Sie sind auf Seite 1von 2

Rahukalam Yamagandam & Varjyam

Print Email

According to Vedic astrology, certain parts of the day, called Rahu Kalam, are inauspicious
periods and one should not undertake any auspicious work during these periods especially any
new undertaking.

Rahukalam differs from place to place depending on Sun-rise & Sun-set time. The day duration
from Sun-rise to Sun-set, at a particular location, is divided into eight equal parts. There is no
Rahu Kalam during the first period of any weekday. On Monday it falls on the 2nd period,
Saturday 3rd period, Friday 4th period, Wednesday 5th period, Thursday 6th period, Tuesday 7th
period & Sunday 8th period.

The following are the details of the Rahukalam (also known as rahukal or rahu kal) periods in in
operation during the various week days. This is based on 6:00 AM local Sun-rise time and
6:00PM local Sun-set time. If the Sun-rise and Sun-set times are different, you can take the Day
duration, divide it in to 8 equal parts and apply the above given formula.

Since the Raahu Kalam is dependent on the Sun-rise and Sun-set times of your particular
location, you must calculate it for each day using the bellow method.
Your local Sun-rise & Sun-set times are usually given in the local news papers.

Related pages: Ephemeris Panchanga Rahukalam Important days Travel

guide Business guide Daily Hora times Auspicious Yogas this month

Raahu Kaalam Calculation

Week day Example1: Sunrise Example2:Sunrise 5:58 a.m. Example3:Sunrise 6:36 a.m.
6:00a.m.Sunset 6:00 p.m. Sunset 8:14 p.m. Sunset 6:10 p.m.
1/8 of Day = 90 minutes 1/8 of Day = 107 minutes 1/8 of Day = 87 minutes
Sunday 4:30p.m. to 6:00 p.m. 6:27p.m. to 8:14 p.m. 4:43p.m. to 6:10 p.m.

Monday 7:30a.m. to 9:00 a.m. 7:45a.m. to 9:32 a.m. 8:02a.m. to 9:30 a.m.

Tuesday 3:00p.m. to 4:30 p.m. 4:40to 6:27 p.m. 3:16p.m. to 4:44 p.m.

Wednesday 12noon to 1:30 p.m. 1:06p.m. to 2:53 p.m. 12:23p.m. to 1:50 p.m.

Thursday 1:30p.m. to 3:00 p.m. 2:53p.m. to 4:40 p.m. 1:49p.m. to 3:17 p.m.

Friday 10:30a.m. to 12 noon 11:19a.m. to 1:06 p.m. 10:56p.m. to 12:23 p.m.

Saturday 9:00a.m. to 10:30 a.m. 9:32a.m. to 11:19 a.m. 9:29a.m. to 10:57 a.m.

For all the 27 star there is a prohibited time of 4 ghtaikas or 96 minutes starting at the following
ghatika counted from the beginning time of the star. These 96 minutes of time are bad for any
The from when the count starts is as follows for the specific starts:
Aswini 50 , Bharani 4,Kruttika 30, Rohini 40 Mrugasira 14,Arudra 21, Punarvasu 30,
Pushyami 20, Ashlesha 32, Makha 30, Pubba 20, Uttara 1, Hasta 21, Citta 20, Svati 14,
Visakha 14, Anuuraadha 10,
Jyeshtha 14, Muula 20, Poorvashaadha 20, Uttaraashadha 20, Sravanam 10, Dhanishtha 10 ,
Satabhishtha 18, Poorvabhaadra 16, Uttarabhadra 30, Revati 30


Like Rahukalam the following periods known as Yamagandam during which it is considered to
be inauspicious to start any important work.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday

10-30AM 09-00AM 07-30AM 06-00AM 3-00PM 01-30PM 12-00PM
to to to to to to to
12-00PM 10-30AM 09.00AM 07-30AM 4-30PM 03-00PM 01-30PM