You are on page 1of 7



IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT


FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF ALABAMA
NORTHERN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )


)
Plaintiff, )
)
v. ) CR No. 2:10cr186-MHT
)
RONALD GILLEY, et al. ) ORAL ARGUMENT REQUESTED
)
Defendants. )

DEFENDANT RONALD GILLEY'S SECOND


MOTION TO CONTINUE TRIAL DATE

Comes now the Defendant, Ronald E. Gilley ("Gilley" or "Defendant"), by and through

undersigned counsel, and hereby respectfully moves this Honorable Court to continue trial in the

above-styled matter. As grounds in support thereof Defendant states as follows:

1. On November 30, 2010, Defendant Gilley filed a Motion to Continue the trial of

this case and to adjust the scheduling order in accordance therewith. Said motion is attached as

Exhibit 1 and Defendant hereby re-alleges the factual statements in said motion as if fully set

forth herein.

2. A hearing on Gilley's first Motion to Continue, as well as motions to continue

filed by eight other co-defendants, was held on December 11, 2010. Following said hearing the

Court denied Defendants' motions to continue but extended Defendants' motion and reciprocal

discovery deadline to February 4, 2011. (Doc. 286 and 288).

3. In the last two months, defendants have been pouring over the massive amount of

discovery. In doing so, Defendant Gilley's obligations have been threefold:

a. Examine the discovery in effort to prepare a defense

b. Examine discovery in an effort to prepare motions.




c. Examine discovery in an effort to provide reciprocal discovery.

4. In addition to what Gilley described as a "herculean effort" to digest the massive

amount of discovery in his motion to continue filed in November, Gilley now faces a

significantly expanded task due to the guilty plea and cooperation agreement of co-defendant

Jarrod Massey. Mr. Massey was Gilley's principal lobbyist with regard to the legislation at the

heart of this case. Documents provided by the Government indicate that Mr. Massey began

cooperating with the Government within days of his arrest and has provided extensive interviews

on matters related to the charges in this indictment. In addition, however, Mr. Massey has also

provided information on a wide array of individuals and alleged criminal conduct not contained

in this indictment.

5. The first glimpse of the additional effort needed to properly defend this case due

to the Massey guilty plea did not come until December 21, 2010, when Mr. Massey changed his

plea from "not guilty" to "guilty" and the defense was provided with summaries of Mr. Massey's

interviews. Redacted from these interviews, however, was an extensive amount of material

alleging other criminal activity in which Mr. Massey engaged as well as allegations against a

variety of other people. This redacted material, which the Government has conceded pertains to

ongoing criminal investigations, was not provided to the defense until January 31, 2011, just four

days ago.

6. Mr. Massey's credibility as a Government witness will be a critical factor in the

trial of this case. As such, Defendant Gilley requires additional time to analyze and investigate

the allegations made by Mr. Massey, including the significant depth of Mr. Massey's admitted

criminal activity unconnected to Mr. Gilley.

2


7. Although Defendant's attorneys have diligently used their best efforts to be

prepared to try this case as scheduled, the massive amount of discovery, including hours and

hours of recordings, thousands of pages of documents and the sweeping descriptions of Jarrod

Massey's criminal conduct only recently provided, make it impossible to be adequately prepared

for a trial date that is now just sixty (60) days away.

8. One of the factors to be considered in a considering continuance motion is

whether the case is so unusual or complex due to the number of defendants, the nature of the

prosecution, or the existence of novel questions of fact or law, that it is unreasonable to expect

adequate preparation for pre-trial proceeding or for the trial itself. [18 USC § 3161 (h)(7)(B)(ii)].

This particular factor is so dominant in this case that a continuance is necessary. By the time this

day is over, the court will be inundated with, among others, motions to dismiss, motions to sever

and motions for bills of particular filed by the remaining ten defendants in this case. Next week,

Defendants will file lengthy motions to suppress the wiretap recordings. These motions present

the court with unique and novel questions of law and fact that are likely to require oral

arguments, additional briefings, evidentiary hearings or a combination thereof. It will be simply

impossible to prepare for trial while also addressing these motions. Furthermore, the Court's

rulings on these motions will impact the trial and Defendants' preparation.

9. Under the circumstances, the failure to grant a continuance will result in a

miscarriage of justice. [18 USC § 3161 9h)(7)(B)(i)].

Wherefore, premises considered, Defendant Ronnie Gilley respectfully states that the

above concerns and factors outweigh the interest of the public and any defendant on the current

schedule and thus hereby moves this Honorable Court to continue the trial of this case.

3


Respectfully submitted,

/s/ G. Douglas Jones________


G. Douglas Jones
ASB-3880-s82g

OF COUNSEL:

Thomas J. Butler (ASB-7790-T75T)


Anil A. Mujumdar (ASB-2004-l65m)
Haskell Slaughter Young & Rediker, LLC
1400 Park Place Tower
2001 Park Place
Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone: (205) 251-1000
gdj@hsy.com

Sandra Payne Hagood (ASB-0360-S73H)


7660 Fay Avenue
Suite H-526
LaJolla, CA 92307
Phone: 858-245-5741
sandra@hagoodappellate.com

4


CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I have on this the 4th day of February, 2011 filed the foregoing with
the Clerk of Court via CM/ECF and an electronic copy of the same has been sent to the
following:

Louis V. Franklin, Sr.


