Sie sind auf Seite 1von 5

Case 5:16-cr-50027-TLB Document 1

Filed 03/18/16 Page 1 of 5 PageID #: 1

AO 91 (Rev. 02/09) Criminal Complaint

UNITED STATES DISTRICT CO~RNDIST


FILEDARKANSAS
for the

MAR 18 2016

Western District of Arkansas


United States of America
v.
LESLIE ERIN CURTIS

)
)
)
)
)

DOUGLAS F. YOUNC., Clelk 1

By
Deputy C1etk
: l (pm ~{ 0 -0() (
I

case No.

Def endant

CRIMINAL COMPLAINT
I, the complainant in this case, state that the following is true to the best of my knowledge and belief.
On or about the date of

03/11/2016 in the county of

Washington
in the
Western
- - --=-- - - - - - - District of
U.S. C. -=8~
4...:...
1(-"=a:r.)(~-.:1.L
) _ _ _ _ _ _ _ __

Arkansas
, the defendant violated
Title 21
, an offense described as follows:
Possession with the Intent to Distribute Methamphetamine, 21 USC 841 (a)(1 ): Leslie Curtis was in possession of a
mixture or substance containing a detectible amount of methamphetamine, a schedule II controlled substance

This criminal complaint is based on these facts:


See attached affidavit.

Iff

Continued on the attached sheet.

Complainant 's signature

TFO KEVIN SEARS


Printed name and title

Sworn to before me and signed in my presence.

Date:
Judge 's signature

City and state:

Fayetteville , Arkansas

Erin Setser, U.S. Magistrate Judge


Printed name and title

Case 5:16-cr-50027-TLB Document 1

Filed 03/18/16 Page 2 of 5 PageID #: 2

AFFIDAVIT
This affidavit is in support of an application for a criminal complaint charging Allen Gailliot date of birth
06/19/1954 and Leslie Curtis date of birth 02/08/1971, with violating Title 21, United States Code,
Section841(a)(1), which criminalizes the knowing distribution of Methamphetamine. Gailliot and Curtis
resides at 3001 West Wedington Drive #3, Fayetteville, Arkansas.
I, Christopher Kevin Sears, Task Force Officer with the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) being first
duly sworn, do hereby depose and state as follows:
I. Introduction

I am an investigating officer within the meaning of Section 2510(7) of Title 18, United States Code; that
is an officer of the United States, who is empowered by law to conduct investigations of and to make
arrests for offenses enumerated in Section 2516 of Title 18 of the United States Code. 2. I am a Task
Force Officer ("TFO") of the Drug Enforcement Administration ("DEA'') and have served in that capacity
for approximately one year. I am currently assigned to the Fayetteville Resident Office, Fayetteville,
Arkansas. As such, I am an "investigative or law enforcement officer" of the United States within the
meaning of Title 18, United States Code, Section 2510(7), that is, an officer of the United States who is
empowered by law to conduct investigations of and to make arrests for offenses enumerated in Title 18,
United States Code, Section 2516(1). As a federal law enforcement officer, I have specialized training
and experience in narcotics smuggling and distribution investigations. During my employment with DEA,
I have participated in numerous investigations into the unlawful importation, possession with intent to
distribute, and distribution of controlled substances . I have participated in all aspects of drug
investigations, including physical surveillance, execution of search warrants, undercover transactions,
court-ordered wiretaps, analysis of phone and financial record, and arrests of numerous drug traffickers.
I have been the affiant on several other search warrants. I have debriefed numerous defendants,
confidential informants, and other witnesses having extensive knowledge of the inner workings of major
narcotics trafficking organizations, including those operating internationally. I have also spoken on
numerous occasions with other experienced narcotics investigators, both foreign and domestic,
concerning the methods and practices of drug traffickers and money launderers. Furthermore, I have
attended training courses specialized in the investigation of narcotics trafficking and money laundering.
Through these investigations, my training and experience, and conversations with other law
enforcement personnel, I have become familiar with the methods used by drug traffickers to
manufacture, smuggle, safeguard, and distribute narcotics, and to collect and launder trafficking-derived
proceeds. I am further aware of the methods employed by major narcotics organizations to thwart any
investigation of their illegal activities. Through my training and experience, I am familiar with the ways
in which international drug traffickers conduct their business- including the method and means in
which they: obtain, manufacture, import, and distribute narcotics; make drug payments and launder
drug proceeds; and communicate with organizational members. My training and experience as a law
enforcement officer, and my conversations with state, federal, and law enforcement officers in other
countries form the basis of the opinions and conclusions set forth below.

Case 5:16-cr-50027-TLB Document 1

Filed 03/18/16 Page 3 of 5 PageID #: 3

This affidavit is being submitted in support of a criminal complaint for Allen Gailliot and Leslie Curtis!. As
such, it does not include all of the information known to me as part of this investigation, but only
information sufficient to establish probable cause for the requested arrest warrant.
II. Probable Cause

