Sie sind auf Seite 1von 2


 The official name of Thailand is the Kingdom of Thailand and it was formerly known as Siam.

 Thailand has a land border with 4 countries including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Laos,
Cambodia and Malaysia.

 Thailand has a population of 67 million people (67,448,120) as of July 2013.

 Bangkok is the largest city and the capital of Thailand.

 Bangkok's full ceremonial name is Krungthepmahanakhon Amonrattanakosin

Mahintharayutthaya Mahadilokphop Noppharatratchathaniburirom
Udomratchaniwetmahasathan Amonphimanawatansathit Sakkathattiyawitsanukamprasit which
is the longest place name (that has spaces) in the world.

 Doi Inthanon in the northern mountain range of Thanon Thong Chai is the highest point in
Thailand at 2565 m (8415 ft) above sea level.

 Thailand has over 1430 islands.

 Buddhism is the primary religion in Thailand, it is practised by about 95% of the population.
Throughout Thailand are many Buddhist temples and grand golden Buddhist statues.

 Siamese cats originated in Thailand where they are called Wichian Mat.

 There are 15 reserved wild animal species in Thailand including two types of Rhinoceros. It is
prohibited by law to breed, hunt, possess or trade these species.

 Thailand's national symbol is the elephant. A century ago there were 100,000 elephants in the
country, now there are just an estimated 2,000 left in the wild.

 Thailand's climate is tropical with a rainy monsoon season from November through to March
with the southern area of the country being especially hot and humid.

 The Thai currency is called the Baht.

 Thai food is well renown, dishes that include spicy curries with rice or noodles are found on
many other country's menus throughout the world.
 Muay Thai (Thai boxing) is a form of kickboxing and is Thailand's national sport.

 Thailand is often called the "Golf Capital of Asia", with beautifully kept courses at a reasonable
price the country attracts a larger number of golfers from around the world.