You are on page 1of 7

ITIL - IT Service Management

ITIL is the most widely accepted approach to IT service

management in the world. ITIL can help individuals and
organizations use IT to realize business change,
transformation and growth.

Welcome to ITIL 4
ITIL 4 expands on previous versions of ITIL by providing a
practical and flexible basis to support organizations on their
journey to the new world of digital transformation. It
provides an end-to-end IT/digital operating model for the
delivery and operation of tech-enabled products and
services and enables IT teams to continue to play a crucial
role in wider business strategy.
ITIL 4 Foundation launched on 28 February 2019.
How to get Certified in ITIL

ITIL v3 Certification Levels

The ITIL certification scheme provides a modular approach to the framework

and comprises a series of certifications focusing on different aspects of ITIL
best practice.

These are the levels of certification within the the ITIL v3 scheme:

 ITIL Foundation Level

 ITIL Practitioner Level
 ITIL Intermediate Level
 ITIL Expert Level
 ITIL Master Level

ITIL 4 Certification Scheme

ITIL is embarking on an evolution, moving from ITIL v3 to ITIL 4. ITIL v3

certifications will remain valid and ITIL v3 courses can be taken until June 2020.
Continue to collect ITIL v3 credits to enable an easy transition

These are the levels of certification within the the ITIL 4 scheme:

 Foundation - now available

 Managing Professional (MP) - more information H2 2019
 Strategic Leader (SL) - more information H2 2019
 ITIL 4 Master - launching H2 2020

What is ITIL?
ITIL is a widely accepted approach to IT Service
Management (ITSM), which has been adopted by individuals
and organizations across the world. ITIL provides a cohesive
set of best practice, drawn from the public and private
sectors internationally.
ITIL's capabilities provide a range of key benefits for the
organization and the professional.

ITIL® Foundation Certification - IT

Service Management
ITIL v3 Foundation introduced candidates to the key elements,
concepts and terminology found in ITIL. On 28 February 2019
AXELOS launched the ITIL 4 Foundation certification level.

The ITIL 4 Foundation certification is designed as an introduction to

ITIL 4 and enables candidates to look at IT Service Management
through an end-to-end operating model for the creation, delivery and
continual improvement of tech-enabled products and services.

The certification can help:

 Those who require a basic understanding of the ITIL framework

 Those who want to understand how ITIL can be used to enhance IT service
 IT professionals or others working within an organization that has adopted
However, the ITIL Foundation certification can benefit anyone who
has an interest in IT service management.

ITIL 4 Foundation candidates will have an understanding of the


 A holistic approach to the facilitation of co-creation of value with customers

and other stakeholders in the form of products and services
 The guiding principles of ITIL 4
 The four dimensions of Service Management
 Key concepts from Lean, Agile, DevOps, and why these are important to
deliver business value
 How ITIL practices described in ITIL 4 will maintain the value and
importance provided by the current ITIL processes, whilst at the same time
expand to be integrated to different areas of service management and IT,
from demand to value.

ITIL Foundation training

Typically, classroom training for ITIL Foundation lasts two and a half
days and the examination takes place at the end of the training (this
will vary depending on the training provider). You can also self-study
for the Foundation exam and you may also choose to take training in
another format, such as distance learning. Training is delivered by
AXELOS' Accredited Training Organizations, who set their own
rates. Use our training search to find an ITIL training provider.

To take the ITIL Foundation exam, no prerequisite is required.

ITIL Foundation exam format

 Multiple choice examination questions

 40 questions
 26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) - 65%
 60 minutes’ duration
 Closed book.
I've passed my ITIL Foundation exam –
what next?
One year's subscription to My ITIL is included with your ITIL
Foundation exam. My ITIL is an online subscription to the latest
resources and content helping you to apply what you have learnt
during the ITIL Foundation exam to the workplace, as well as
developing your skills and knowledge in line with future innovations
in IT service management.

My ITIL gives you access to:

 Online subscription to various ITIL publications and templates to help you

progress your ITIL journey
 Exclusive white papers
 CPD tools to map out a professional development path
 Professional endorsement through a digital badge aligned to your ITIL
Foundation certificate.

Successful candidates will be contacted by AXELOS with

a discount code. To be contacted, candidates must have opted in to
AXELOS’ Successful Candidates Registerupon exam registration. If
you have any queries, please email

After earning your ITIL Foundation certificate, you can advance your
ITSM career via the range of ITIL Intermediate certifications or
the ITIL Practitioner certification. Use our ITSM Careers Path to help
you plan your progress.

ITIL is a widely adopted body of knowledge and best practices for
successful IT Service Management that links with training and
certification. ITIL 4 has evolved from the current version by re-
shaping much of the established ITSM practices in the wider context
of customer experience; value streams and digital transformation; as
well as embracing new ways of working, such as Lean, Agile, and

ITIL 4 provides the guidance organizations need to address new

service management challenges and utilize the potential of modern
technology. It is designed to ensure a flexible, coordinated and
integrated system for the effective governance and management of
IT-enabled services.

ITIL Foundation is the first ITIL 4 publication and the latest evolution
of the most widely-adopted guidance for ITSM. Its audience ranges
from IT and business students taking their first steps in service
management to seasoned professionals familiar with earlier versions
of ITIL and other sources of industry best practice.

The guidance provided in this publication can be adopted and

adapted for all types of organizations and services. To show how the
concepts of ITIL can be practically applied to an organization's
activities, ITIL Foundation follows the exploits of a fictional company
on its ITIL journey.

Key features

The guide covers key concepts of service management, the four

dimensions of service management, the ITIL service value system,
ITIL management practices.

ITIL Foundation, ITIL 4 Edition will:

 provide readers with an understanding of the ITIL 4 service management framework and
how it has evolved to adopt modern technologies and ways of working
 explain the new holistic end-to-end view of service creation to support candidates
studying for the ITIL 4 Foundation exam
 act as a reference guide that practitioners can use in their work, further studies and
professional development.

Please note: This book will not be published until 18 February

2019, but it is available to order now.