You are on page 1of 2



By Adele Barger Wilson

PLEASE NOTE: The following elaboration on the experience of the soul-oriented person
with Scorpio rising has been excerpted from pages 26 to 27 of
An Esoteric Journey through the Zodiac, the Inner Meanings of the Signs, by Adele
Barger Wilson.

In Libra a fine point of balance is acquired between Soul and body. When this has been
accomplished, the Scorpion experience is entered, and a surge of spiritual energy is
imposed upon the personality. This arouses the entire lower nature, which becomes
determined to take its last stand against the Soul. This last stand against the Soul and the
tests and struggles which follow are necessary in order for the personality to learn, through
experience, that it will never defeat the Soul. In the end, the personality willingly
surrenders itself to the Soul, marking the final death of personal desire, satisfaction, will,
pride, and all other qualities of the lower self. At this point, the disciple is ready for the one-
pointed Sagittarian experience.

There are three signs which test and perfect the personality. In each of these signs the
tests are worked out on a different plane of consciousness. In Taurus, the tests take place
on the astral plane. The final result is that the energy is raised from the astral to the
buddhic, or intuitional, plane. In Pisces, the testing environment is the mental plane, and
the purpose is to carry the personal will up to the atmic plane of Divine Will. (“Not my will,
but Thine be done.”) All of the tests of Scorpio, however, take place on the physical plane
and are eventually resolved through the illumination emanating from the Higher Mind. The
result is a transfer of energy from the physical plane to the higher manasic plane.

Although the tests of Scorpio take place on the physical plane, all three aspects of the
personality are tested on this plane. Each aspect undergoes three tests, giving a total of
nine different tests. The physical nature is tested with regard to (1) sex, (2) physical
comfort, and (3) greed for money. The tests of the astral body involve (1) fear, (2) hate, and
(3) ambition (which must become spiritual aspiration). The mental body is tested regarding
(1) pride, (2) separativeness, and (3) cruelty. The test of separativeness is concerned with
transmuting the natural Scorpionic tendency of isolation from those who think differently.
The basic lesson of the test of cruelty is to learn to use the mind as an instrument of the
Higher Self instead of the personality.

The testing and trials of Scorpio begin with the process which the Tibetan Master calls
recapitulation. The instinctual tendencies and materialistic attitudes of the past rise to the
surface to be overcome. The sum total of these residual, unconquered personality
characteristics is called The Dweller on the Threshold. The Scorpion disciple must first
face these lower tendencies and then gradually transmute them by surrendering the
personal will and attuning to the Will of the Higher Self, which is encompassed by the One
Divine Will. When this has been accomplished, the energies of the lower chakras have

been purified and transferred to the higher chakras. The Scorpion, instead of stinging itself,
has risen, like the Phoenix, out of its own ashes and becomes the eagle which soars high
above the Earth.