Sie sind auf Seite 1von 3


Philhealth mentions Levels 1 to 4 in its Case Rates payment scheme. These levels are:

– Level 1 — very small hospital

– Level 2 — a small hospital
– Level 3 — a big hospital
– Level 4 — a very large hospital

The Department of Health (DOH) though has a more detailed description of these types of hospitals. It’s
even covered by administrative law, the DOH Administrative Order 205-0029.

Level 1 Hospital
– Emergency hospital
– initial treatment for cases that require immediate treatment and that provides primary care for
prevalent diseases in the area
– general medicine, pediatrics, minor surgeries, and non-surgical gynecology
– primary clinical laboratory, pharmacy and first level radiology
– nursing care for patients needing minimal supervised care
Level 2 Hospital
– Non-departmentalized hospital
– general medicine, pediatrics, surgery, anesthesia, obstetrics and gynecology, first level radiology,
secondary clinical laboratory, pharmacy
– nursing care for patients needing intermediate supervised care

Level 3 Hospital
– Departmentalized hospital
– all clinical services provided by Level 2 hospitals
– specialty clinical care, tertiary clinical laboratory, pharmacy, second level radiology
– nursing care for patients needing total and intensive care

Level 4 Hospital
– Teaching and training Hospital
– all clinical services provided by Level 3 hospitals
– specialized forms of treatments, intensive care and surgical procedures.
– tertiary clinical laboratory, third level radiology, pharmacy
-nursing care for patients needing continuous and specialized critical care
Types of Healthcare:

Every individual has required different care depending upon their health problem like some require
normal care and some require extra special care. So on the basis of patient condition healthcare divides
into various types. Following types of healthcare are explained below:

(i) Primary Healthcare:

Primary health care mainly focuses on health equity producing social policy beyond the traditional
healthcare system. Its main aim is to provide local care to a patient because professionals related
to primary care are normal generalists, deals with a broad range of psychological, physical and social
problems etc. rather than specialists in any particular disease area. Primary care services rapidly increasing
in both the developed and developing countries depending upon the increasing number of adults at
greater risk of chronic non-communicable disease like diabetes, asthma, back pain, hypertension, anxiety,
depression etc.

To achieve the ultimate goals of primary health care, WHO has described five elements to achieve this
goal. Following are:

 Stakeholder participation increased.

 Integrate health into all sectors.
 According to people need & expectation organizing healthy services.
 Pursuing collaborative models of policy dialogue.

(ii) Secondary Healthcare:

This healthcare is provided by the medical specialists and other health problems who do not have direct
contact with a patient like urologists, dermatologists, cardiologists etc. According to National health
system policy, the patient required primary care professionals referral to proceed further for secondary
care. Depends on countries to countries, the patient cannot directly take secondary care because
sometimes health system imposed a restriction of referral on a patient in terms of payment.

The systems come under this category is known as District Health system and County Health system.

(a) District Health system : This system mainly focus on child health and maternity care. People
population of this system is about 25000 to 50000 and includes various healthcare centres and district
hospitals. Healthcare centres receive referrals from various primary health care and is remain open for 24
hours every day. District hospitals include emergency services, neonatal care, comprehensive emergency
obstetric etc. and is remain open for 24 hours every day.

(b) County Health system: Into this system, hospitals receive referrals from the District & community
health systems. County hospital provides gynecologic services, general medicine, obstetrics, general
surgery etc and is remain open for 24 hours every day.
(iii) Tertiary Healthcare:

This type of healthcare is known as specialized consultative healthcare usually for inpatients and on
referral from primary and secondary healthcare for advanced medical investigation and treatment.
following examples of tertiary care services are plastic surgery, burn treatment, cardiac surgery, cancer
management, neurosurgery, complex medical and surgical interventions etc.

The main provider of tertiary care is national Health system consist of Regional hospitals and National
Hospital. Regional hospitals receive a reference from various county hospitals and serves as training sites
complementary to the National referral hospital. It also provides additional care services and remains
open for 24 hours every day.