Sie sind auf Seite 1von 22

Buddha Teachings

Who is Buddha ?

A Buddha is a person who is completely free from all

faults and mental obstructions.
Born: 563 BC Lumbini Park at Kapilavatthu, Nepal
Fullname:Siddhartha Gautama
Parents:Maya, Mahapajapati Gotami, uddhodana
Died:483 BC Kushinagar

1. Suffering Dukkha

2. The Cause of Suffering Samudaya

3. The End of Suffering Niroda

4. The Path Magga

Elaboration of the Noble Eightfold
Right views (Samma ditthi)
Wisdom (prajna) Right intent (Samma sankappa)

Right speech (Samma vaca)

Morality (sila)
Right conduct (Samma kammanta)
Right livelihood (Samma ajiva)

Right effort (Samma vayama)

Right mindfulness (Samma sati)
Right concentration (Samma samadhi)
3 Poisons

Avijja ignorance

Dosa Aversion, Hate

Lobha - attachment
Four Stages of Advancement along the Noble
Eightfold Path

1 Belief in permanent self

2 Doubt Stream-
3 Belief in religious rituals Once-
Entrant Non-
The Ten
4 Sensual craving
5 Ill will
6 Desire for rebirth in worlds of form

7 Desire for rebirth in formless realms
8 Pride
9 Self-righteousness
10 Ignorance of the true nature of things
4 Kinds of Sukha
1. naya sukha: The happiness of being free from debt.

2. Atthi sukha: The happiness of possessing wealth and property, even if

one is not enjoying it or using it. This sukha is the joy of possession.

3. Bhoga sukha: When the joy of possession becomes the joy of

enjoying possessions. one sees pleasing sights; one hears melodious
music; one smells sweet fragrances; one tastes delicious foods; and one
enjoys pleasant physical contact. All these comforts give happiness.

4. Anavajjasukha: To abstain from deeds which go against the Truth.

One remains free from fear of laws of the government or censure from
society in the present life, as well as fear of descending to the nether
worlds in the after-life. He also remains free from the agony of remorse.
Remaining joyful, calm and fearless, such a pure-minded person
experiences a type of happiness that is undoubtedly superior to other
worldly pleasures.
Pancha Sila
Understanding Suffering
Understanding its origin
Right View
(Samma Ditthi) Understanding its cessation
WISDOM Understanding the way leading to its cessation
(Panna Kkhandha)
The Intension of Renunciation
Right Intension The Intension of Goodwill
(Samma Sankappa)
The Intension of harmlessness
Abstaining from False speech
Right Speech Abstaining from Slanderous Speech
(Samma Vaca) Abstaining from Harsh speech
Abstaining from Idle chatter
Abstaining from Taking Life
MORALITY Right Action Abstaining from taking what is not given
(Sila Kkhandha) (Samma Kamanta) (Stealing, Robbery, Snatching, Fraudulence, deceitfulness)
Abstaining from Sexual Misconduct

Giving up Wrong Livelihood

Right Livelihood (slaughter, trade, prostitution, meat production, intoxicants, weapons)
(Samma Ajiva)
Living by right form of Livelihood
To prevent the arising of unwholesome states (defilements)
Right Effort To abandon unwholesome states that have already arisen
(Samma Vayama) To arouse wholesome states that have not yet arisen
To maintain and perfect wholesome states already arisen
Mindful Contemplation of the body
CONCENTRATION Right Mindfulness Mindful Contemplation of feelings
(Samadhi Kkhandha) Samma Sati) Mindful Contemplation of the state of Mind
Mindful Contemplation of Phenomenon
The First Jhana
The Second Jhana
Right Concentration
The Third Jhana
The Fourth Jhana

, ,
'' ...