Sie sind auf Seite 1von 2

Parliamentary Democracy System in Malaysia

Malaysia practises Parliamentary Democracy with His Majesty the Yang diPertuan Agong where democracy is a system of government which people involve in the governance of the country and free to choose delegates from the election which mean that they have the opportunity to form government. In this system, Malay rulers became a symbol of loyalty of people. People entitled to maintain, change or support the existing government through elections. The first institution in the country was the Legislative Council. The size and nature of the councils membership modified from time to time. Yet, the council remained steadfast as a fully put forward body until the eruption of the Second World War in December 1941.Subsequently,all the constitutional developments were suspended from 1942 to 1946 due to the Japanese Occupation. However, it brought about political consciousness among the people. At the same time, the British tried their best to unify the three systems of administration through an institution called Malayan Union. There are two types of general election, the general election and the byelection. The general election which only held after Parliament is dissolved involves the whole country which organize once in every five years. On the other hand, the by-election which considered as a general election due to the concept of the election itself comprise the choosing of a representative by the people for the Parliament and also the State Legislative Assembly do not involve the annihilation of any of the assembly nor do they stick with the specific timetable. Once the Parliament dissolved, the elections ought to be organized within sixty days in West Malaysia and within ninety days in Sabah and Sarawak. The fixed period is reasonable for the Election Commission, to prepare for the process of the election and the contesting parties well-prepared to hold the campaigns and thus forming a best plan following the rules and regulations that have been specified from time to time. House of Representative is the lower house of the parliament of Malaysia whereas National Hall is the upper house of the parliament of Malaysia. In the House of Representative, parliament is the upmost vital hall. Members elected by the people through election. There are 222 members of the public hall. They represent all constituencies across the country. Length of the service is councilor of the people is for five years. The main task is to formulate and the House of Representatives passed legislation in the House of Representatives. National Hall also known as the Senate. The Senate is the highest body which contains 69 members. The members called each state senator and representative. They are appointed without competition in election. Length of the

service is councilor of the people is for three years. The main task is to review and approve the bills brought up by the House of Representative. The Cobbold Commission was entrusted with the task of holding a referendum in Sabah and Sarawak. This is to determine whether the people of these two states had agreed to the proposal to construct the Federation of Malaysia, comprising Malaya, Singapore, Sabah and Sarawak. For maintaining the concept of the Parliamentary Democracy which acts as the fundamental of the government administration in Malaysia, the break up of the governing powers underlined by the Federal Constitution among the Legislative Authority, Executive Authority and Judicial Authority.This power takes place both at the Federal and the State level.