Sie sind auf Seite 1von 2


FALL 2010 >>> 864.656.6160 >>>


Nearly 200 guests attended the
second annual NSP reunion events
September 11-12. At the tailgate,
the Natty Giving Cup was presented
to the alumni and current Scholar
cohorts that donated at the highest
levels to the NSP Foundation. The
2000 cohort repeated as alumni win-
ners, and the 2010 Scholars won for
current Scholar giving. A farewell
brunch at the Madren Center pro-
At the September 11 tailgate, the 2010 vided a final opportunity for current
first-year Scholars celebrate their Natty Scholars, alumni and families to
Giving Cup win for highest percentage of a
cohort making a donation to the NSP connect until next year.
foundation account. Current Scholars, alumni
and parents have donated nearly $41,000
since September 1, 2008, to support the
Program’s educational enrichment initiatives.

Congratulations to May graduate Welcome to the

Rahul Loungani for being named the newest Scholars
The 2010 cohort of National Scholars (pic-
2010 recipient of the Norris Medal, tured above, with trophy) began their NSP
careers with the highest average SAT score
Clemson’s top award for most out- and highest weighted high school GPRs in
the history of the program.
standing graduating senior. Rahul,
Ross Beppler | Johns Creek, GA
the third National Scholar to receive Preston Berkeley | Ranson, WV
the Norris since 2007, is currently in Chris Hapstack | Greenville, SC
Jessica Lau | Glen Allen, VA
his first year of medical school at the Fielding Lowrance | Greenville, SC
Karl Lykken | Wheaton, IL
Medical University of South Carolina. Jenny Tumas | Los Alamos, NM
Sarah Waddill | Rock Hill, SC

The National Scholars Program welcomed two new faces to the team this summer, but one of them is pretty familiar.

New STEFANI THACHIK returns to the NSP as assistant director; Stefani recently graduated from Clemson with a master’s
NSP staff in student affairs counseling, and was the NSP graduate assistant from August 2008 until May 2010. Stefani will

 coordinate advising and programming iniatives for the NSP, and will also work with the Calhoun Honors College to
develop a wide range of community development programs, including the new Honors Center in Holmes Hall.
Noble join MELISSA NOBLE is the new graduate assistant for both the NSP and Honors College, and is focusing on advising
team and events for the NSP, and on Holmes Hall-based programs for honors residents. Melissa is pursuing a master’s in
student affairs counseling.
Dr. Bill Lasser
Associate Director
The 2010 NSP graduates presented the annual NSP Awards of Distinction to nine men-
tors who supported their intellectual, personal and professional development at Clem- Jamie Williams
son. The 2010 recipients were: Assistant Director
Kerrie Seymour, Performing Arts | Harry Harritos, Architecture
Nancy Leininger, Graphic Communication | Vladimir Matic, Political Science Stefani Thachik
Liam O’Hara, Graphic Communication | Miguel Larsen, Physics Graduate Assistant
Sherry Dorris, FIRST Program | Patricia Layton, Environmental & Natural Resources
Kelly Smith, Philosophy Melissa Noble

Scholar Summers
Three groups of Scholars participated in educational enrichment travel Another group traveled to Amsterdam with history professor Steve
around the world in the summer of 2010. Marks to explore the politics, culture, and history of Holland and
the Dutch impact on commerce around the world.
One group of students traveled with former National Park Service
director Fran Mainella and PRTM professor Bob Powell to Zion and The first-year Scholars traveled with history professor Michael
Grand Canyon National Parks for a series of outdoor explorations and Silvestri through France for a week prior to studying at Cambridge
meetings with park superintendents. University for several weeks.
At the Louvre
in Paris

Punting on the River

Cam in Cambridge

In Amsterdam

In tulip fields
in Amsterdam
Meeting with
researchers in
Grand Canyon

At Angel’s
Landing in Zion