Sie sind auf Seite 1von 1


The former barrio of Basista, now the site of the town proper or poblacion was once the biggest and

one of the progressive barrios located in the far south of the mother town, San Carlos (now a city).

As early as the year 1918, some of the most influential and prominent citizens of the then barrio of

Basista came together and made the first attempt to petition the municipal government and the

provincial board of San Carlos and Pangasinan respectively to grant the township of their barrios.

Prominent politicians during that time volunteered their help in making representations with the

proper authorities, but their request was not granted. Some of those leaders were: General Mamaril,

Don Valeriano Perez, father of then speaker Eugenio Pérez, Buenaventura de Vera, Telesforo de

Vera, Gregorio Malicdem, Cayetano Perez, Gaudencio Padua, Gregorio Valdez, Ramon Valdez, Don

Roque de Vera, Domingo Resultay, Bernardo Resultay, Liberato Frias, Hipolito Cayabyab, Alejandro

de guzman , Pascual Resultay, Raymundo de Guzman, Vicente de Guzman, Domingo de Guzman,

Vicente Frias, Florentino Malicdem, Faustino Monzon, Cornelio de Guzman, Felix de Guzman, Juan

Malicdem, Federico Cancino, Artemio Frias, Claudio de Guzman and several others.

On September 5, 1961, President Carlos P. Garcia issued Executive Order No. 446 creating the town

of Basista composed of 13 barrios out of the 28 that petitioned. Four years after, however,

the Philippine Supreme Courtdeclared the town's creation as without legal basis citing their ruling in

the "Emmanuel Pelaez vs. Auditor General" that "municipalities created under Executive Orders are

void". It was here that Republic Act No. 4866 filed by Congressman Jack L. Soriano was enacted into

law and legally created Basista as a town of Pangasinan.