Within the past two months, Washington County Detective Corey Whelchel received information from a
confidential source (CS) that Leslie Curtis and Allen Gailliot have been selling methamphetamine out of
their residence at 3001 West Wedington Drive Apartment #3. This is the Maple Manner apartments .
The CS said he/she had seen several ounces at a time and said Leslie and Allen were receiving the
methamphetamine through the mail. It should be noted; Detective Lawson had received the same
information from a CS approximately two months ago as well .
Within the past week, Detective Corey Whelchel was contacted by a CS stating he/she could purchase
methamphetamine from Leslie Curtis and/or Allen Gailliot at the Maple Manner Apartments #3. The CS
stated Leslie Curtis and Allen Gailliot had large quantities of methamphetamine and received pounds at
a time through the mail. The CS gave detailed information on vehicles and also gave information of an
address at 610 South Happy Hollow Rd, which Leslie and Allen were also living.
Through investigation Detective Corey Whelchel was able to identify Leslie Curtis as a white female 45
years of age and Allen Gailliot as a white male 61years of age . Leslie and Allen both have extensive drug
history. Detective Corey Whelchel was able to locate a 2003 white Pontiac mini-van parked outside of
3001 West Wedington Drive #3, which is the vehicle description the CS gave . The CS also gave a vehicle
description of a gray Ford Taurus which was located at the address of 610 South Happy Hollow Road.
The Ford Taurus is registered to Allen Gailliot . A check of the Fayetteville City water log showed the
water at 610 South Happy Ho llow Road to be in Leslie Curtis's name .
Detectives with the Fourth Judicial District Drug Task Force conducted an investigation on Leslie Curtis
and Allen Gailliot for the sale and distribution of methamphetamine in the northwest Arkansas area .
During this investigation, Detective_,were able to purchase more than 10 grams but less than 200 grams
() 1'-- ."V\"'-f~

1 o/ -;J.o;-6

of methamphetamine iFl-tb.e.JasW-J.a.y.s-from Leslie Curtis and Allen Gailliot utilizing the help of a
confidential informant. The buy took place at Leslie and Allen's residence of 3001 West Wedington
Drive #3 in Fayetteville, AR. The buy was done at the direction of the Detectives with the

4th

Judicial

District Drug Task Force and was recorded for audio . The Cl was searched prior to and after the buy.
On Friday, March 11, 2016, Detective's from the Fourth Judicial District Drug Task Force conducted two
separate search warrants at the addresses of 3001 West Wedington Drive #3, Fayetteville AR and 610
South Happy Hollow Road, Fayetteville AR.
The first search warrant was conducted at 3001 West Wedington Drive #3, also known as Maple Manner
Apartments, at approximately 11:00am by Detective's Moore, Johnson, Oswalt, Ball, Sparkman, French
and Detective Corey Whelche l.

Case 5:16-cr-50027-TLB Document 1

Filed 03/18/16 Page 4 of 5 PageID #: 4

The front door was open . Detective Corey Whelchel knocked and made contact with a white female
identified to be Leslie Curtis, who was at the top ofthe stairs on the second floor. Detective's made
entry into the residence and made contact with Leslie Curtis and a white male identified as Allen Gailliot
on the second floor of the apartment. Leslie and Allen were handcuffed (double locked) after they were
brought downstairs.
While detective's conducted a search of the residence, Sgt . French and Detective Corey Whelchel
interviewed Leslie . Leslie was read Miranda. Leslie said she understood and agreed to answer questions.
During the interview Leslie admitted to having several pounds of methamphetamine mailed to the
address of 3001 W . Wedington Drive #3 over the past year. Leslie said she had two separate suppliers in
California. Leslie said Allen was from California and introduced her to the suppliers. Leslie referred to
herself as the "CFO of the Company." Leslie said she or Allen could place the orders, of meth, but she
kept up with all expenses for the company. Leslie was asked how payment was made . She said cash was
mailed to the supplier then the meth was mailed to them. Leslie said she could order one to five pounds
of meth at a time . She said five pounds of methamphetamine would cost $19,500.00 from the supplier.
Leslie said she could make a 300% profit off of the sale of the meth. She was expecting a lib package to
be delivered by the first of the week.
Leslie claimed the cash in the residence was won at the casino but also admitted drug money is what
she used to gamble with. Leslie was asked what, if anything, was at the residence of 610 S. Happy
Hollow Rd. She said there was approximately Y,lb meth on the kitchen counter and some cash.
During the search of 3001 West Wedington Drive #3 detectives located approximately 492gram of
methamphetamine and $64,581 .00 U.S. Currency.
The search warrant at 610 S. Happy Hollow Road was served at approximately 12:50pm by detective's
Moore, Sparkman, Ball, Oswalt, Johnson, French and Detective Corey Whelchel. A key was given to
Detective Moore by the landlord to make entry. The residence was unoccupied . Items in the house
belonged to Leslie and Allen. Allen and Leslie said they had been in the process of moving from the
address on Wedington to Happy Hollow for the past month . The water was in Leslie's name .
During the search of 610 Happy Hollow detectives located approximately 284grams meth on the
kitchen counter.
On Tuesday, March 15, 2016. Detectives from the Fourth Judicial District Drug Task Force served a
search warrant at 1192 N Rupple Rd, storage unit #C38 . During the search Detective Sparkman and
Detective Corey Whelchel located approximately 1853 grams of methamphetamine (including package
weight) in a USPS box addressed to Allen Gailliot, 3001 W Wedington #3, Fayetteville AR. The USPS box
has a-return address from Audra Duggur, 6704 N Mameda, Bloomington, CA 92316. Detective Sparkman
and Detective Corey Whelchel also located two boxes containing bundles of U.S. Currency totaling the
amount of $4,750.00 U.S. Currency.
The owner of the storage facility gave me a copy of the lease agreement for unit #C38. The agreement
was signed by Leslie Curtis and listed Allen Gailliot as her boyfriend and emergency contact. According

Case 5:16-cr-50027-TLB Document 1

Filed 03/18/16 Page 5 of 5 PageID #: 5

to the owners records the last time Leslie and Allen's gate code was used was 03/08/2016 . The package
located in the storage unit showed to be delivered on 03/08/2016 . The lease agreement will be added to
the case file. Photographs of the storage were taken and added to the case file .

Kevin Sears, Task Force Officer


Drug Enforcement Administration

AFFIDAVIT subscribed and sworn to before me this

15'\ir\.

""

day of Marc.h, 20 6.

.,..::

'

--

~--

.,-

/~