Assistant U. S. Attorney Emily Rae Woods
131 Clayton Street U.S. Department of Justice
Montgomery, Alabama 36104 Public Integrity Section
Louis.franklin@usdoj.gov 1400 New York Avenue-NW 12th Floor
Washington, DC 20005
Stephen P. Feaga Rae.woods@usdoj.gov
U.S. Attorney's Office
P.O. Box 197 Joe Espy, III
Montgomery, AL 36101-0197 MELTON, ESPY & WILLIAMS, PC
Steve.feaga@usdoj.gov P.O. Box Drawer 5130
Montgomery, AL 36103
Peter J. Ainsworth jespy@mewlegal.com
U.S. Department of Justice
Public Integrity Section William M. Espy
1400 New York Avenue-NW 12th Floor MELTON, ESPY & WILLIAMS, PC
Washington, DC 20005 P.O. Box Drawer 5130
Peter.Ainsworth@usdoj.gov Montgomery, AL 36103
wespy@mewlegal.com
Eric Olshan
U.S. Department of Justice Benjamin J. Espy
Public Integrity Section MELTON, ESPY & WILLIAMS, PC
1400 New York Avenue-NW 12th Floor P.O. Box Drawer 5130
Washington, DC 20005 Montgomery, AL 36103
Eric.olshan@usdoj.gov bespy@mewlegal.com

Barak Cohen Fred D. Gray


U.S. Department of Justice Waiter E. McGowan
Public Integrity Section GRAY, LANGFORD, SAPP
1400 New York Avenue-NW 12th Floor McGOWAN, GRAY, GRAY
Washington, DC 20005 & NATHANSON, P.C.
Barak.cohen@usdoj.gov P.O. Box 830239
Tuskegee, AL 36083-0239
Brenda Morris fgray@glsmgn.com
U.S. Department of Justice wem@glsmgn.com
Public Integrity Section
1400 New York Avenue-NW 12th Floor
Washington, DC 20005
Brenda.Morris@usdoj.gov

5


Robert D. Segall William J. Baxley


COPELAND, FRANCO, SCREWS & Baxley, Dillard, Dauphin, McKnight
GILL, P.A. & Barclift
P.O. Box 347 2008 Third Avenue South
Montgomery, Alabama 3610 1-0347 Birmingham, AL 3523
segall@copelandfranco.com bbaxley@bddmc.com

David Martin Brett M. Bloomston


COPELAND, FRANCO, SCREWS & Attorney at Law
GILL, P.A. 1330 21st Way South, Ste 120
P.O. Box 347 Birmingham, AL 35205
Montgomery, Alabama 3610 1-0347 brettbloomston@hotmail.com
martin@copelandfranco.com
William N. Clark
Shannon Holliday Stephen W. Shaw
COPELAND, FRANCO, SCREWS & Redden Mills & Clark
GILL, P.A. 505 North 20th Street, Suite 940
P.O. Box 347 Birmingham, AL 35203
Montgomery, Alabama 3610 1-0347 wnc@rmclaw.com
holliday@copelandfranco.com sws@rmclaw.com

Sam Heldman Ron W. Wise


THE GARDNER FIRM, P.C. Attorney at Law
2805 31st Street NW 200 Interstate Park Drive, Suite 105
Washington, DC 20008 Montgomery, AL 36109
sam@heldman.net ronwise@aol.com

Stewart D. McKnight H. Lewis Gillis


Baxley, Dillard, Dauphin, McKnight Thomas Means Gillis & Seay
& Barclift P.O. Drawer 5058
2008 Third Avenue South Montgomery, AL 36103
Birmingham, AL 35233 hlgillis@tmgslaw.com
dmcknight@bddmc.com
Latasha M. Nickle
Joel E. Dillard Thomas Means Gillis & Seay
Baxley, Dillard, Dauphin, McKnight P.O. Drawer 5058
& Barclift Montgomery, AL 36103
2008 Third Avenue South lameadows@tmgslaw.com
Birmingham, AL 35233
jdillard@bddmc.com Tyrone C. Means
Thomas Means Gillis & Seay
P.O. Drawer 5058
Montgomery, AL 36103
tcmeans@tmgslaw.com

6


Samuel H. Franklin
J. W. Parkrnan, III Jackson R. Sharman, III
Parkman, Adams & White LIGHTFOOT, FRANKLIN
505 20th Street North, Suite 825 & WHITE, L.L.C.
Birmingham, AL 35203 The Clark Building
parkman@parkmanlawfirm.com 400 North 20th Street
Birmingham, AL 35203
Richard M. Adams sfranklin@lightfootlaw.com
Parkman, Adams & White jsharman@lightfootlaw.com
505 20th Street North, Suite 825
Birmingham, AL 35203 Joseph J. Basgier, III
adams@parkmanlawfirm.com Bloomston & Basgier
1330 21st Way South, Suite 120
William C. White, II Birmingham, AL 35235
Parkman, Adams & White joebasgier@gmail.com
505 20th Street North, Suite 825
Birmingham, AL 35203 John M. Englehart
wwhite@parkmanlawfirm.com Englehart Law Office
9457 Alysbury Place
Susan G. James Montgomery, AL 36117-6005
Denise A. Simmons jmenglehart@gmail.com
Susan G. James & Associates
600 S. McDonough Street Joshua L. McKeown
Montgomery, AL 36104 The Cochran Firm Criminal Defense-
sgjamesandassoc@aol.com Birmingham LLC
dsimlaw@aol.com 505 20th Street North
Suite 825
Thomas M. Goggans Birmingham, AL 35203
Attorney at Law jmckeown@parkmanlawfirm.com
2030 East Second Street
Montgomery, AL 36106 Jeffery Clyde Duffey
tgoggans@tgoggans.com Law Office of Jeffery C. Duffey
600 South McDonough Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
jcduffey@aol.com

/s/ G. Douglas Jones_________


OF COUNSEL