You are on page 1of 1

CS Student Research Symposium

Venue: Varsity Hall I, Union South


Date: April 9, 12 - 4 p.m.

Time Speaker Program Area Email Topic


12:00 Prof. Michael Swift Opening Remarks
12:15 Xuezhou Zhang Talk (15 min) AI xzhang784@wisc.edu An optimal control approach to sequential machine teaching
12:30 Ching-pei Lee Talk (15 min) Optimization ching-pei@cs.wisc.edu Large-scale Nonlinear Optimization for Machine Learning
12:45 Jiefeng Chen Talk (15 min) Security jchen662@wisc.edu Towards Understanding Limitations of Pixel Discretization Against Adversarial Attacks
01:00 - 01:25 Anant Gupta Lightning talk (3 min) AI agupta225@wisc.edu Photon-Flooded Single-Photon 3D Cameras
Yiding Chen Lightning talk (3 min) AI ychen695@wisc.edu Optimal Adversarial Attack on Autoregressive Models
Ayon Sen Lightning talk (3 min) AI asen6@wisc.edu Machine Beats Human at Sequencing Visuals for Perceptual-Fluency Practice
Michael O'Neill Lightning talk (3 min) Optimization moneill@cs.wisc.edu Complexity of CG-Newton Methods for Nonconvex Optimization
Amrita Roy Chowdhury Lightning talk (3 min) Security amrita@cs.wisc.edu Crypt𝜀-Crypto Assisted Differential Privacy
Hsuan-Heng Wu Lightning talk (3 min) PL hwu337@wisc.edu Stateful SDN controller program synthesis
Swapnil Haria Lightning talk (3 min) Architecture swapnilh@cs.wisc.edu Exploiting the Persistence of Memory
Michael Davies Lightning talk (3 min) Architecture medavies3@wisc.edu Accelerator CAD
01:25 Yannis Chronis Talk (15 min) DB chronis@cs.wisc.edu Efficiently Searching In-Memory Sorted Arrays
01:40 Yifeng Teng Talk (15 min) Theory yifengt@cs.wisc.edu Reasonable multi-item mechanisms are not much better than item pricing
01:55 - 02:15 BREAK + posters
02:15 Daniel Rakita Talk (15 min) HCI rakita@cs.wisc.edu Effective Methods for Robot Telemanipulation
02:30 - 03:00 Vasileios Kontonis Lightning talk (3 min) Theory vkonton@gmail.com Truncated Statistics
Ram Alagappan Lightning talk (3 min) OS ra@cs.wisc.edu Situation-Aware Replication Protocols
Jing Liu Lightning talk (3 min) OS jingliu@cs.wisc.edu I'm Not Dead Yet! Why Kernel Bypass Devices Are Not Killing Operating Systems
Benjamin Welton Lightning talk (3 min) OS welton@cs.wisc.edu Diogenes: Looking For An Honest GPU/GPU Performance Measurement Tool
Mark Mansi Lightning talk (3 min) OS markm@cs.wisc.edu Simulating large-memory machines with 0sim
Calvin Smith Lightning talk (3 min) PL cjsmith@cs.wisc.edu Proving Utility of Randomized Programs
Archie Nidhi Lightning talk (3 min) Networks abhashkumar@wisc.edu Towards Automated Network Policy Management
Aarati Kakaraparthy Lightning talk (3 min) DB kakaraparthy@wisc.edu Optimizing DBMS for SSDs
Zhiwei Fan Lightning talk (3 min) DB zfan29@wisc.edu Scaling-Up In-Memory Datalog Processing: Observations and Techniques
03:00 Yuvraj Patel Talk (15 min) OS yuvraj@cs.wisc.edu Providing Lock Opportunity with Actually Fair Locks
03:15 Yanfang Le Talk (15 min) Networks yle4@wisc.edu RoGUE: RDMA over Generic Unconverged Ethernet
03:30 David Porfirio Talk (15 min) PL dporfirio@wisc.edu Applying Formal Methods to Human-Robot Interaction
03:45 Prof. Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau Closing Remarks
END

Poster Session Details


1:55 - 2:15 Shashank Rajput Poster AI rajput3@wisc.edu Does Data Augmentation lead to positive margin?
Ankit Pensia Poster AI ankitp@cs.wisc.edu Mean estimation for entangled single-sample distributions
Xuanxuan Ge Poster HCI xge25@wisc.edu Learning outcomes and experiences of using telepresence
Suchita Pati Poster Architecture spati@cs.wisc.edu GPU Architectures for Deep Learning
Shaleen Deep Poster DB shaleen.deep@gmail.com Compressed Representation of Conjunctive Query Results
Han Li Poster DB hanli@cs.wisc.edu Deep Learning for Entity Matching: A Design Space Exploration