Sie sind auf Seite 1von 3

Lecture on the Sacrament of Confirmation

1. Who is the Holy Spirit? The H.S. is the 3 rd person of the Holy Trinity. The
Advocate, comforter. He is the one who sanctifies and guides the Church

2. What are the 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit? Wisdom, understanding, counsel,
strength/fortitude, knowledge, piety, fear of the Lord.

3. What is Wisdom? It is the predisposition to judge and order all things

according to Gods will. Its contrary is foolishness.

4. What is understanding? It is the predisposition to grasp the truths of faith

easily and deeply. Its contrary is unawareness.

5. What is Counsel ? It is the predisposition to discern correctly and

immediately the will of God in the different circumstances of life. Its contrary
is stubbornness

6. Knowledge- It is the predisposition to discover the truths of the spiritual

and material world, and to relate them to the Creator. Its contrary is

7. Piety- it is the predisposition to worship God with all our heart, and
consequently to love our neighbor as ourselves. Its contrary is wickedness.

8. Fear of the Lord It is the predisposition to respect the majesty of God and
to be scared of sin. We avoid sin not because of fear of punishment but
because of fear of offending God. Its contrary is disrespect.

9. What are the four major manifestation of the Holy Spirit in the Bible?
a. Inspiration of the Bible- the Bible was written through the inspiration
of the H.S.
b. Annunciation Jesus was conceived through power of the Holy
c. Baptism of Jesus- The H.S. descended on Jesus at his baptism at
river Jordan.
d. Pentecost- The H.S. descended upon the apostles and BVM at

10. What are the Seven Sacraments?

1. What is sanctifying grace? It is the communion with God, which is lost any
time we commit a mortal sin, the sacramental grace is the divine assistance
given by each sacrament in order to fulfill our duties.
2. What is ex opera operato? The sacrament is always valid.
3. What is Sacrament? It is the visible signs instituted by Jesus Christ to give
grace. They are visible symbols of invisible realities.
4. What is the difference between sacraments and sacramentals? Sacraments
are instituted by Jesus Christ and cannot be changed. Sacramentals are
instituted by the Church and can change. (Ex. House blessings, procession,
rosary, pilgrimages, religious profession, etc.)
5. What is matter, form, minister, effects and character of Confirmation
Matter-The visible object used for the sacrament. Laying of Hands and Sacred
Form- The words used to celebrate the sacrament. Be sealed with the gifts of the
Minister- Ordinary: Bishop Extra-Ordinary: Priest who is delegated by the bishop
Effects: 1. Receive the gifts of the H.S. 2. Make us mature Christian/ strengthen
our faith
Others: Indelible Character. Cannot be repeated.
6. What is Sacrament of Confirmation- it is the efficient sign of grace that
confers the Holy Spirit. It is called Confirmation because this sacrament
confirms and strengthens the baptismal grace. Through the H.S., we become
mature Christians and witnesses of Christ, in words and deeds, until death.
7. What are the Sacrament of Christian Initiation? Baptism, Eucharist,
Confirmation. It is called initiation because they lay the foundations of every
Christian life. The Three sacraments do not give different grace, but the same
grace in increasing degrees.

8. When Jesus institute the Sacrament of Confirmation? When he said: As the

Father has sent me, so I send you he breathed on them and said Receive
the Holy Spirit. (Jn. 20:21-22.)
9. When the First Confirmation happened? On Pentecost Day.

10. What are the bishops insignia?

a. Crosier: pastoral staff signifies bishops authority and service of the
b. Miter: it represents helmet, and signified the duty of the bishop to defend
Christian faith.
c. Ring: it signifies spiritual wedding between the bishop and the Church.
Fidelity to the Church.
d. Pectoral Cross- signifies absolute love of the bishop for Christ and for the
Church. Reminds the passion of Christ, that he will also share.
e. Coat of Arms- it is shield embossed with symbolic elements and a motto
scroll, indicating the bishops personality, programs, and ideal of life.

11. What is the meaning of laying of hands? It signifies the coming of the H. S.
It is in accordance with the example of the apostles.

12. What is the Sacred Chrism? It is olive oil mixed with perfume. The Chrism is
consecrated by the bishops during the Chrism Mass on Holy Thursday at the
cathedral. The perfume signifies the sweet fragrance of Christ that every Christ
must bring into the world. The sacred chrism makes us share in the three-fold
ministry of Christ.

13. What are the 3-fold ministry? Prophetic, kingly, and priestly.
14. What is the meaning of the slap on the cheek? It signifies bravery. Since the
candidate is now a soldier of Christ, he must fight bravely for the kingdom of

15. Who can receive the Sacrament of Confirmation? Age of reason, 12 years old
and above. In case of death, children can also confirmed.

16. What is the case for adult candidates? Candidates can received the
Sacrament of Christian Initiations all at the same time.

17. How to prepare the confirmands? He should be prepared according to the 4

basic pillars of our faith: a. creed, sacraments, commandments, prayer. And in
their mature participation to the life and mission of the Church.

18. Do we need to confess before receiving confirmation? Yes, we should be in

the state of grace. If we are sinned, we are not in the state of grace.

19. Can we receive the Sacrament more than once? No, indelible character. It
cannot be repeated.

20. What are parts of the Rite of Confirmation

a. Presentation of the Candidates
b. Homily
c. Renewal of Baptismal Promises
d. Laying of Hands
e. Anointing with Chrism
Bishop: N, be sealed with the gifts of the Holy Spirit.
Confirmand: Amen.
(the bishop may slap the cheek of the candidate to signify fortitude)
Bishop: Peace be with you.
Confirmand: And with your Spirit