You are on page 1of 18

Welcome to Excel

Three new tricks. 3.5 minutes to le


Hours saved every day.
cel
inutes to learn.

Let's go >
Flash Fill your data
Start typing and let Excel finish your work for you

Email
Nancy.Freehafer@fourthcoffee.com
Andrew.Cencini@northwindtraders.com
Jan.Kotas@litwareinc.com
Mariya.Sergienko@graphicdesigninstitute.com
Steven.Thorpe@northwindtraders.com
Michael.Neipper@northwindtraders.com
Robert.Zare@northwindtraders.com
Laura.Giussani@adventure-works.com
Anne.HL@northwindtraders.com
Alexander.David@contoso.com
Kim.Shane@northwindtraders.com
Manish.Chopra@northwindtraders.com
Gerwald.Oberleitner@northwindtraders.com
Amr.Zaki@northwindtraders.com
Yvnonne.McKay@northwindtraders.com
Amanda.Pinto@northwindtraders.com
Learn More

First Name Fill out the table on the left. In cell


1 C5, type Nancy into the First
Name column.

2 Repeat in cell C6 (Andrew), and


watch. Youre done.

Next >
Analyze data with Quick Analys
Select and play with your data using live previews

Company Industry
A. Datum Corporation Tech
Adventure Works Travel
Blue Yonder Airlines Travel
City Power & Light Utilities
Coho Vineyard Beverage
Contoso, Ltd Misc
Contoso Pharmaceuticals Medical
Consolidated Messenger Tech
Fabrikam, Inc. Utilities
Fourth Coffee Beverage
Graphic Design Institute Education
Humongous Insurance Financial
Litware, Inc. Tech
Lucerne Publishing Misc
Margie's Travel Travel
Quick Analysis Learn More

Q1 Sales
$ 195,449
Q2 Sales
$ 746,907
1 Select the entire table on the left.

$ 123,721 $ 733,396
$ 934,763 $ 246,554 2 Look to the bottom right of that
selection. That's the Quick Analysis
$ 299,293 $ 674,295 button:
$ 228,783 $ 659,385
$ 239,219 $ 287,989
$ 371,570 $ 644,368
$ 579,825 $ 448,399
3 Select it and explore any of the options.
$ 639,630 $ 635,474
Charts, Totals, Tables and more are
$ 876,740 $ 567,216 one click a way
$ 788,390 $ 540,282
$ 682,545 $ 577,599
$ 902,264 $ 206,331
Next >
$ 905,906 $ 443,552
$ 289,570 $ 843,834
Learn More

on the left.

ht of that
uick Analysis

ny of the options.

s and more are

Next >
Great charts, recommended for
Excel recommends charts based on the data you enter.

Company Q1 Sales
A. Datum Corporation $ 195,449
Adventure Works $ 123,721
Blue Yonder Airlines $ 934,763
City Power & Light $ 299,293
Coho Vineyard $ 228,783
Contoso, Ltd $ 239,219
Contoso Pharmaceuticals $ 371,570
Consolidated Messenger $ 579,825
Fabrikam, Inc. $ 639,630
Fourth Coffee $ 876,740
Graphic Design Institute $ 788,390
Humongous Insurance $ 682,545
Litware, Inc. $ 902,264
Lucerne Publishing $ 905,906
Margie's Travel $ 289,570
ended for you Learn More

Q2 Sales
1 Select the table on the left.
$ 746,907
$ 733,396
$ 246,554 2 Click Insert > Recommended Charts
and select the Chart you want...
$ 674,295
$ 659,385
$ 287,989
$ 644,368
3 Use the buttons on the top right of the
chart to get the right look and feel...
$ 448,399
$ 635,474
$ 567,216
$ 540,282
$ 577,599
$ 206,331
$ 443,552
Next >
$ 843,834
Learn More
Keep going, there are lots more new features and ways to work with Office.

See the Excel 2013 Getting Started Cent


Visit the Excel Team Blog

Did you know?


- The first version of Excel was released in 1985.

- 3D Charts were added in Excel 3.0 back when we thought 3D pie charts were cool.

- We invented the word: PivotTable.

- We're spreadsheet geeks and we're proud.