Sie sind auf Seite 1von 3

Sri Varahi Navaratri / āṣāḍha gupta navarātrī ( आषाढ गुप्त नवरात्री )

The month of āṣāḍha in the Lunar calendar, falls during June and July and sometimes may end in
August. This month is generally considered inauspicious for any undertaking related to material
affairs. It is the belief that most undertakings that begin during this month, face great hurdles and
some may eventually fail. Some religious matters are also postponed and not conducted during
this month (āṣāḍha māsa), due to this very reason. Having said that, Ashada Navaratri is
considered excellent time for Spiritual pursuits and progress. The second part of this lunar month
starting with the first day of the waxing moon, marks the first day of the secret navarātrī, or the
nine nights of Śrī Vārāhī, Śrī Durga and also Śrī Lalita for the destruction of all enemies, internal
and external.

Navratri: Navratri or 9 Nights of Goddess are considered very important for Shaktas (who
worship Divine Mother in the form of Shakti) in order to receive receive blessings of Maa Shakti
in various forms such as Sri Durga, Sri Varahi, Sri Lalitha Tripurasundari, Sri Shakambari, Sri
Chamunda etc. Some worship 9 forms of Durga also called as Nava Durga on the each day of

Gupt Navratri: There are 5 Navratris in a year that are considered important (while some say 4)
out of which Sharad Navatri and Magha Navratri are popular and known to all and remaining 3
are considered secretive and generally observed by advanced Spiritual practioners .

Sharad Navaratri: This is the most important of the Navaratris and is synonymous with
Dussehra and Durga Puja. It is celebrated during September–October

Vasanta Navaratri: In the month of Chaitra (March–April) and is observed during the Shukla
Paksha (waxing phase of moon) of Chaitra. The beginning of this Navaratri also marks the start
of the new year as per the Hindu mythological lunar calendar and Sri Rama Navami is celebrated
during this Navaratri

Ashad Navaratri : Ashad Navaratri, also referred to as Gupta, Gayatri or Shakambhari

Navaratri, is observed during the Asadha month and is mostly observed by shaktas only

Pausha Navaratri: Paush Navaratri is another Gupt Navaratri observed during the Pausha
Shukla Paksha, in the month of December–January.

Magha Navaratri: This Navaratri is also a kind of Gupta Navaratri. The waxing phase of moon
in January–February marks the beginning of Magha Navaratri. Vasant Panchami is celebrated
during these Navaratri.

In order to progress in the spiritual path, One needs to obtain a great degree of concentration and
calmness of the mind. The thoughts that clog the mind, usually relate to our desires as well as
difficulties that we face on a day to day basis. Our inherent nature consisting of our ego, pride,
anger, jealousy, stubbornness, lust, likes and dislikes etc, as well as our wealth, health, family
and desires dominate our thinking and thus control the mind. To silence the mind, we need to
silence the thoughts. The thoughts are difficult to silence, especially when we are preoccupied in

our material affairs. These issues therefore become our internal enemies and some of them could
be triggered by external elements as well.

True knowledge, unlearning of what we believe to be right vs what really is right, as well as
appropriate action will surely lead us towards self-realization.

Rājā Mātaṅgi represents True spiritual knowledge and is the left spiritual channel iḍa nāḍi,
Vārāhi represents the right spiritual channel piṅgala nāḍi representing the correct action that
needs to be undertaken towards spiritual progress. When both the channels that flank the central
suṣumna nāḍi or the spinal cord are balanced, then the kuṇḍalini rises from the mulādhāra or the
root cakra and journeys it’s way towards the crown sahasrāra cakra gradually.

The āṣāḍha gupta navarātrī-s are also called Vārāhi navarātrī-s, when the energy of Śrī Vārāhī is
considered to be very latent and effective. Propitiating Her during these 9 nights is very
auspicious and may help accelerate the achievement of both our spiritual and material desires
and provide immense and everlasting happiness.

The following dhyāna śloka can be recited by anyone, to meditate upon Her.

kṛṣṇa varṇātu vārāhī mahiṣastā mahodarī ।

varadā danḍinī khaḍgaṃ bibhratī dakṣiṇekare ।
kheṭa pātrābhayān vāme sūkarasyā lasadbhujā ॥

कृष्ण वर्णा तु वणरणही महहषस्तण महोदरी ।

वरदण दन्डिनी खड् गं हिभ्रती दहिर्ेकरे ।
खेट पणत्रणभयणन् वणमे सूकरस्यण लसद् भुजण ॥

She is dark in complexion with a face resembling a boar, seated on a buffalo (mahiṣa). She’s
enormous in size and has eight arms. One Her right arms from bottom to top, She displays the
vara mudra (grants all wishes), holds a sword, large stick (daṇḍa). On Her left hands from
bottom to top, She displays the abhaya mudra (removes fear and offers protection), shield and a
plough (hala).

The following vedic mantras can also be recited as many times as desired.

oṃ vārāhī! sarvato mām rakṣa rakṣa durge huṃ phaṭ svāhā

ॐ वणरणही! सवातो मणम् रि रि दु गे हं फट् स्वणहण

Her Gayatri mantras are as follows. These can also be recited by anyone and require no

mahiṣavāhanāyai ca vidmahe ।
daṇḍahastāyai ca dhīmahi ।
tanno vārāhī pracodayāt ॥

महहषवणहनणयै च हवद्महे ।
दण्डहस्तणयै च धीमहह ।
तन्नो वणरणही प्रचोदयणत् ॥

mahiṣadvajāyai ca vidmahe ।
daṇḍahastāyai ca dhīmahi ।
tanno vārāhī pracodayāt ॥

महहषद्वजणयै च हवद्महे ।
दण्डहस्तणयै च धीमहह ।
तन्नो वणरणही प्रचोदयणत् ॥