Sie sind auf Seite 1von 1

Rapid Induct Premium


Dangerous Goods


A "Dangerous Good" is a substance that has the potential to cause harm or damage to life,
property or the environment".

Dangerous Goods are classified into categories that reflect the physical nature of their potential
harm e.g.: chemicals that are liquid and flammable (will ignite at or below 60.5 degrees Celsius) are
classified as a "Flammable Liquids".

Dangerous Goods classes include:

Class 1 - Explosives
Class 2.1 - Flammable gases
Class 2.2 - Non flammable, non-toxic gases
Class 2.3 - Toxic gases
Class 2.5 - Oxidising gases
Class 3 - Flammable liquids
Class 4.1 - Flammable solids
Class 4.2 - Spontaneously combustible materials
Class 4.3 - Dangerous when wet
Class 5.1 - Oxidisers
Class 5.2 - Organic Peroxides
Class 6.1 - Highly toxic material
Class 6.2 - Infectious material
Class 7 - Radioactive materials
Class 8 - Corrosive materials
Class 9 - Miscellaneous dangerous goods

Dangerous Goods are identifiable by the international standard signage (called "Dangerous Goods
Diamonds") you will see on the next few slides. These diamonds MUST be displayed on the
packaging and chemical container as delivered from the supplier as a way of identifying the
Dangerous Goods class of a chemical substance (if the substance is a Dangerous Good).

Another method of determining whether a chemical is a Dangerous Good is to consult the Material
Safety Data Sheet (MSDS). More information on MSDS's is covered in another module of the

1 of 1 20/04/2017 3:41 PM