savya Chakra, and the basis is Jiva etc., in Apsav
ya chart.
Dr. Shanker Adawal
Profile and Dr. Adawal s Astro Channel
Dr. Adawal s research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology
Dr. Adawal s approved articles published on
Dr. Adawal s exclusive articles on
Join Dr. Adawal s Facebook Group for free Astro Queries
Visit Dr. Adawal s facebook profile
Published articles on Newspapers