Sie sind auf Seite 1von 56

Agricultural Extension 2

“Agricultural Development Program and


Prepared by:
Prof. Keno Jay M. Balogbog, MBM
Agricultural Extension 2
Course Title:
“Agricultural Development Program and
Course Description:
This course deals with the concepts,
principles, role and impact of agrarian
reform programs; the goals, components,
activities and programs of the Agriculture
and Fisheries Modernization Act (AFMA);
The Philippine Cooperative Code of 2008 on
the principles, organization, structure and
management of cooperatives; and other
relevant policies and programs for
agricultural development.
Agricultural Extension 2
Course Requirements:
1. Attendance – 25%
2. Quizzes – 20%
3. Reaction Paper – 20%
4. Exams – 35%
 Land- is one of the factors of production.

 Land reform law was first implemented by former

President Diosdado Macapagal in 1963 through R.A.
No. 6389 and R.A. No.639.

 During the time of former President Corazon C. Aquino,

she signed R.A. No. 6657 otherwise known as the
Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Law (CARL).
Agrarian Reform in The
 The 1987 Philippines Constitution, Article II, Sec.
21 says that “The State shall promote
comprehensive rural development and
agrarian reform”.
 The present agrarian reform law implemented
nationwide is the Republic Act No. 6657
otherwise known as The comprehensive
Agrarian Reform Law , signed into law by the
former President Corazon C. Aquino and
implemented the government program known
as Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Program.
Precolonial Times
 Before the Spaniards came to the
Philippines, land was practically owned
by the community known as barangay
ruled by a chief or datu. Land cultivation
was done commonly by slash-and-burn
(kaingin) method.
President Manuel A. Roxas

 Significant legislations enacted are the ff.

1.Republic Act. No. 34- It established the 70-30

sharing arrangement and regulated share-
tenancy contracts. The 70% of the harvest will
go to the person who shouldered the expenses
for planting, harvesting, and for the work
2. Republic Act No. 55- It provided for a more
effective safeguard against arbitrary ejectment of

Ejectment – an action for the recovery of

possession of real property and
damages and costs.
President Elpidio R. Quirino
 He enacted Executive Order No.335 on
October 23, 1950. It preplaced the National
Land Settlement Administration with Land
Settlement Development Corporation
(LASEDECO) which took over the
responsibilities of the Agricultural Machinery
Equipment Corporation and the Rice and
Corn production Administration. The
LASEDECO was establish to accelerate and
expand the peasant resettlement program of
the government.
President Ramon Magsaysay
 He enacted the ff. laws:

1.Republic act no.1160 (1954)- Free

distribution, resettlement, and rehabilitation of
agricultural lands, an act abolishing the
LASADECO and establishing the National
settlement and Rehabilitation Administration
(NARRA) to resettle dissidents and landless
2.Republic Act No. 1199 (Agricultural Tenancy
Act o 1954). It governed the relationship
between landowners and tenant farmers by
organizing share tenancy and leasehold system.
The law helped protect the tenurial rights of
tenant tillers and enforced fair tenancy
3.Republic Act No. 1400 (Land Reform Act o
1955 or known as land to the landless
Program). It created the land Tenure
Administration (LTA) which was responsible for
the acquisition and distribution of large
tenanted rice and corn lands over 200 hectares
for individuals and 600 hectares for
4.Republic Act no.821 (Creation of agriculture
credit cooperative financing administration).
Provided mall farmers and share tenants loans
with low interest rates o six to eight percent.

5.Republic Act. No. 1266 (1955)- it

expropriated hacienda Del Rosario, situated at
Valdefuente, Cabanatuan city.
President Carlos A. Garcia
 President Garcia continued to implement the
land reform program of president Magsaysay.
President Diosdado P.
 He enacted Republic Act No. 3844 on august
8, 1963 (agricultural land reform code). This
was considered to be the most
comprehensive piece of agrarian reform
legislation ever enacted in the country.
President Ferdinand E.
 He enacted the ff. laws:

1.President Decree No. 2, Septembe26, 1972-

It declared the country under land reform
program. It enjoined all agencies and offices of
the government to extend full cooperation and
assistance to the Department of Agrarian
Reform (DAR). It also activated the Agrarian
Reform Coordinating Council.
2. Presidential decree No. 27, October 21,
1972- It restricted land reform scope to
tenanted rice and corn lands and set the
retention limit at 7 hectares.
President Corazon C. Aquino
Legislation and issuances passed are the ff.:

1.Executive Order No. 228, July 16, 1987- this

declared full ownership to qualified farmer
beneficiaries covered by PD 27.

2.Executive Order No. 229, July 2, 1987- It

provided mechanism for the implementation of
3.Executive Order No. 129-A, July 26, 1987- It
reorganized the DAR, and streamedlined and
expanded the power and operations of the said

4.Proclamation 131- It instituted CARP as a

major program of the government. It provided
for a special fund known as the AGRARIAN
REFORM FUND (ARF) in the amount of 50
billion pesos to cover estimated cost of the
program for the period 1987-1997.
5. Republic Act No. 6657, June 10, 1988
9Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Law)- this is
an instituting a comprehensive agrarian reform
program to promote social justice and
industrialization providing the mechanism for its
implementation and for other purposes.
 6. Executive Order No. 405, June 14, 1990-
it vested in the Land Bank of the Philippines
the responsibility to determine land valuation
and compensation for all land covered by
CARP in order for DAR to concentrate its
effort on the identification of landholdings
and beneficiaries, the distribution of acquired
lands and the other subcomponents of the
7. Executive Order No. 407, June 14, 1990- It
accelerated the acquisition and distribution of
agricultural lands, pasture lands, fishponds,
agroforestry lands, and other lands of public
domain suitable for agriculture.
President Fidel V. Ramos
 Key accomplishment of President Ramos

1.Republic Act No. 7881, 1995- It amended

certain of R.A. 6657 and exempted fishponds and
prawns from the coverage of CARP.

2.Republic Act No. 7905, 1995- it strengthened

the implementation of the CARP.
3. Executive Order No. 363, 1997- It limited
the type of lands that may be converted by
setting conditions under which specific
categories of agricultural land are either
absolutely non-negotiable for conversion or
highly restricted for conversion.

4.Republic Act No. 8435, 1997 (Agriculture

and Modernization Act or AFMA)- It plugged
the legal loopholes in land use conversion.
5. Republic Act No. 8532, 1998 (Agrarian
Reform und Bill)- it provided an additional
PhP.50 billion for CARP and extended its
implementation for another 10 years.
President Joseph E. Estrada
 He initiated the enactment of Executive
Order No. 151 in September 1999 (Farmer’s
Trust Fund) which allowed the voluntary
consolidation of small farm operation into
medium and large scale integrated enterprise
that can access long-term capital.

 He also launched the Magkabalikat sa

Kaunlarang Agraryo or MAGKASAKA.
President Gloria M. Arroyo
 She adopted the Bayan-Anihan concept which
implies the unity of people working together for
the successful implementation of agrarian
reform. Under Arroyo’s administration, the
strategy of DAR in CARP implementation is
manifested on the Kapit-Bisig sa Kahirapan
Agrarian Reform Zones (KARZONEs) which is a
partnership and covergence strategy aimed at
achieving asset reform , poverty reduction, food
sufficiency, farm productivity, good governance,
social equity, and empowerment of agrarian
reform beneficiaries (ARBs).