Sie sind auf Seite 1von 1

Percussion instruments:

I: xylomarimba, 3 suspended cymbals, 1 side drum, 2 Saharan drums (if lacking: 2 tom-
toms, medium, high), tambourine, maracas
II: vibraphone, 1 Chinese cymbal, 2 bongos, 3 tom-toms, maracas
III: 1 sizzle cymbal, 3 Chinese cymbals, 3 cymbals on felt, 2 m’tumbas, 3 tam-tams (high,
medium, low), 6 woodblocks
IV: set of crotales (from B flat to high D flat), 2 crotales struck together, 1 cymbal on felt,
1 double-bass tom, 1 bass drum, 1 medium tam-tam, 2 gongs (medium, low), maracas
! Publisher: Jobert, 1979.
‘The work adopts the form of a concerto for large orchestra. Each instrumental
group is induced to display its specific powers or virtues in dialogue sequences in
the form of antiphonals, before blending into the clamour of the tutti. The work’s
two parts are separated by a barred rest, which, without interrupting the advance,
announces the Conjuration des sorts (‘casting of fates’). Between the various
episodes, a sort of refrain recalls the landscape serving as a backdrop for the
whole work: a clair de terre (‘earthlight’) with veiled, changing colours as if
everything were unfolding under the silent gaze of a distant star split in two,
which would be our earth.’
‘In the history of this century, there are many hydras, which we have not been
able to control and which have caused enormous ravages without our knowing
exactly why or from whence they came. The whole nomenclature of Le Livre des
Prodiges is made up of allusions to this kind of event, ancient or contemporary.
And when they are contemporary, they seem in fact a reincarnation of myths that
have already terrorised or favoured Man. I lay particular stress on this point.
There is always an immemorial memory that is ever present.’

CRYPT (no. 85 A) Playing time: 7’30”

for string orchestra (extension of the 4th movement, ‘Faran-Ngô’, of the Second
String Quartet – no. 85)
" Forces: strings
! Publisher: Jobert, 1980.


Solo voice (accompanied, or with instrumental ensemble or orchestra)

TOMBEAU DE CLAUDE DEBUSSY (no. 52) Playing time: approx. 31’

for voice and orchestra
7 parts: I-Hommage; II-Soleils; III-Ballade de la Grande Guerre; IV-Autres
soleils; V-Miroir endormi; VI-Rose des vents et de la pluie; VII-Envoi
" Forces: solo soprano (vocalise) and orchestra,, percussion (6
performers), cithara in thirds of tones, celesta, piano (with 3rd pedal), strings (can be increased to maximum)
Percussion instruments: xylophone, marimba, glockenspiel, vibraphone, celesta, 8
tom-toms (tuned A, B, C, D, E, F, A flat, B flat), 2 side drums (with snare and
snareless), small drum, tambourine, 1 mambo, bass drum, guiro, tam-tam, large
cymbal and small suspended cymbal, maracas, triangle, crotale, 2 temple blocks

- 78 -