Sie sind auf Seite 1von 2

Former President Pranab Mukherjee passes away: Earlier month of

August he underwent brain surgery at the Army Research and Referral

hospital in the national capital Delhi. On Monday (31 August, 2020) his
condition deteriorated and had gone in a state of septic shock because of
lung infection. 
He left the world after a long battle for life and left the country
heartbroken and no doubt a big void is created in Indian politics. He was
known for his instant replies and an immense sense of humour that he
mostly displayed in the parliamentary sessions. A seven-day state
mourning has been announced by the Centre that will be observed from
31 August, 2020 to 6 September, 2020 as a tribute to the former
President and Bahrat Ratna Pranab Mukherjee. During the period of state
mourning, National Flag will fly at half-mast on all buildings throughout
India, where it is flown regularly and there will be no official

Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted "India grieves the passing away of
Bharat Ratna Pranab Mukherjee. He has left an indelible mark on the
development trajectory of our nation. A scholar par excellence, a towering
statesman, he was admired across the political spectrum & by all sections
of society.”

Here we are providing some lesser-known and interesting facts about

former President Pranab Mukherjee depicting his life, family, education,
political career, etc.

Former President Pranab Mukherjee Biography: Birth, Death, Early

Life, Education, Family, Political Career, Awards,  and More
10 Interesting and lesser-known facts about former
President Pranab Mukherjee
1. He was born on 11 December, 1935 in Mirati, Bengal Presidency,
British India (present-day Birbhum district, West Bengal, India) to
Kamada Kinkar Mukherjee (father) and Rajlakshmi Mukherjee (mother).
During the Indian Independence movement, his father played an active
role and was also a member of the West Bengal Legislative Council during
1952-1964 as an Indian National Congress representative.

2. He did his schooling from Suri Vidyasagar College, Suri. He did his
Masters in Political Science and History from the University of Calcutta. He
earned his LLB degree from the same university.

3. Before joining the politics, he served as an upper-division Clerk in the

Office of deputy Accountant-General, Calcutta. As an Assistant Professor
of Political Science, he joined Vidyanagar College, Kolkata in 1963. And as
a journalist, he also worked for Desher Dak (Call for Motherland).
4. He entered into the politics in 1969 and managed the election
campaign of V.K Krishna Menon, an independent candidate. Do you know
he was the only minister who held most of the major ministerial portfolios
in the cabinet: commerce (1993–95), external affairs (1995–96 and
2006–09), defense (2004–06), and finally back to finance (2009–12).

5. Prime Minister of India, Indira Gandhi, recognised the talent of the

former President Pranab Mukherjee at that time and offered him to join
the Congress. She helped him in 1969, to become a member of the Upper
House of the Parliament (Rajya Sabha). He was re-elected to Rajya Sabha
in 1975, 1981, 1993, and 1999.

6. Do you know that he was the only Finance Minister to have presented
seven budgets? He was voted as the Best Finance Minister in the World in
1984 by the Euromoney magazine.

7. National Honours received by him are Padma Vibhushan, India's

second-highest civilian award in 2008, and Bharat Ratna, India's highest
civilian award in 2019.

8. He had written more than 9 books and few of them are Midterm Poll,
Off the Track (1987), The saga of Struggle and Sacrifice (1992), Congress
and the Making of the Indian Nation (2011), The Dramatic Decade: The
Indira Gandhi Years (2014), The Turbulent Years, The Coalition Years, etc.

9. 3 Foreign Honours received by him are Bangladesh Muktijuddho

Sanmanona-- Bangladesh Liberation War Honour (March 2013), and Cross
of National Order of the Ivory Coast-- highest state order of knighthood of
the Ivory Coast (June 2016), and Grand Collar of the Order of Makarios
II-- highest order of Merit awarded by Cyprus.